Cell Applications Reviews | Glassdoor

Cell Applications Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 17 reviews

2.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
44%
Recommend to a Friend
71%
Approve of CEO
James Yu, PhD
11 Ratings
  1. "Full time - one year"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cell Applications full-time

    Pros

    Positive atmosphere. Management and suits work close with staff but do not micromanage.

    Cons

    Lower ceiling for growth within the company, however the management and ownership has open ears.

    Advice to Management

    Need a Monday a morning meetings for entire staff. Dept heads could give updates on workflow and commentary, would be beneficial for everyone.

    Cell Applications2017-01-09
  2. Helpful (2)

    "Reconsider before you apply"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Cell Applications full-time

    Pros

    You can learn multiple things. Coworkers are great.

    Cons

    It is very small company and you will work with company CEO all the time. Company CEO is very biased, disrespectful and disorganized person. She changes her comment all the time and tries to micro-manage you. I do not recommend this company.

    Cell Applications2018-12-28
  3. "Terrible work environment - Do not work here"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Research Assistant in San Diego, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Cell Applications full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Skilled coworkers and interesting job duties.

    Cons

    The workplace had a tense atmosphere. Employees did only exchange the most basic pleasantries towards each other. The lab was worn down and a lot of lab equipment in need of replacement and floors were constantly dirty. I was also concerned about lab safety, e.g. there were gas cylinders in the cell lab that were not secured as required, an open flame is used to sterilize bottles etc. For some unknown reason, UV light...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    The company makes money so there should be more money available for lab upkeep and equipment renewal. Management should also make an effort to build team spirit and trust between employees since this seems to be lacking.

    Cell Applications2018-06-16
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Poor Management, Do Not Work Here"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Technician in San Diego, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Cell Applications full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Exposure to cell culture and media applications. Small company allows chances to work on many projects.

    Cons

    Poor training, no room for growth, upper management is family that does not care to listen, and constant violation of code to sell product. Although they are GMP certified, they do not follow the code. This applies a large amount of pressure on the technicians. Combined with minimal training and passive aggressive upper management, this place is a nightmare to work. Stress to perform unreasonably is constantly applied...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Follow your GMP certifications and actually complete the quality control that is stated on the certificates of analysis!

    Cell Applications2018-05-16
  5. "An Interesting Place to Start, Learn and Adapt"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Cell Applications full-time

    Pros

    There is a sense of camaraderie with the small numbered staff that make up the company. Everyone is approachable and happy to assist, if and when there are not other pressing needs. Additionally, there are opportunities to dabble in works outside of the original responsibility set, should the person be capable and comfortable enough. There a certain stress on time management and coordination that is useful to learn. And,...

    Show More

    Cons

    As part of the nature of the business, priorities and emphases may shift with some rapidity (with changing desires of the clientele, etcetera). There may be a stress to perform (reasonably), but the occasional slip may be (at least seemingly) overly detrimental. While not strictly necessary, it is very advisable to enter with some prior laboratory experience (of substance). With the small size of the staff also comes...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    If feasible, perhaps increase staff in all areas. Standardize and update protocols/equipment/databases/documentation more regularly. Plan for and implement slower periods for staff to assess and decompress after more hectic stretches of work.

    Cell Applications2018-03-27
  6. "Part Time Laboratory Technician"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Cell Applications part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Positive and encouraging work environment. Due to the small size of the company I was able to participate in activities that were outside my job description. This allowed me to learn a great deal during my time working here.

    Cons

    Lack of internal communication at times, leading to easily avoidable mistakes. Not much room for growth.

    Advice to Management

    Encourage/facilitate more communication between employees. Update lab protocols.

    Cell Applications2018-01-25
  7. Helpful (2)

    "Unhealthy Work Environment Due to Management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Cell Culture Technician 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I worked at Cell Applications full-time

      Pros

      Good exposure to cell culture techniques. Small company, so there's opportunities to expand your skillset beyond the job description.

      Cons

      No room for upward growth. Though the company is technically GMP-certified, many of the technicians were not trained properly. Instead of being trained from the training log, beginning technicians simply learned by copying what the other technicians did. This led to many uncertainties, mistakes, and miscommunication between the new workers, experienced technicians, and management.

      Advice to Management

      I've talked with fellow employees, and we all agree that the micromanagement is stifling. Instead of micromanaging and then getting upset with employees over mistakes that were made, seek to implement proper training to all of the technicians. It might take more work and time, but it is much more worth it in the long run.

      Cell Applications2017-10-18
    • "Part Time Sales Position Informative But Too Short-Lived"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Diego, CA
        Negative Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I worked at Cell Applications part-time (Less than a year)

        Pros

        I learned a lot in my short time here. My mentors were very knowledgeable in their fields and respective positions.

        Cons

        Lack of company culture and not much motivation to integrate systems. Not ambitious as a company and company leaders are very nice, but do not seem interested in the rest of the employees.

        Advice to Management

        Increase leadership involvement and invest in strategy partners.

        Cell Applications2017-04-06
      • "Company is Growing, Staff is Gelling, And food is Flowing"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Diego, CA
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I have been working at Cell Applications full-time for more than a year

        Pros

        The company grew nicely this year in revenues. The sales team is expanding, with new territories being filled. And the company is making a big effort toward new technologies that use primary cells.

        Cons

        Communication internally between employees, and externally to customers and distributors, can be challenging at any company, especially during strong growth and product launches. The new operating procedures should make sure everyone gets the important news they need.

        Advice to Management

        It's great we're having more celebrations and lab outings. Probably because there are achievements and milestones we're hitting.

        Cell Applications2016-12-17
      • Helpful (1)

        "Great company and great co-workers"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I have been working at Cell Applications full-time (Less than a year)

        Pros

        The company has been growing, and it is an exciting and intellectually-stimulating work environment. Co-workers are nice and easy to work with.

        Cons

        None so far, very happy here.

        Cell Applications2016-07-05

        Cell Applications Response

        December 16, 2016VP Sales & Marketing

        A general note to all. It's great if you don't see any major downsides at the moment, but in the real world issues and problems come up in every workplace. Period. So always feel comfortable suggesting practices, products or behaviors to improve. All insights are valuable and ...

        Show More
      Found 17 reviews