DriveTime Automotive Group Reviews | Glassdoor

DriveTime Automotive Group Reviews

Updated June 17, 2018
652 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-timePart-time

3.3
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
(no image)
Don Reese
9 Ratings

652 Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
Cons
  • "however there is no work life balance" (in 99 reviews)

  • "LONG hours, usually every shift will last an extra 30min to a few hours" (in 76 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. "Internet Development Team"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Internet Sales Advisor in Mesa, AZ
    Current Employee - Internet Sales Advisor in Mesa, AZ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at DriveTime Automotive Group full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    They actually support work/life balance. Flexible and understanding. Fair pay and good benefits. They give us a lot of food. Ping Pong rooms. Gym.

    Cons

    None really, I love working here!

    Advice to Management

    N/A

    DriveTime Automotive Group Response

    Jun 18, 2018 – Talent

    Thanks for sharing! We are happy to see you are enjoying our "work hard, play hard" environment in Internet Sales!


  2. "Great Work Environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Financial Analyst in Tempe, AZ
    Current Employee - Financial Analyst in Tempe, AZ

    I have been working at DriveTime Automotive Group full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    DriveTime is a great place to work with an awesome environment.

    Cons

    I have no cons at the moment.

    DriveTime Automotive Group Response

    Jun 4, 2018 – Talent

    This is great to hear! Keep up the good work.

  3. "Couldn't Be Happier"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Dev Lead in Tempe, AZ
    Current Employee - Dev Lead in Tempe, AZ
    Recommends
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at DriveTime Automotive Group full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Relaxed Work Environment
    Great Work-Life Balance
    Great Benefits & Compensation
    Cutting Edge Technology
    Lots Of Smart People

    Cons

    Have not found any yet

    DriveTime Automotive Group Response

    Jun 4, 2018 – Talent

    We are very pleased to see such a positive review! Thank you for sharing.


  4. "A great place to start your career!!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Advisor in Tucson, AZ
    Current Employee - Sales Advisor in Tucson, AZ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at DriveTime Automotive Group full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Benefits, work environment, team oriented, opportunity to relocate and move up, work life balance. Pay is decent

    Cons

    None to talk about

    Advice to Management

    None. Keep up the hard work!

    DriveTime Automotive Group Response

    Jun 4, 2018 – Talent

    We appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback. We are happy to hear about your positive experience so far with DriveTime!


  5. Helpful (2)

    "These Violent Delights Have Violent Ends"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manager in Houston, TX
    Former Employee - Manager in Houston, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at DriveTime Automotive Group full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    Healthcare cost.

    You will participate ina master class on corporate politics in learning how to play the game by building your personal brand and having the right relationships. You will learn how to lead conversations using the four parts of speech with employees to break them down of their personal concerns and opinions that are opposed to the culture and give them feedback they MUST be receptive to and NOT push back on in order to build artificial buy in with company initiatives and changes. You will learn to control narratives; that is be able to get ahead of any issues or noise coming out of your store to limit the spotlight and involvement from upper management and contain/resolve the issue to create the facade that everything is under control. Do these things well and you can rise through the ranks very fast and make decent(but below market average) income. Just don’t get comfortable or expect tenure and loyalty to be valued or reciprocated; the fall inevitably will blind side you.

    Cons

    The cons have been previously outlined just this year by a combination of employees in past reviews. Some are tenured and some new; they are spread across the country and across varied corporate and retail departments. For reference of my cons please see reviews from 5/4/18 and 5/11/18. You can see more from 2018 alone that align in message. Pay close attention to the replies on these reviews from the pseudo “HR” team called Talent Support to gain insight on the culture of “talking off” any problem. To use the DT vernacular: they lack the emotional intelligence needed to be receptive to feedback, take ownership of the issues that get brought to light, and be personally accountable to make the necessary change to improve employee morale and retention by being intentional and sincere about providing a healthier work environment.

    Advice to Management

    When it comes to one particular store in Houston I implore you to take heed of Dante Alighieri's 14th-century epic poem; “Abandon all hope ye who enter here.”


  6. "IDT"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - IDT-1 in Mesa, AZ
    Current Employee - IDT-1 in Mesa, AZ
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at DriveTime Automotive Group full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    I have really enjoyed working for this company, they will do whatever they can to really work with your situation. I have had the opportunity to be a part of a great to that for sure has so much room for growth an opportunity. You do get full benefits after 30 days. Insurance was a huge benefit to me. My two supervisors have been nothing but compassionate and understanding with me and they will do one on one coaching with you to make sure you are where you want to be and where you need to be. They will not let you help you in any situation they can.

    Cons

    I honestly think the only con I have for working here is having to work on Satruday's and having to sit at a desk all day. Because my last position I had for 3 years was constant movement on my feet and I had a half day Friday and the weekends off.

    Advice to Management

    To just continue to be a company that values their employees like you already do. It makes a huge difference when working for someone. If you are valued by upper management it will make your employees want to work hard for you when they see how much they are listened to and valued.

    DriveTime Automotive Group Response

    May 24, 2018 – Talent

    Thank you for the great review! We are glad to see that you feel valued and appreciated here at DriveTime! It is of high priority for us that our employees know how important they are. We appreciate... More


  7. Helpful (3)

    "Uncertain future for the "boy's club" at DriveTime."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Phoenix, AZ
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Phoenix, AZ
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at DriveTime Automotive Group full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    I stayed for as long as I did because of my amazing immediate coworkers!
    Good place for people looking to start in a new career/industry or for short term employment.
    "Millennial driven" culture with lots of team building events throughout the year.

    Cons

    Not a lot of growth opportunities for women. I'd say 80%+ of upper management is male. It's very clear this lack of female leadership is deep rooted in "DriveTime's Culture". (An expression frequently used to excuse poor management decisions). DT pays below average for most of their departments and yet still cannot avoid major company wide layoffs.
    The future and success of DT is very unstable. The owner is very set on selling the company, either as a whole or piece by piece. I would not suggest looking to DT for long-term employment.

    Advice to Management

    Shake up the idea of DT culture and pursue new leadership with original ideas.

    DriveTime Automotive Group Response

    Jun 4, 2018 – Talent

    We appreciate you sharing your feedback and ideas with us. As an organization, we understand and appreciate the value that diversity of thought, perspective, ideas, and backgrounds brings to a... More

  8. "Licensing coordinator"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at DriveTime Automotive Group full-time

    Pros

    Great benefits for employees at hone office

    Cons

    Management doesn’t properly notify employees

    DriveTime Automotive Group Response

    May 17, 2018 – Talent

    Thank you for your positive review! Glad to see you enjoy the great benefits we offer as a company!


  9. "Fun at first"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate in Las Vegas, NV
    Former Employee - Sales Associate in Las Vegas, NV
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at DriveTime Automotive Group full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    I had a good experience working at Drivetime. When I was there, I was coached well and even though I had no experience in working in the car industry I caught on quickly.

    Cons

    Promotions are very rare.

    Advice to Management

    Stop taking your anger out on employees when your budget isn’t being met.

    DriveTime Automotive Group Response

    May 23, 2018 – Talent

    We appreciate you taking the time to provide your positive and constructive feedback. Employee coaching, development and growth are a top priority for our company. We are happy to hear that you felt... More


  10. "Sales Advisor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Advisor in Judson, TX
    Former Employee - Sales Advisor in Judson, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at DriveTime Automotive Group full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Pay is not bad. Salary plus commission.

    Cons

    Longer hours, they tie your hands so its very hard to be innovative

    DriveTime Automotive Group Response

    May 3, 2018 – Talent

    Thank you for your positive and constructive feedback. Glad to hear you appreciated our base salary and commission opportunities!


Showing 652 of 662 reviews
Reset Filters