Great Clips Reviews | Glassdoor

Great Clips Reviews

Updated July 24, 2017
1,071 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-timePart-time

3.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
Great Clips CEO Rhoda Olsen
Rhoda Olsen
491 Ratings

1,071 Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
  • Its a fast paced work environment so you are always guaranteed to make some money (in 75 reviews)

  • Flexible schedule, 4 requested Saturdays off a year, more Saturdays off if haircut time is within standard (in 53 reviews)

Cons
  • No set schedule, home/work balance, long hours (in 26 reviews)

  • Weekends are long hours but worth the money you make (in 39 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. "The salon manager and I love my job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Salon Manager in Greensboro, NC
    Current Employee - Salon Manager in Greensboro, NC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Great Clips full-time (More than 8 years)

    Pros

    I have been doing hair for 10 years and with this company for almost 9 years.i have worked a all of our stores and I love working with this company

    Cons

    The only con is that It is hard to find people who really want to work fast pace. Some people just can't keep up with our fast Pace

    Advice to Management

    None

    Great Clips Response

    Jul 25, 2017

    Thank you for being a part of a GREAT community of stylists and managers!


  2. "Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in Hamburg, PA
    Current Employee - Manager in Hamburg, PA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Great Clips full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    Great company to work for! Very fast pace and upbeat salon. The salon is like my second family would want to work anywhere else

    Cons

    There really aren't any challenges the only con is are family is small would love to have more staff for our customer so they don't have to wait so long!

    Great Clips Response

    Jul 25, 2017

    Thank you for everything you do in the salon each day!

  3. "20+ years with the company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Salon Manager in Loveland, CO
    Current Employee - Salon Manager in Loveland, CO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Great Clips full-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    Consistency, paid training, benefits, hourly wage plus bonuses, advancement opportunities, locations across the US and Canada. Overall great company to work for and being part of a wonderful team

    Cons

    Turn over of staff, can be long days when short staffed.

    Advice to Management

    I am a long term manager and have managed several locations over the years in northern Colorado so I have seen many changes and lots of turn over. In my opinion a lot of turn over is because of management. As a manager we can not expect our staff to do anything we would not do ourselves. I have seen it time and time again that we lose good employees to bad management. Listen to your staff, get their input, they are there working hard everyday so them appreciation and be consistent.

    Great Clips Response

    Jul 25, 2017

    We appreciate everything that you and your team do to deliver the Great Clips brand. Thank you for your comments and feedback!


  4. "Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Management in Charlotte, NC
    Current Employee - Management in Charlotte, NC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Great Clips full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    I have done hair for over 8 years and this is by far my favorite job! Our owner is awesome and makes it an enjoyable workplace! You come to work, cut hair and drama free!

    Cons

    The only con I have is we are open until 9.

    Great Clips Response

    Jul 22, 2017

    We appreciate everything that you and your team do in the salon each day to deliver the Great Clips brand. Thank you!!!


  5. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Stylist in Greensboro, NC
    Former Employee - Stylist in Greensboro, NC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Great Clips full-time

    Pros

    There is always something to do, and it's a very steady business. I enjoyed all the people I have worked with and management is always very helpful and understanding. You will never worry about not having enough hours.

    Cons

    The only downside of working here is keeping a steady staff, some people get other opportunities or just don't want to work. This makes it hard on everyone else having to pick up the slack by working 6 day weeks.

    Great Clips Response

    Jul 21, 2017

    Thank you for having been a member of a GREAT team. We appreciate your feedback.


  6. "Salon Manager. It's pretty amazing working for this company!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Salon Manager in Rocky Mount, NC
    Current Employee - Salon Manager in Rocky Mount, NC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Great Clips full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    I love the fast pace and variety in hair cutting unlike some of our competitors. There is nothing more boring then giving the same hair cut 20+ times a day. The pay is fantastic and the tips are stupendous. I love my location and my team!

    Cons

    Always a need for great stylists. Sometimes too fast paced for stylist. A lot of pressure to reach certain goals and criteria!

    Advice to Management

    Always work with your teams as closely as possible!

    Great Clips Response

    Jul 19, 2017

    We appreciate that you are a member of a GREAT team! Thank you for sharing your feedback.


  7. "Great Career Paths"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Great Clips full-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    There are so many opportunities at Great Clips! I began my career working as a stylist in a salon and progressed through the ranks to make a very successful career for myself.

    Cons

    You have to be a hard worker and be available evenings and weekends. It's hard to say that's a "con" because as stylists, that's when we have the potential to make the most money.

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what your doing and stay focused on the customer!

    Great Clips Response

    Jul 21, 2017

    Thank you for everything you do to deliver the Great Clips brand each day!

  8. Helpful (1)

    "General Manager 14 salons"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - General Manager in Charlotte, NC
    Current Employee - General Manager in Charlotte, NC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Great Clips full-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    Have worked for them in some capacity for 20 years. Great pay, excellent benefits not provided by most other salons, wonderful people, great team work, flexible schedules and can grow with your life as it changes.

    Cons

    No cons, however we are hard working, dedicated professionals who take pride in our craft. It is not for everyone but if you utilize the tools, education and learn the system you can be very successful.

    Advice to Management

    Most extensive management training in the industry, many large companies do not have the time, tools or education to teach you management skills that you can use in the future at any job or industry.

    Great Clips Response

    Jul 11, 2017

    Thank you and your team for everything you do each day to deliver the Great Clips brand!


  9. "Area Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Great Clips full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Works around your schedule, opportunity for advancement, tip money

    Cons

    No set schedules, no 401K, or paid vacation

    Advice to Management

    Always opportunity and free training

    Great Clips Response

    Jul 13, 2017

    We appreciate everything you do to deliver the Great Clips brand. Thank you!


  10. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Stylist/Assistant Manager in Rio Grande, NJ
    Current Employee - Stylist/Assistant Manager in Rio Grande, NJ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Great Clips full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Many ways of pay. Hourly rate. Tips. Bonuses. Commission. Great team environment. Many Training opportunities. No clientele or book needed.

    Cons

    You do not have a set schedule. You do not work with chemicals, no color or perms. No waxing, no extensions or wigs.

    Great Clips Response

    Jul 14, 2017

    Thank you for everything you do in the salon each day!


Showing 1,071 of 1,076 reviews
Reset Filters