Family Video Reviews

Updated May 17, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
2.5
30%
Recommend to a Friend
45%
Approve of CEO
Family Video President Keith Hoogland  (no image)
Keith Hoogland
203 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Low wage, dying industry, no breaks(in 131 reviews)

  • "Upper management is stretched so thin you have little support(in 67 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Customer service"

    5.0
    Former Employee - Sales Representative 

    I worked at Family Video full-time

    Pros

    Flexible schedule and friendly staff

    Cons

    Low pay and sometimes short hours

    Continue reading
    Family Video2020-02-22
  2. "Easy"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant Manager in Rantoul, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Family Video full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Fun atmosphere, smart co-workers due to tests required at application

    Cons

    Treated like children by upper management

    Continue reading
    Family Video2020-05-15
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Stay Part Time, Resist Promotions"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Store Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Family Video full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    -I loved the freedom of being a manager. I literally did whatever I wanted with my store (moving sections, pricing older movies, having sales, in store discounts like trivia contests) and the only time I had pushback was when a customer sent a complaint to my superiors. -Full Time managers are able to get a hefty bonus based on sales, but the parameters are so high in a low volume store it was incredibly difficult to receive. -Half priced and /or free rentals -Regular customers were fantastic, and they were wonderful to me and my staff. That is what I miss the most. - I really did love the job, it was simply not financially worth it in the long run

    Cons

    Money. They do not pay adequately for the amount of work you do. Refuse to pay overtime, you are on your own 100% as management. I loved it as a part time job, but moving up in the company is not worth it. Too much stress (all maintenance inside and out, ordering parts and replacements, interviewing and training 100% of your staff and even another store's hire, scheduling, 3 types of sales calls, all the accounting & payroll, sales coaching, covering all call offs and holidays for when staff cannot work, maintaining next to impossible labor standards and selling CBD to company quotas) and no home/work balance. If you are single with no children then it could work out, but there is no going a day without phone calls or questions from both upper management or your employees. Upper management is spread as thinly as you are, so getting answers can be difficult. I had several different district and regional managers in only the course of a year, and they varied on levels of involvement. Some would help you as much as they could, and others would shrug over the phone and tell you to just figure it out. They posted a group chat for managers so that they could reach out to one another, but it was such a waste I barely used it. I loved the day to day of the customers and the empowerment of the company, but it is a double edged sword - that empowerment expectation also leads to the feeling that no one cares what you do. There is virtually no follow up. You are entirely on your own, for good or bad. That was the straw that broke the camel's back for me. Also no breaks.

    Continue reading
    Family Video2020-05-05
  4. "Pretty solid retail management position"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant Store Manager in Wisconsin Dells, WI
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Family Video full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Upper leadership does seem to make decisions that are based in care for their staff Clientele tend to be pleasant due to the low-pressure retail goods Entertainment environment can be fun

    Cons

    The open hours/open days. Retail sometimes means a conflict negotiation, being a manager means you need to be prepared to handle any number of situations.

    Continue reading
    Family Video2020-04-18
  5. "Better than the fast food industry, but still not great"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Part Time Sales 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Family Video part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good hours; not always fast-paced

    Cons

    Poor scheduling / on call hours

    Continue reading
    Family Video2020-04-18
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Brief. Waste of time, eye opener."

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Stock Clerk in Joplin, MO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Family Video part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    There are movies all around, it's out of the elements.... good enough for a high school student.

    Cons

    Are there enough words in the English language? Slave wage. No other way to say. Garbage, useless wage. No one could live on this pathetic wage. High school kids, maybe, if they are undemanding. Management is clueless

    Continue reading
    Family Video2020-05-17
  7. "The Worst Place to Work (I CANNOT STRESS THIS ENOUGH)!!!!"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at Family Video full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    There really are no pros.

    Cons

    pay, workload, upper-management, schedule, EVERYTHING

    Continue reading
    Family Video2020-05-11
  8. "Good Part Time Job"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate in Rolla, MO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Family Video part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Not Hard, Very Time Flexible

    Cons

    Unsafe, Uncaring for Employees, Boring

    Continue reading
    Family Video2020-05-05
  9. "fire at will make up reaseasons"

    1.0
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Family Video part-time

    Pros

    free movies, easy job, minimum wage

    Cons

    managment, not many hours, no benfits

    Family Video2020-05-04
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Only slightly better than fast food"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Associate 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at Family Video part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    You work alone most of the day, so as long as you manage to get all your required tasks done and take care of the customers you can work at whatever pace you like. You get to pick the movie that plays in the store. You can rent new movies that haven't been put on the shelf yet--sometimes. Some customers are very nice, and you get to build a warm and familiar relationship with your regulars.

    Cons

    Some customers are not so nice. I never had a problem anywhere else I've worked here with drug addicts and homeless stealing, sleeping in the vestibule, or just coming in and scaring both the customers and myself with, frankly, disturbing stories/monologues. Family video seems to attract them, and it's very scary since I work alone at all hours and I am a small female. I expressed fear about a creepy regular one time, and was dismissed by my male assistant manager. No follow up, no one else to go to. Told to "just deal, it isn't that bad." District managers don't care about anything but numbers, and even then, sometimes don't care enough to look at the numbers! All employees are expected to check the store email at least twice daily, so imagine my surprise when I open one from our DM saying that "no one but [my store manager] and [my assistant manager] seem to be retaining cbd sales training," when my numbers were second only to my assistant managers at the time? Make it make sense. I understand why it's like this, though. DMs have insane quotas or it's their job on the line, and an absolutely psychotic workload. This quarantine has only served to highlight this; some stores in my district have been forced to shut their doors temporarily, and my District Manager has had to drive, her own car, to each store, and SCAN IN ALL THE RETURNED MOVIES. FROM EACH STORE. DAILY. HOURS OF DRIVING. BY HERSELF. It's absolute chaos. The dress code is archaic. When I started almost a year ago it was more casual, and I liked that; we were allowed to wear jeans and nice tees, although encouraged to dress up. At the new year, it changed, so now employees are required to wear either slacks or a dress with tights; I had to buy slacks. I used to care so much about working here. It was like my dream job. They lure you in with all these promises; opportunity to grow, benefits, community, support. It's all smoke and mirrors for the ugly corporate machine underneath. As such, I feel so drained from working here. My husband asked me why I tried so hard for a company that clearly couldn't care less about me, and I didn't have an answer for him. So I stopped trying so hard; everything is the same, except I don't feel so flat and grey at the end of the day. If it wasn't for my store manager, I would have already been long gone. She is the only saving grace about this job, and since she started, after I joined, she's already developed gray hairs. I want to stay to support her as long as I can, she doesn't deserve to deal with this mess alone. Oh- and my 30-day 10 cent raise? That disappeared at the new year with the rise of minimum wage. Never to be seen again... I saw another review here that said they expect a certain caliber of employee but are unwilling to pay what that kind of person is worth, and this is exactly the case.

    Continue reading
    Family Video2020-04-29
Viewing 1 - 10 of 769 Reviews