Great Clips Reviews | Glassdoor

Great Clips Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 1719 reviews

4.3
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
85%
Recommend to a Friend
93%
Approve of CEO
Great Clips CEO Steve Hockett
Steve Hockett
288 Ratings
Pros
  • "It is a fast paced environment with a guaranteed customer base(in 125 reviews)

  • "Flexible schedule decent tips short hours possible(in 121 reviews)

Cons
  • "You have to have complete open availability and no set schedule(in 44 reviews)

  • "Need to work some nights and weekends BUT that's also where I make the most(in 27 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review

    Helpful (29)

    It's gonna be GREAT!!!

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Overall
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Salon Manager in Rosemont, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Great Clips full-time for more than 9 years

    Pros

    Immediately begin making money, endless opportunity to grow in so many different ways: as a stylist, to further your career as more than just a stylist, as a person. There are so many reasons to be inspired by this campany: by fellow stylists that help and care that u achieve your goals, by the corporate side of the family that never stops working to better our day to day operations whether we see it or not, or by the...

    Show More

    Cons

    Inconsistencies between different franchisees.

    Advice to Management

    It can be extremely hard to keep the dream in sight, day to day you can lose motivation to achieve the goals or personal dreams. But never forget why you chose to become a manager, strive to excellence, and never give up on yourself or salon in the end it will be worth it and your lasting team will be grateful for it.

    Great Clips Response

    October 3, 2018

    We appreciate everything that you and your team do in the salon each day!

  2. I LOVE great clips! This company is one out of a million!

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I have been working at Great Clips

      Pros

      Competitive pay! Flexible hours! A staff that grows as a family !

      Cons

      I can’t think of none!

    • Salon manager

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

        I have been working at Great Clips

        Pros

        Lots of clientele, great pay, great people to work with, and a huge team atmosphere

        Cons

        Working different shifts, working on weekends

        Advice to Management

        Recruit, recruit, recruit! We stay so busy we always need new stylists. I love my role and can’t wait to go on to general management and onto corporate!

        Great Clips Response

        February 14, 2019

        We appreciate you sharing your feedback and comments! Thank you for being a member of a GREAT team.

      • Best company I've worked for!

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Overall
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Store Manager in Fort Worth, TX
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I have been working at Great Clips full-time for more than 4 years

        Pros

        Benefits, pay, family environment, education, great people, fast paced, competitive, incentives, the Stenzler's are wonderful owners!

        Cons

        Long hours, turn over, sometimes short staffed

        Advice to Management

        Keep working hard to better the company.

        Great Clips Response

        February 13, 2019

        Thank you and your team for everything you do in the salon each day! We appreciate your feedback and comments.

      • Current Salon manager

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Overall
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Manager in New Bern, NC
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I have been working at Great Clips full-time for more than 6 years

        Pros

        Friendly environment, very fast pace friendly clientele

        Cons

        There are no set schedules

        Advice to Management

        The company is forever changing but always for the positive. So no complaints here

        Great Clips Response

        February 14, 2019

        Thank you for being a valued member of a GREAT team of stylists and managers!

      • Why choose Greatclips?

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Overall
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Hair Stylist in Independence, KY
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook

        I have been working at Great Clips part-time for more than 20 years

        Pros

        Competitive wages, great family business, laxed scheduling, NO CHEMICALS, great co-workers with free advertisement.

        Cons

        Can’t think of any? If your unhappy with one then try another all are individually owned and many have GREAT owners!!

        Great Clips Response

        February 12, 2019

        We appreciate everything you do in the salon each day to deliver the Great Clips brand!

      • Fun, energetic, steady

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Overall
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Assistant Manager in Fargo, ND
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook
        Disapproves of CEO

        I have been working at Great Clips full-time for more than 4 years

        Pros

        Flexible scheduling, paid holiday, student loan reimbursement

        Cons

        I can’t honestly think of anything

        Great Clips Response

        February 7, 2019

        Thank you and your team for everything you do in the salon each day to deliver the Great Clips brand!

      • High paced atmosphere, laid back co-workers and clientele.

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Overall
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Stylist in Fargo, ND
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook

        I have been working at Great Clips part-time for more than 9 years

        Pros

        When I first applied to work at Great Clips it was my intention to work here for 6 months or so until I found a more permanent salon. Nine years later I am still here with no intention of leaving. My coworkers have become my family. It is a very high paced atmosphere (which I enjoy) and the clients and staff are very laid back and down to earth. It is by far the best company I have ever worked for and I feel truly cared...

        Show More

        Cons

        It is not a full service salon. We offer haircuts, shampoos, beard trims, neck trims and styles. We are open 7 days a week (including Sundays)

        Great Clips Response

        February 8, 2019

        We appreciate you sharing your experience working in the salon. Thank you for your feedback!

      • Helpful (1)

        Everyday... It’s Gonna be GREAT!!!

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Overall
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Hair Stylist in Bartlett, TN
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I have been working at Great Clips full-time for more than a year

        Pros

        I have been in the industry for 15 years and Great Clips is like anything I have ever been a part of. It’s a family atmosphere. Everyone works together to succeed. The training is phenomenal. They are always bringing in educators and seminars to help us grow, plus our managers work with us one on one on both technical and business skills. The money is amazing. Not only is a great guaranteed base wage, but you get so...

        Show More

        Cons

        Right now the owners only have 1 salon but are growing. With that growth comes more opportunities to get better.

        Advice to Management

        Thank you for taking the time to appreciate your stylists. It really means a lot and I want to stay here forever because of it.

        Great Clips Response

        February 4, 2019

        Thank YOU for sharing your experience & for being a valued member of a great team!!!

      • This is a fast-paced company with an amazing built in clientele.

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Overall
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Manager in Grand Rapids, MN
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I have been working at Great Clips full-time for more than 2 years

        Pros

        They provide the clientele and you get to work with a great group of employees. You are also so busy that it just makes the day fly by. You start making money immediately and it never stops.

        Cons

        I travel a distance to work but other than that it's great.

        Advice to Management

        Keep up the great work as always.

        Great Clips Response

        February 5, 2019

        Thank you for everything you and your team do to deliver the Great Clips brand!

      Found 1719 reviews