DriveTime Automotive Group Reviews

Updated Jun 2, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.8
68%
Recommend to a Friend
84%
Approve of CEO
DriveTime Automotive Group CEO Don Reese
Don Reese
86 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "It’s a sales job so don’t go into it thinking that there will be much work life balance(in 111 reviews)

  • "long hours, cut throat team members(in 82 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review

    "Overall Great place to work"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - General Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at DriveTime Automotive Group full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Fun and flexible atmosphere. Everyone from the bottom up are great people! they really treat you like family here. I love the annual GM meetings they are the best!

    Cons

    There is a lot of change, so get use to it! but they are changing to make our jobs and lives easier, but if you struggle with change this is not the place for you.

    Continue reading
    DriveTime Automotive Group2020-05-14
  2. "Good company"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Advisor - Full Time in Winston-Salem, NC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at DriveTime Automotive Group full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Overall good job, steady flow of business, good coworkers

    Cons

    Finance company makes loans difficult at times

    Continue reading
    DriveTime Automotive Group2020-02-11

    DriveTime Automotive Group Response

    February 19, 2020Employee Experience Team

    Hello! Thank you for sharing your review as a Sales Advisor in North Carolina! Your role as a Sales Advisor is so important to our customer's car buying experience. Happy to hear that you are enjoying your role and your sales team. If ever you have any suggestions of how the business can improve, please feel free to share your ideas with your General Manager, Retail leadership, or even our Talent Support team, and we will be happy to hear your suggestions!

  3. "Drivetime Review"

    4.0
    Former Employee - Sales Associate in Los Angeles, CA

    I worked at DriveTime Automotive Group full-time

    Pros

    Easy to contact and follow up with customers

    Cons

    Limited financing and vehicle options for customers to chose from

    DriveTime Automotive Group2020-06-03
  4. "Good Opportunity"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manager 
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at DriveTime Automotive Group full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    I worked for DT for 8 years in various roles across the country. I had the opportunity to learn a lot of valuable skills through my experiences and I am thankful for it. DT will provide you legitimate feedback along with the opportunity to grow your career. However- you must seek it out and be willing to work on your opportunities. DT has become more flexible with their benefits and working hours in the last few years. Executive Leadership has done a great job communicating compared to the last executive group. However, the new executive group largely hasn't connected on a personal level with field operations like the previous executive group did.

    Cons

    Lack of Senior Management Involvement in Field Operations, No Clear Vision to Grow the Business, Losing Market Share to Competition, Status Quo Product Offerings

    Continue reading
    DriveTime Automotive Group2020-06-01
  5. "Great Opportunity to learn!"

    4.0
    Former Employee - Field Service Engineer in Houston, TX

    I worked at DriveTime Automotive Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Hours are flexible, get to travel, no micromanagement, company car, company credit card, and great team. Paid for training and certifications.

    Cons

    Wasn't much of a ladder to grow. More pay, but not much more responsibility.

    DriveTime Automotive Group2020-05-31
  6. "Good place to work"

    4.0
    Former Employee - Technician in West Palm Beach, FL
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at DriveTime Automotive Group full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Schedule, benefits, good moral, fun

    Cons

    Mostly I would say the pay

    DriveTime Automotive Group2020-05-28
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Gm years are like dog years"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - General Manager 

    I worked at DriveTime Automotive Group full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Great benefits that are reasonably priced. Closed Sundays. If you are a self motivator than you can move up. Obviously if you are relocatable than you are able to move up faster. Great training and good communication from senior management. When you go into sales, you know that you are going to put up with a lot of “extras” but you also know the pay will make it worth it. I met a lot of great people and made a lot of great relationships. I had great mentors along the way.

    Cons

    It’s a sales job so don’t go into it thinking that there will be much work life balance. Even before covid due to the structure of the company, you won’t see your assistant director or director much - they just have too much on their plate to be at your store to check in. Be prepared to be managed remotely.

    Continue reading
    DriveTime Automotive Group2020-05-24
  8. "Good company"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Solutions Analyst in Tempe, AZ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at DriveTime Automotive Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Nice perks, nice people, cool technology

    Cons

    Lower pay, weird annual reviews.

    DriveTime Automotive Group2020-05-20
  9. "Great place to work"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Advisor in Charlotte, NC
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at DriveTime Automotive Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Overall an easy job for decent pay. Management was easy to work with.

    Cons

    Slow times of the year with not much to do. Promotions didn't seem as capable as made out to be

    DriveTime Automotive Group2020-04-30

    DriveTime Automotive Group Response

    May 4, 2020Employee Experience Team

    Thank you for leaving your review as a DriveTime Alumn! It is nice to hear that you enjoyed your role during your time with us. With our retail stores, we have some busier times of the year than others. During the slower times, we find other ways to stay occupied such as following up on leads, training, and other professional development.

  10. "Great"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Advisor 

    I worked at DriveTime Automotive Group full-time

    Pros

    Great hours and pay plus a cool employee purchase program

    Cons

    Wish COVID didn’t shut us down

    Continue reading
    DriveTime Automotive Group2020-04-24

    DriveTime Automotive Group Response

    April 28, 2020Employee Experience Team

    Thank you for leaving a positive review! We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed the some of the benefits and perks we offer. It’s unfortunate that due to the evolving situation with COVID-19 our organization was forced to make some very difficult decisions. We hope that you stay safe and healthy and that our paths cross again in the near future.

Found 786 reviews