Equian Reviews

Updated Apr 21, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.3
63%
Recommend to a Friend
84%
Approve of CEO
Equian CEO Scott Mingee
Scott Mingee
57 Ratings
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great place to work"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Equian full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    The recent growth of the company has expanded everyone's ability to grow as a professional. I highly recommend this company for anyone looking for long term employment and success!

    Cons

    A slow transition to upgrade the system for all lines of business

    Continue reading
    Equian2020-04-21
  2. "Manager"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in Louisville, KY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Equian full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great peers! Good location. Ok pay.

    Cons

    They give you goals that are unrealistic so you don’t make bonus. Upper management does not care about anyone as a person. Only the numbers matter. Some departments are happy, most are miserable.

    Continue reading
    Equian2020-04-18
  3. "Good overall."

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Louisville, KY
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Equian full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good bonus potential. Friendly Coworkers.

    Cons

    Aggressive focus on hitting goal numbers and penalties for missing.

    Equian2020-03-24
  4. "Decent Enough"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Analyst in Louisville, KY
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Equian full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Benefits decent. 401k excellent. Bonuses reasonable.

    Cons

    Poor onboarding process. No clear career ladder. PTO is not so great compared to other IT in other companies. Company recently acquired by another, so unknown changes to come.

    Equian2020-02-03
  5. "Robot"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Recovery Specialist in Louisville, KY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Equian full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Work from home opportunities. Great 401k. PTO, maternity/paternity leave.

    Cons

    You will be expected to pull a workload like you are a robot or working a very fast assembly line. Expect 1200 or more files and you will always have 500 plus of those showing late. So many people have either quit or have been let go, leaving those behind to have daily files divied out in excessive amounts and forced to work mandatory overtime. You can't actually catch up because when you get close, they will dump 100's of dead files in your backlog and require even more overtime. They will base your goals on the surprise, dead backlogs of those who have left. Expect to be micro managed with certain supervisors and the next level of management. Do not plan on advancement unless you are in the who you know crowd. Those folks get positions that are never even posted. They talk a great talk about opportunities here but there are very few to be had in the Louisville office. Do yourself a favor and look elsewhere. There are other companies in the area doing the same with much better pay and Similiar benefits.

    Continue reading
    Equian2020-03-09
  6. Helpful (1)

    "I love working here. It is very laid back and I love my coworkers."

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - RX Support Analyst in Montgomery, AL

    I have been working at Equian full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Laid back, balanced work life

    Cons

    the pay was kind of low especially for on call.

    Continue reading
    Equian2020-01-10
  7. Helpful (1)

    "No complaints so far."

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service in Tulsa, OK
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Equian full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Pay, bonuses, benefits, and opportunities to move within the company.

    Cons

    Software is outdated, equipment is less than ideal with one monitor for half of us and old mice and keyboards. Chairs are so uncomfortable for me my back hurts every night.

    Continue reading
    Equian2019-12-14

    Equian Response

    January 6, 2020HR Director

    Thanks for leaving a review! We are happy to hear that you're finding a number of positive benefits in working for Equian. Much of the technology we utilize will be upgraded during the integration with Optum in the coming months. The safety of our associates is an important priority for Equian. Please reach out to your manager immediately if you have faulty or unsafe equipment, and your manager will direct you through the process to have it repaired or replaced.

  8. "Great staff, wonderful. Hours and pay. Borring worm"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Legal Customer Service Representative in Louisville, KY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Equian for less than a year

    Pros

    I love everything about working there except the commute and how bored I am at work.

    Cons

    They let some people work remote but won't let others. Also they can play favorites a little but it's not horrible.

    Continue reading
    Equian2020-01-01

    Equian Response

    January 6, 2020HR Director

    Thank you for your feedback. We do have a remote policy and offer the opportunity to work remotely on a case by case basis. We weigh many factors in the decision to offer remote opportunities and would love to speak with you about this. We also consider our work culture to be very diverse and inclusive. Our success depends on diversity. That being said, there is always room for improvement. If you have ideas about expanding our diversity and inclusion initiatives, please speak with your manager or HR. We would welcome a conversation!

  9. "Great Benefits Not Team Players"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Financial Analyst in Southfield, MI
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Equian full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great Benefits and flexible environment.

    Cons

    Too widespread, worked along and not a part of a team.

    Equian2019-11-18

    Equian Response

    December 3, 2019HR Director

    Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry to hear that some aspects of your work experience did not live up to your expectations. We always value feedback and invite you to contact your HR Partner or reach out to humanresources@equian.com if you have additional feedback you think would be helpful and wish to share.

  10. Helpful (1)

    "Only if you cannot find another job.."

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Subrogation 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at Equian full-time

    Pros

    Our department supervisor is great!

    Cons

    This alone cannot mask or make up for the overall poor company dynamic or the horrific ways the employees are treated. This company was run in the dirt to poise it for sell. The employees enjoy little to no work / life balance. They are treated like mules. The salaries are grossly underpaid, and the "bonuses" are useless, as they have been cut and capped to the point that it makes no difference against the unreasonable and outlandish goals set.

    Continue reading
    Equian2019-12-03

    Equian Response

    December 3, 2019HR Director

    Thank you for expressing your concerns. We strive to know and understand the concerns of all of our associates and to address them in a timely manner. We would welcome an opportunity to speak with you in more details and encourage you to reach out to your HR Partner or follow up with humanresources@equian.com for additional conversation to address your feedback.

Found 102 reviews