Great Clips Reviews | Glassdoor

Great Clips Reviews

Updated April 21, 2018
1,398 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-timePart-time

4.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
Great Clips CEO Steve Hockett
Steve Hockett
86 Ratings

1,398 Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
  • The money is good and its fast paced (in 102 reviews)

  • Very flexible schedule to balance my home life (in 80 reviews)

Cons
  • You have to have complete open availability and no set schedule (in 36 reviews)

  • Need to work some nights and weekends BUT that's also where I make the most (in 24 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. Featured Review

    Helpful (18)

    "Salon Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Hair Stylist Manager in Novi, MI
    Current Employee - Hair Stylist Manager in Novi, MI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Great Clips full-time (More than 8 years)

    Pros

    Marvelous Management
    Endless Education
    Comfortable Culture
    Supportive Staff
    Steady Customer flow

    Cons

    Keep your mind open to peak opportunities: Nights & weekends are steady!!

    Advice to Management

    Continue to create a culture that keeps talented stylists happy!

    Great Clips Response

    Jan 10, 2018

    Thank you for everything you do in the salon to deliver the Great Clips brand!


  2. "Great company!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager
    Current Employee - Manager
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Great Clips full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    High volume, fun, lots of opportunity for moving up in your career.

    Cons

    Could be too busy, or bad management in some locations

    Great Clips Response

    Apr 6, 2018

    We appreciate that you are a member of a GREAT team! Thank you for sharing your experience.

  3. "Love working for this company!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in Hendersonville, NC
    Current Employee - Manager in Hendersonville, NC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Great Clips full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    Busy location. Great clientele! I make in 2 months what it took me 6 months to make at full service!

    Cons

    Must be flexible for scheduling purposes and work most weekends. Very large salon which can be a hard situation for some.

    Great Clips Response

    Apr 22, 2018

    Thank you and your team for everything you do in the salon each day to deliver the Great Clips brand!


  4. "Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Store Manager in Yorktown, VA
    Current Employee - Store Manager in Yorktown, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Great Clips full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Great atmosphere with a great group of people who work for us

    Cons

    Distance that has to be traveled for on-going training

    Great Clips Response

    Apr 20, 2018

    We appreciate everything that you and your team do in the salon each day to deliver the Great Clips brand!


  5. "Great place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Hair Stylist in Yankton, SD
    Current Employee - Hair Stylist in Yankton, SD
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Great Clips full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Fun coworkers, amazing clients and busy salon!

    Cons

    We need more stylist at the Yankton location!

    Great Clips Response

    Apr 18, 2018

    Thank you for sharing your experience working in the salon!


  6. "Fun environent"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Yankton, SD
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Yankton, SD
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Great Clips full-time

    Pros

    Great team, awesome customers, flexible scheduling, competitive pay. Aleays hiring full and poart time stylist. Fantastic upper management team and owners. Absolutely love working for the Yankton South Dakota Great Clips. Great clips can be your career.

    Cons

    No cons, Great Clips is a great career choice.

    Great Clips Response

    Apr 18, 2018

    We appreciate that you are a valued member of a GREAT team!


  7. "General Manager with the company for over 9 years!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - General Manager in Pittsburgh, PA
    Current Employee - General Manager in Pittsburgh, PA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Great Clips full-time (More than 8 years)

    Pros

    Family atmosphere with great staff and great franchise! Constant ( busy) customer flow! Great Cooperate support! Great pay and incentives! Lots of ongoing training and room for advancement! I could go on and on about how Great this company is and how it changed my life forever!

    Cons

    I’m not really sure I know any cons. Finding Great Stylist that want to work can be a struggle for any team but we just push on with the Great ones we do have!

    Advice to Management

    Keep on being Awesome and always remember to appreciate the Great teams you have!

    Great Clips Response

    Apr 18, 2018

    We appreciate your feedback and comments. Thank you and your team for everything you do in the salon each day!

  8. "Awesome Place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - General Manager in Virginia Beach, VA
    Current Employee - General Manager in Virginia Beach, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Great Clips full-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    Team/family environment
    Great benefit package
    Guaranteed clientele means guaranteed paycheck

    Cons

    I cannot think of any cons.

    Great Clips Response

    Apr 17, 2018

    We appreciate everything that you do in the salon each day to deliver the Great Clips brand!


  9. "So much fun! The clientele is amazing, awesome coworkers too."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Hairstylist in Kent, WA
    Current Employee - Hairstylist in Kent, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Great Clips full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Good tips, great hours, they work with your schedule as best as they can. Very good place to grow as a person.

    Cons

    Hitting your numbers every week can sometimes be difficult. Can be slow sometimes. Lot of turnover, makes it hard on customers.

    Great Clips Response

    Apr 17, 2018

    Thank you for your feedback and comments. We appreciate that you are part of a GREAT team!


  10. "Stylist/Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Stylist/Manager in Newport News, VA
    Current Employee - Stylist/Manager in Newport News, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Great Clips full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    Guaranteed base wage. Flexible Schedules. Opportunities for bonuses.

    Cons

    I do not have any. Great company to work for.

    Great Clips Response

    Apr 18, 2018

    Thank you for everything you do in the salon each day to deliver the Great Clips brand!


Showing 1,398 of 1,403 reviews
Reset Filters