Great Clips Reviews | Glassdoor

Great Clips Reviews

Updated October 17, 2018
1,625 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-timePart-time

4.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
Great Clips CEO Steve Hockett
Steve Hockett
231 Ratings

1,625 Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
  • "It is a fast paced environment with a guaranteed customer base" (in 119 reviews)

  • "Flexible schedule, paid training, specialize in haircuts" (in 92 reviews)

Cons
  • "You have to have complete open availability and no set schedule" (in 42 reviews)

  • "Need to work some nights and weekends BUT that's also where I make the most" (in 28 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. Featured Review

    "It's gonna be GREAT!!!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Salon Manager in Rosemont, IL
    Current Employee - Salon Manager in Rosemont, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Great Clips full-time (More than 8 years)

    Pros

    Immediately begin making money, endless opportunity to grow in so many different ways: as a stylist, to further your career as more than just a stylist, as a person. There are so many reasons to be inspired by this campany: by fellow stylists that help and care that u achieve your goals, by the corporate side of the family that never stops working to better our day to day operations whether we see it or not, or by the corporate support that is always available with a helping hand. There is no doubt there is a place for anyone and everyone at a Great Clips

    Cons

    Inconsistencies between different franchisees.

    Advice to Management

    It can be extremely hard to keep the dream in sight, day to day you can lose motivation to achieve the goals or personal dreams. But never forget why you chose to become a manager, strive to excellence, and never give up on yourself or salon in the end it will be worth it and your lasting team will be grateful for it.

    Great Clips Response

    Oct 3, 2018

    We appreciate everything that you and your team do in the salon each day!


  2. "Stylist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I worked at Great Clips full-time

    Pros

    great co workers
    lots of clients
    money to be made
    got paid even when no clients
    only worked 6 hours

    Cons

    cant think of any thing

    Great Clips Response

    Oct 18, 2018

    We appreciate that you were a member of a great community of stylists and managers! Thank you.

  3. Helpful (1)

    "GREAT career"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Area Manager in Austin, TX
    Current Employee - Area Manager in Austin, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Great Clips full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    This is an amazing company. I'm so happy to come to work. I feel supported, and feel like I get to really help stylists become their best.

    Cons

    I wish we had more time available to help stylists. Pay is good for stylists.

    Advice to Management

    Managers have a great deal more responsibility than stylists. The pay level should be reflected in that.

    Great Clips Response

    Oct 16, 2018

    Thank you for everything that you and your team do in the salon each day!


  4. "An absolutely amazing experience so far!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Salon Manager in Midlothian, VA
    Current Employee - Salon Manager in Midlothian, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Great Clips full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Great salon team, supportive coworkers and upper management

    Cons

    Weekend hours, very little down time sometimes

    Great Clips Response

    Oct 17, 2018

    We appreciate that you are a valued member of a GREAT team! Thank you for sharing your feedback.


  5. "Love, love, LOVE my job!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    Pros

    Since day one at Great Clips, two years ago, I have loved my job. The company itself is amazing and cares so much about the employees. There are endless classes you can attend and continue learning for free which is awesome. My salon specifically is such a warm, welcoming, and friendly environment which makes going to work enjoyable and actually something to look forward to. The endless opportunities to grow with the company is also awesome. There is nothing poor to say about this company and I could go on and on about what I love about them !

    Cons

    There is nothing negative for me to say about Great Clips!

    Great Clips Response

    Oct 16, 2018

    Love, love, LOVE having you as a valued member of a great community of stylists and managers!!!


  6. "Best company to work with"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Great Clips full-time (More than 8 years)

    Pros

    Flexible schedules and plenty of room for growth because they promote from within. It feels Like family and you can tell they care about you and what you have to say. You make money from day one and they provide all the customers for you.

    Cons

    There are Not really any for me. I work hard sometimes 6 days and long hours which could be a con for some but for me it is not. I have pride in what I do because I know others do the same including upper management. I haven’t felt part of something with other companies in fact I usually have felt bottom of the wrung and like they could care less if I stayed or left. That isn’t the case with Great Clips. My franchise lets everyone know how important they are and they never make you feel like you work for them instead they make you feel like you work with them and that is a huge difference.

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing a great job and stay ahead of the game and they will keep coming. This company is so innovative that other keep trying to copy your formula. Great Clips is the GREATEST so keep it that way.

    Great Clips Response

    Oct 17, 2018

    We appreciate everything that you do in the salon to deliver the Great Clips brand for our customers!


  7. "Never loved a company more! (Though Chick Fil A may have tied.)"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Operations Assistant in Greensboro, NC
    Current Employee - Operations Assistant in Greensboro, NC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Great Clips full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    The brand works, the company culture is very uplifting, the people care about you, and they stay up to date on technology. The resources they have to help build up the salons are amazing.

    Cons

    It's hard to balance work and family since I want to always be there for the managers and stylists.

    Great Clips Response

    Oct 17, 2018

    Thank you for sharing your experience working with the salons each day!

  8. "Love my GREAT Career"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Great Clips full-time (More than 8 years)

    Pros

    Team/ Family Environment
    Continuing Education
    Immediate clientele
    Flexible schedules
    Unwavering support
    Oh and... MONEY

    Cons

    Don’t work here unless you want to be a small part of something beyond great.

    Advice to Management

    Great Clips cares more.

    Great Clips Response

    Oct 15, 2018

    Every. One. Counts! :-) Thank you for sharing your experience working in the salon.


  9. "Happy @ Great Clips"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Stylist/Manager in Albany, OR
    Current Employee - Stylist/Manager in Albany, OR
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Great Clips full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    Our franchisee is great, and we have a fun team of stylists where our hard work pays off. I am very happy to work for Great Clips.

    Cons

    The only con I can think of is the company does not offer health insurance.

    Great Clips Response

    Oct 15, 2018

    Because each salon is independently owned and operated, franchisee may use a number of different factors to determine stylist's total benefits. Thank you!


  10. "Hair stylist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Hair Stylist in Knoxville, TN
    Current Employee - Hair Stylist in Knoxville, TN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Great Clips full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    They do more for their employees Thea any other companies .

    Cons

    None I can think of

    Great Clips Response

    Oct 15, 2018

    We appreciate everything you do in the salon each day to deliver the Great Clips brand!


Showing 1,625 of 1,630 reviews
Reset Filters