Curse.com Reviews | Glassdoor

Curse.com Reviews

Updated May 25, 2018

To filter reviews, or .

Found 34 reviews

3.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
70%
Recommend to a Friend
75%
Approve of CEO
Hubert Thieblot
21 Ratings
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Video Team Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Curse.com full-time

    Pros

    - Never been happier to go to 'work' couldn't call it that really. The people are so lovely and supportive, I would be remiss if I didn't sing their praises. - The relaxed work culture & tight knit gaming community in the office is the stuff of dreams. - If you have the tenacity & the right attitude, this is a company that will reward you (financially & fulfillment wise) - There's room for advancement...

    Show More

    Cons

    - Industry moves quickly. The most valuable asset in the company may turn out to be a liability 2 years later. Hard to set a firm course, at time. - New directions means new blood, outside talent may have existing employees looking to grow, overlooked. Can be frustrating when you want to build a long term career.

    Advice to Management

    I would say there could be better communication across the board. Or empower employees to be able to reach out of their 'bubble' as Curse is a fairly flat org. If you feel your direct manager isn't doing you justice, its hard to navigate those waters.

    Curse.com2018-05-25
  2. Helpful (2)

    "Pretty much my dream job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Irvine, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Curse.com full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    No place is perfect and you get out of it what you put into it. So far, I haven't been disappointed. I prefer working at a smaller company like Curse, so that was ideal before we got acquired. + Catered breakfast/lunch, unlimited drinks/snacks to help you power through the day + Team lunch every Fridays -- they tend to run long but you get to know people outside of your own team. + Irvine, CA is a great, sunny location...

    Show More

    Cons

    +/- A part of Amazon -- with a larger company, comes more bureaucracy, and I hope that doesn't get in the way of getting things done. - The acquisition process into the Twitch mothership could've been a bit smoother. We're still working it out and it's been over a year. It may have been better if we were acquired by Amazon directly. - We've lost some of our "Curse" perks after having been acquired -- but we've gained...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    > Teach the team with what you know and how you come to decisions, so that you can empower the team to make their own decisions without you becoming the bottleneck. > Prevent the formation of silos -- as we're getting larger, this is more of a risk. Do something like encourage other teams outside of your own to 'show-and-tell' at a casual monthly all-hands (before the Twitch all hands).

    Curse.com2017-10-21
  3. Helpful (3)

    "growing and fun work environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at Curse.com part-time

      Pros

      People are generally friendly and approachable. Fun work environment - everyone has a passion for games. Recently acquired by Twitch makes for an exciting future.

      Cons

      Communication unclear. Laid-back culture may be contributing to this.

      Curse.com2017-01-03
    • Helpful (2)

      "Fantastic Place to Work"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Irvine, CA
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Curse.com full-time for less than a year

      Pros

      Curse is great. I love working with a group of talented and focused people who all want to improve the social experience for gamers. Being part of Twitch and Amazon gives Curse even more reach too.

      Cons

      Shifting priorities sometimes make it difficult to plan and complete a project before needing to move to something else.

      Advice to Management

      Keep hiring passionate people who care about customers as they are the key to continued success!

      Curse.com2016-10-27
    • Helpful (4)

      "Love going to work"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Irvine, CA
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Curse.com full-time

      Pros

      Probably the best team I've been on during my professional career. Everybody is very talented and good at what they do. Passionate about the industry and genuinely fun people to be around. Management style is very transparent and drama free. Perfect environment to be making a game-changing product.

      Cons

      Like anywhere else, challenges happen, but everyone has the right attitude to work it out and come up with the best solution.

      Curse.com2016-02-28
    • Helpful (2)

      "Awesome Work Environment!"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Irvine, CA
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Curse.com

      Pros

      I love the people I'm working with and I felt welcome instantly. Excited to be working with people this passionate about their job.

      Cons

      Far, but I'm relocating soon!

      Curse.com2016-02-22
    • Helpful (2)

      "Addicted to work"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Irvine, CA
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Curse.com full-time

      Pros

      I find myself actually excited to wake up in the morning to go to work. There's an epic break room always fully stocked with anything you can dream of. Free lunches, gym memberships, company outings.

      Cons

      I eat too much at spectrum center. Feels like missing out if you don't live at the neighboring Irvine Company.

      Advice to Management

      Reward those who work hard!

      Curse.com2016-02-10
    • Helpful (4)

      "Amazing place, amazing experience"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Sports Content Manager in Huntsville, AL
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook

      I have been working at Curse.com full-time for less than a year

      Pros

      Value talent over qualifications. They hire people that have proven they can do something over those that have a degree saying they learned how to do something. Awesome work environment (depending on the location, I only worked at the Huntsville, AL site). Great benefits. Everyone loves their job and it shows. You get to create some really fun things. Also, those that are not passionate about their work tend...

      Show More

      Cons

      You never really "punch out". Often times when I left for the day, I was expected to work from home in some capacity. I loved my work so this wasn't really an issue for me, but there will be days where you want to just relax once you get home but won't be able to. This is not your "9-5" your parents told you about.

      Advice to Management

      Communicate better. My time there, while incredible, did have moments of confusion. There were instances of management saying one thing and the execs saying another. There were also surprises, such as a deadline that wasn't communicated, that caused some late nights. Communication needs to be improved in order to avoid these things.

      Curse.com2016-01-23
    • "Awesome benefits"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook

      I have been working at Curse.com full-time

      Pros

      The company offers standard tech-company benefits like free lunches, gym expenses, and fun things like letting employees expense video games and fun conventions. Atmosphere is fun and morale is high, but employees are generally dedicated and passionate.

      Cons

      Your experience depend highly on your department or sector. Mine is great, but I have heard some unfavorable things from coworkers in other jobs under different management. For devs and IT, the pay is on the lower side of average.

      Advice to Management

      Company-wide communication could use improvement

      Curse.com2016-01-26
    • Helpful (4)

      "Bad Management"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
        Doesn't Recommend
        Negative Outlook
        Disapproves of CEO

        I worked at Curse.com

        Pros

        Some good people work there.

        Cons

        Management doesn't know what they are doing. Blind leading the blind.

        Curse.com2016-01-07
      Found 34 reviews