Great Clips Reviews | Glassdoor

Great Clips Reviews

Updated December 10, 2018
1,671 reviews

Filter

Filter


4.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
Great Clips CEO Steve Hockett
Steve Hockett
264 Ratings

Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
  • "It is a fast paced environment with a guaranteed customer base" (in 121 reviews)

  • "Flexible schedule decent tips short hours possible" (in 97 reviews)

Cons
  • "You have to have complete open availability and no set schedule" (in 44 reviews)

  • "Need to work some nights and weekends BUT that's also where I make the most" (in 27 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. Featured Review

    Helpful (10)

    "It's gonna be GREAT!!!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Salon Manager in Rosemont, IL
    Current Employee - Salon Manager in Rosemont, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Great Clips full-time (More than 8 years)

    Pros

    Immediately begin making money, endless opportunity to grow in so many different ways: as a stylist, to further your career as more than just a stylist, as a person. There are so many reasons to be inspired by this campany: by fellow stylists that help and care that u achieve your goals, by the corporate side of the family that never stops working to better our day to day operations whether we see it or not, or by the corporate support that is always available with a helping hand. There is no doubt there is a place for anyone and everyone at a Great Clips

    Cons

    Inconsistencies between different franchisees.

    Advice to Management

    It can be extremely hard to keep the dream in sight, day to day you can lose motivation to achieve the goals or personal dreams. But never forget why you chose to become a manager, strive to excellence, and never give up on yourself or salon in the end it will be worth it and your lasting team will be grateful for it.

    Great Clips Response

    Oct 3, 2018

    We appreciate everything that you and your team do in the salon each day!


  2. "Hair Stylist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Stylist in Columbus, OH
    Current Employee - Stylist in Columbus, OH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Great Clips full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Great pay and incentives, family atmosphere. our owner is local and cares about their employees. i came to great clips directly from school and they have a big training program. i am advancing and hope to get into management soon.

    Cons

    we need more stylists for all of the salons

    Advice to Management

    look to the schools for new grads. the local high schools have career centers that would might be a good place to get stylists.

    Great Clips Response

    Dec 8, 2018

    We appreciate everything you and your team do in the salon each day to deliver the Great Clips brand!

  3. "Great Clips is a family!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    Pros

    Family orientated, helps you achieve your goals inside and outside of work

    Cons

    I don’t have any cons about Great Clips

    Great Clips Response

    Dec 12, 2018

    Thank you for being a valued member of a great community of stylists and managers!!!


  4. "Stylist/Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Jacksonville, IL
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Jacksonville, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Great Clips full-time

    Pros

    Teamwork, great pay, customer loyalty, excellent support, free continuing education, opportunity to grow in the company.

    Cons

    I personally dont have any negative opinions of my job or the company. I love my job!

    Great Clips Response

    Dec 7, 2018

    We LOVE having you as a valued member of a GREAT team!!!


  5. "Stylist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - General Manager in Pataskala, OH
    Current Employee - General Manager in Pataskala, OH

    I have been working at Great Clips full-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    Immediate clientele, advancement opportunities, busy salons, benefits including 401K, insurance, paid vacation and holidays, and paid training.

    Cons

    Busiest shifts are in the evenings and on the weekends!

    Great Clips Response

    Dec 4, 2018

    Thank you for everything that you and your teams do in the salons each day!!!


  6. "During my short period of time I’ve gone from associate to assistant manager. Growth with this business is exceptional"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Store Manager in Baltimore, MD
    Current Employee - Assistant Store Manager in Baltimore, MD
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Great Clips full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Quick service
    Awesome prices
    Quality service
    Cuts for men women and children

    Cons

    I haven’t had any cons with great clips!

    Advice to Management

    Stay positive

    Great Clips Response

    Dec 4, 2018

    We appreciate you sharing your experience working in the salon each day! Thank you for your feedback and comments.


  7. "Leader"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    •low wait times
    •lower prices
    •kid friendly
    •coupons discounts
    •Delivering the brand

    Cons

    I do not have any cons

    Advice to Management

    Team building one on one meetings with your team always communicating feedback

    Great Clips Response

    Nov 29, 2018

    We appreciate everything you do in the salon each day to deliver the Great Clips brand!

  8. "Overall Pleasant Job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Stylist in Decatur, IL
    Former Employee - Stylist in Decatur, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Great Clips full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Fast paced, fun, great coworkers

    Cons

    None . . . .

    Advice to Management

    None

    Great Clips Response

    Nov 27, 2018

    Thank you for having been a valued member of a great community of stylists and managers.


  9. "McDonalds of Hair"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Stylist in Phoenix, AZ
    Former Employee - Stylist in Phoenix, AZ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Great Clips full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Nice Employees, Hourly Wages, SOME benefits

    Cons

    Work WAY harder than at a regular salon, but get paid minimum for it, most underpay their employees, keep employee morale down so they won't leave for a competitor, allowed bad treatment from both management and sometimes customers

    Advice to Management

    Treat your employees with the respect and decency they deserve, and stand up for them.

    Great Clips Response

    Dec 11, 2018

    Since each salon is independently owned and operated, the best person to address your comments would be the franchisee. If you would like to share more, please email Jeanne@greatclips.com with the... More


  10. "Former Hair Stylist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Licensed Cosmetologist in Georgetown, DE
    Former Employee - Licensed Cosmetologist in Georgetown, DE
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Great Clips (More than a year)

    Pros

    Instant Clientele, Pay, Fair Prices

    Cons

    No Benefits, Never Knowing What Attitude the Manager would have from day to day,

    Advice to Management

    Management needs to realize that every employee should be treated equal. Management should listen to the concerns of the employees and keep such details between the employee and manager. Management should be able to be trusted and should NOT try to play employee against employee. Management is to suppose to keep an open mind for all employees and offer solutions. Not create them.

    Great Clips Response

    Dec 8, 2018

    We are sorry to see your frustrations with the management in the salon. Because each location is independently owned and operated, the best person to address your feedback would be the franchisee. If... More