Great Clips Reviews

Updated May 12, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
4.0
77%
Recommend to a Friend
87%
Approve of CEO
Pros
  • "They will help you grow as a stylist through classes if your not very confident(in 192 reviews)

  • "Flexible hours, nice people, fast-paced, well paid(in 148 reviews)

Cons
  • "It's hard to find stylists in today's market(in 239 reviews)

  • "I really wish people would realize we are stylists who SPECIALIZE in haircuts(in 150 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review
    Helpful (32)

    "Working For Great Clips"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Stylist in Tampa, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Great Clips full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    They will help you grow as a stylist through classes if your not very confident. Lots of clientele that you don't have to advertise for or schedule for. Great. co-workers, really became more of a second family. Franchise allows you to help other locations so the opportunity for extra hours is avail. Great hourly wage, you keep tips, plus commission on product sales bonuses of performance.

    Cons

    Very busy... but you make lots of money, so it makes up for it

    Great Clips2019-07-10

    Great Clips Response

    July 11, 2019

    We appreciate that you are a valued member of a GREAT team!

  2. "Great"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Hairstylist in Tampa, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Great Clips full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great, benefits, salary, immediate client base

    Cons

    Lots of work hours , nothing else really to say . I wouldn’t consider this a con.

    Continue reading
    Great Clips2020-04-29

    Great Clips Response

    April 30, 2020

    We appreciate everything you did in the salon each day to deliver the Great Clips brand!

  3. "Decent company"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Hair Stylist in Fishers, IN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Great Clips full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    You have opportunities to earn more money based on how hard you work.

    Cons

    The expectations set across the board do not always work for each guest in your chair. They seem to be more quantity focused than quality.

    Great Clips2020-05-13

    Great Clips Response

    May 14, 2020

    Thank you for having been a member of a GREAT team of stylists and managers.

  4. "Great franchise"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Stylist in Shawnee, OK
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Great Clips full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Very well managed, franchise owned salon. The company is interested in helping you further your career, more than they are on generating income for themselves.

    Cons

    Extremely strict standards regarding stylist ability/capability to keep have clients in and out of the salon within a specified time frame.

    Great Clips2020-05-10

    Great Clips Response

    May 13, 2020

    We appreciate that you are a valued member of a GREAT community of stylists and managers!

  5. "Great Company"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Project Planner 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Great Clips full-time

    Pros

    Upper Management is Awesome, very caring.

    Cons

    Little room for professional growth

    Great Clips2020-05-05

    Great Clips Response

    May 6, 2020

    Thank you for having been a member of a GREAT team!

  6. "Great job"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Hairstylist in San Antonio, TX
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Great Clips part-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Steady clientele never slow. Great tips

    Cons

    No benefits, no life insurance, no 401K

    Continue reading
    Great Clips2020-04-23

    Great Clips Response

    April 24, 2020

    Since each salon is independently owned and operated, franchisees may use a number of different factors to determine stylist's total benefits. Thank you.

  7. "Great company"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Salon Manager in Coral Springs, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Great Clips full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Franchise operated so allows for more flexibility

    Cons

    Franchise operated So limited on ability

    Great Clips2020-04-18

    Great Clips Response

    April 19, 2020

    We appreciate everything that you and your team do in the salon each day! Thank you.

  8. "Good for Starting Out"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Hair Stylist in Pottstown, PA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Great Clips part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Lots of walk ins, good training, get comfortable with cutting many different people, develop confidence.

    Cons

    Low pay, lack of breaks, very tiring for little return

    Continue reading
    Great Clips2020-05-02

    Great Clips Response

    May 2, 2020

    Since each salon is independently owned and operated, franchisees may use a number of different factors to determine stylist's total compensation and benefits. Thank you.

  9. "Day to day satisfaction depends on your franchise owner"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Stylist 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Great Clips part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    My location stayed busy which = money. If it's not busy, it would not be worth as were paid more if we cut more.

    Cons

    Management is busssyyyyy. Always available to staff, but with how many responsibilities they have along with being stylists themselves, I can't believe they aren't paid more or given more benefits.

    Continue reading
    Great Clips2020-04-26

    Great Clips Response

    April 27, 2020

    We appreciate that you were a member of a GREAT team. Each salon is independently owned and operated by a franchisee who may use a number of different factors to determine compensation and benefits. Thank you.

  10. "Unprofessional"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Project Manager in Flagstaff, AZ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Great Clips full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Owner not Nice and general manager unprofessional

    Cons

    Expect you to meet you quota Ben during slow season.

    Continue reading
    Great Clips2020-05-12

    Great Clips Response

    May 14, 2020

    If you would like to share more, please email customerservice@greatclips.com with the salon location where you were employed and details. We will forward it to the franchisee as each salon is independently owned and operated. Thank you.

Found 2056 reviews