D.R. Horton Reviews

Updated May 28, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.2
44%
Recommend to a Friend
84%
Approve of CEO
D.R. Horton President and CEO David V. Auld
David V. Auld
132 Ratings
Pros
  • "DRH offers great benefits and recognizes a work/life balance is important(in 26 reviews)

  • "Great place to work with great people(in 22 reviews)

Cons
  • "Work life balance can be challenging due high demand position(in 22 reviews)

  • "Upper management ensured that we always knew we are a replaceable commodity(in 22 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review

    "Amazing company"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Coordinator 

    I have been working at D.R. Horton full-time

    Pros

    They really want to see you succeed in everything you do

    Cons

    No cons from me for this company

    D.R. Horton2020-02-13
  2. "Love this Division"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Counselor in Nashville, TN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at D.R. Horton full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Friendly Environment, ability to grow.

    Cons

    Work load and hours are rough. But in the end it all works out!

    D.R. Horton2020-05-28
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Good Coworkers but that's about it."

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Network Administrator in Fort Worth, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at D.R. Horton full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good Coworkers. Standard 401k and Medical.

    Cons

    Management, CIO, No advancement, Need Bi-yearly/yearly reviews, Only people in the "raise club" get raises(which i was in but still come on), Huge lack of trust between management and employees, little work life balance, Pay sucks

    Continue reading
    D.R. Horton2020-05-15
  4. "Upper management heavy"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Bothell, WA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at D.R. Horton full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    None really except the benefits

    Cons

    No room to grow they hate transfers

    Continue reading
    D.R. Horton2020-05-12
  5. "Terrible company for technical people, run away!"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Arch Plans Coordinator 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at D.R. Horton full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    decent pay, you can do better.

    Cons

    terrible upper management, rife with nepotism, this is a good old boy club. This is a great company if your a salesperson. However, this is a terrible company for technical minded people. I'm constantly behind due to the extreme lack of knowledge about building practices from management. When managment is made up of sales and accountants who never worked a construction job, it shows. you will not advance unless you are part of the club.

    Continue reading
    D.R. Horton2020-05-20
  6. Helpful (2)

    "No"

    5.0
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at D.R. Horton part-time

    Pros

    Learning, flexibility, no, no, no

    Cons

    Income No no no no

    D.R. Horton2020-03-24
  7. "They expect too much for production homes"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant Supervisor in Salt Lake City, UT
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at D.R. Horton full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    stable and secure job with fair pay

    Cons

    a lot of favortism, hard to rise up, expectations are too high for the amount of time you work and for being a production home builder. They expect you to "force" people to give 10's on the surveys which just fabricates a false idea of how the performance really is.

    Continue reading
    D.R. Horton2020-04-07
  8. "Get ready to get over worked and under paid"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Superintendent in Greenville, SC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at D.R. Horton full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    DR Horton is the largest builder in the area, and therefore the job security is great.

    Cons

    No work/life balance is nonexistent for most months Upper Management pushes to close homes, and when a problem arises, they blame the superintendent and ask "why did you close this house". Pay rate is well BELOW average rate in the area Favoritism is played quite hard and is apparent on who management likes and who they not like They will make you drive a ridiculous amount and only cover a very small amount. Vendors are subpar. Don't show up when scheduled and work is eh.

    Continue reading
    D.R. Horton2020-04-19
  9. "Great Company"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Purchasing Agent 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at D.R. Horton full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Pay, Fair Management, Job Growth

    Cons

    Culture, Work-life Ballance, Time off

    D.R. Horton2020-03-11
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Good Experience Overall"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Representative 

    I worked at D.R. Horton full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    There is a lot of money to be made, and they do a fantastic job of onboarding and training. The biggest benefit is the amount you can learn from a large company like this.

    Cons

    There is very little room for interpretation. Do things their way, or get out.

    D.R. Horton2020-03-04
Found 381 reviews