Great Clips Reviews | Glassdoor

Great Clips Reviews

Updated July 20, 2018
1,467 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-timePart-time

4.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
Great Clips CEO Steve Hockett
Steve Hockett
122 Ratings

1,467 Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
  • "The money is good and its fast paced" (in 105 reviews)

  • "Very flexible schedule to balance my home life" (in 82 reviews)

Cons
  • "You have to have complete open availability and no set schedule" (in 37 reviews)

  • "Need to work some nights and weekends BUT that's also where I make the most" (in 24 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. Featured Review

    Helpful (23)

    "Salon Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Hair Stylist Manager in Novi, MI
    Current Employee - Hair Stylist Manager in Novi, MI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Great Clips full-time (More than 8 years)

    Pros

    Marvelous Management
    Endless Education
    Comfortable Culture
    Supportive Staff
    Steady Customer flow

    Cons

    Keep your mind open to peak opportunities: Nights & weekends are steady!!

    Advice to Management

    Continue to create a culture that keeps talented stylists happy!

    Great Clips Response

    Jan 10, 2018

    Thank you for everything you do in the salon to deliver the Great Clips brand!


  2. "Career with GreatClips"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    Current Employee - Manager in Beaver Dam, WI
    Current Employee - Manager in Beaver Dam, WI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Great Clips full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Fun exciting fast past environment. So much room to grow. You can make excellent money as well as being able to grow in your careers an fine tune your skills.

    Cons

    To stylist out of school the only con to great clips is that we just do haircuts. With that being said we are more advanced at haircuts because we do them more often and always have training on new trends. The ability to make more money is also with haircuts because they will be back sooner some every week. I truly love the power we have to make someone feel so great about themselves through a simple haircut.

    Advice to Management

    Wonderful supportive management team to help you shine and reach your goals. Knowing your heard and your opinions matter and that your valued,make it easier to come to work evvalues, and make our customers feel great! Because when we feel great so do they!

    Great Clips Response

    Jun 30, 2018

    Thank you for sharing your experience working in the salon. We appreciate everything that you & your team do to deliver the Great Clips brand!

  3. "Great work place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Salon Manager in Shawnee, KS
    Current Employee - Salon Manager in Shawnee, KS
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Great Clips full-time

    Pros

    Great team enviroment, consistent pay, paid holidays, vacation, growth opportunities, ability to move with your company, paid training, great tips, no chemicals, fast paced, clients provided.

    Cons

    I cant think of any, I Love this company!


  4. "Awesome place to work !"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at Great Clips part-time

    Pros

    I love working for this company , I feel that you have the opportunity to expand your learning skills in hair cutting ! The work hours are great and the managers work with you ! I'm glad I work for great clips !

    Cons

    I don't have any cons about working at great clips ! It's really been a great place to work !

    Great Clips Response

    Jul 20, 2018

    Thanks to you and your team for everything you do in the salon each day!


  5. "Hairstylist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    Current Employee - Stylist in Virginia Beach, VA
    Current Employee - Stylist in Virginia Beach, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Great Clips part-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Love working here because of the flexibility , we have an amazing crew and a great owner.

    Cons

    I have none
     I love working here

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing a great job

    Great Clips Response

    Jul 20, 2018

    We appreciate that you are a valued member of a GREAT team!


  6. "I love Great Clips!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in Newport News, VA
    Current Employee - Manager in Newport News, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Great Clips full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    I absolutely love working for Great Clips. Flexible hours Great clientele. And all of my girls were great to work with.

    Cons

    I have none live or here!

    Great Clips Response

    Jul 20, 2018

    We LOVE having you as a part of a great community of stylists and managers!


  7. "Great Clips is the BEST Franchise!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Franchisee in Virginia Beach, VA
    Current Employee - Franchisee in Virginia Beach, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Great Clips full-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    Great Clips has to be the best franchisor on the planet. I’ve been a franchisee for 20 years and some of the things I love are: 1) Great Clips Inc has committed to never owning company stores. They actually say their franchisees are their customers and they treat us that way! 2) Great Clips Inc takes care of training our managers and our staff. We pay a small annual fee for an amazing array of on-line and in person training opportunities, which is critically important to staff in a creative field who are always looking to keep up with trends and improve their skills.

    Cons

    The cost to open a salon is a huge investment.

    Great Clips Response

    Jul 20, 2018

    Thank you for your feedback and comments. We appreciate you sharing your experience with Great Clips!!!

  8. "Great Franchise, Great Brand"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Salon Manager in Lorton, VA
    Current Employee - Salon Manager in Lorton, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Great Clips full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Family-Owned and Oriented
    Tons of incentives
    Opportunity to be Promoted

    Cons

    Extra hours required during holidays

    Advice to Management

    Keep scheduling for the Customer, but never forget about your Staff!

    Great Clips Response

    Jul 20, 2018

    Thank you and your team for everything you do in the salon each day!


  9. "Store Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Store Manager in Yorktown, VA
    Current Employee - Store Manager in Yorktown, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Great Clips full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    Awesome team that is technically strong and has a hunger to learn. One big family!

    Cons

    Paid vacation limited to 1 week a year!

    Advice to Management

    Continue to be flexible with the schedule!

    Great Clips Response

    Jul 20, 2018

    We appreciate everything you do to deliver the Great Clips brand in the salon!


  10. "Salon Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Salon Manager in Mequon, WI
    Current Employee - Salon Manager in Mequon, WI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Great Clips full-time (More than 8 years)

    Pros

    Great Clips is a fast-paced, fun place to work. They offer continuing education, technical classes, great pay, immediate clientele and several bonus plans!

    Cons

    There really are no cons to working at Great Clips other than it's busy, busy, busy!

    Great Clips Response

    Jul 19, 2018

    We are very happy to have you as a valued member of a GREAT team!!!


Showing 1,467 of 1,472 reviews
Reset Filters