Great Clips Reviews | Glassdoor

Great Clips Reviews

Updated September 21, 2017
1,145 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-timePart-time

4.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
Great Clips CEO Rhoda Olsen
Rhoda Olsen
538 Ratings

1,145 Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
  • Fast paced, team environment, friendly people (in 78 reviews)

  • Very flexible schedule to balance my home life (in 61 reviews)

Cons
  • No set schedule, home/work balance, long hours (in 28 reviews)

  • Weekends are long hours but worth the money you make (in 43 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. Featured Review

    Helpful (10)

    "Stylist/ Recruiting Specalist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Stylist/Recruiter in Tampa, FL
    Current Employee - Stylist/Recruiter in Tampa, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Great Clips full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    Friendly staff. Great locations provides consistent customer flow. Flexable scheduling and advancement opportunities. Bonus and incentives.

    Cons

    Cannot make appointments...but online check in and walk in welcome.

    Advice to Management

    I've been with Great Clips for over 6 years. I appreciate the standards and goals this company has set for us. This has not only helps us to grow the business and clientele but as stylists and individuals. I appreciate the leaders who help build us up with advice, guidance and training along with professionalism and patience. This company has made me successful in achieving my professional growth and I just want to say thank you for making me GREAT too.

    Great Clips Response

    Aug 29, 2017

    Thank YOU for everything you do to help deliver the Great Clips brand in the salons!


  2. "Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in Council Bluffs, IA
    Current Employee - Manager in Council Bluffs, IA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Great Clips full-time

    Pros

    Great job and great company

    Cons

    None at my shop we have a great time

    Great Clips Response

    Sep 21, 2017

    Thanks to you and your team for everything you do in the salon each day!

  3. "11 years with an amazing company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Hair Stylist in Knoxville, TN
    Current Employee - Hair Stylist in Knoxville, TN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Great Clips full-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    It's not just a company it's a family

    always opportunities for bonuses and advancement

    Flexible scheduling

    Paid training

    Immediate clientele

    Positive work environment

    Tons of convienent locations to work at

    Company parties and picnics

    Contests for prizes company and salon wide

    Cons

    There are none that's why I've stayed for 11 years

    Advice to Management

    Keep being you and rocking it!

    Great Clips Response

    Sep 20, 2017

    Thank YOU for everything you have done to deliver the Great Clips brand for 11 years!


  4. "Review from current manager!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Salon Manager in Maryville, TN
    Current Employee - Salon Manager in Maryville, TN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Great Clips full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Fast Paced, promotion opportunities, no clientele needed, amazing tips, great base wage+commissions, paid holidays, medical/dental/vision, positive atmosphere, bi annually raises

    Cons

    I truly do not have any cons about working for this company! It has been nothing but fantastic since I've started with the company over three years ago!

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the great work!

    Great Clips Response

    Sep 20, 2017

    We appreciate that you are a member of a GREAT team! Thank you for sharing your feedback and comments.


  5. "Great, is what YOU make it!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Hair Stylist in Austin, TX
    Former Employee - Hair Stylist in Austin, TX

    I worked at Great Clips full-time (More than 8 years)

    Pros

    The tips you can keep, worked with your schedule, room for advancement, professional atmosphere, well structured corporation, and you can be yourself!

    Cons

    Working on weekends, can be strict but it helps to keep a maintained structure and professionalism, and recommending at least one product a day (difficult, if you're not a "salesperson").

    Advice to Management

    Depending on the management team, most likely in my experience, I've had awesome managers. Keep up the good work! Stay connected with your team to acknowledge their hard work and keep up the communication between the team to let them know you care.

    Great Clips Response

    Sep 19, 2017

    We appreciate your feedback and comments. Thank you for having been a member of a great community of stylists and managers.


  6. "good place to start"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Apprentice in Alpharetta, GA
    Former Employee - Apprentice in Alpharetta, GA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Great Clips part-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    fast paced but fun, good tips

    Cons

    some difficult customers/coworkers, on feet all day, very fast paced

    Advice to Management

    stop hiring people who are unprofessional/don't know what they are doing

    Great Clips Response

    Sep 19, 2017

    Each salon is independently owned and operated by a franchisee who hires their staff. We appreciate your feedback.


  7. "Stylist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Hair Stylist in Sacramento, CA
    Former Employee - Hair Stylist in Sacramento, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Great Clips full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Flexible schedule, immediate clientele, benefits, loved the people I worked with including the owners. Loved the training and parties that were thrown for our franchise.

    Cons

    it was frustrating when people would call in, it would leave us short staffed.

    Advice to Management

    Continue to value your employees.

    Great Clips Response

    Sep 19, 2017

    We appreciate that you were a member of a GREAT team! Thank you.

  8. "Good place to make money and have structure"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Hair Stylist in Detroit, MI
    Current Employee - Hair Stylist in Detroit, MI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Great Clips full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    I was tired of working in full service, the cattiness, fighting for new clients. It was such a releif working at Great Clips. I always am making money and we rotate clients so it made my life a lot easier. Plus I know I will always go home with money in my pocket.

    Cons

    No Color.
    Open 7 days a week

    Advice to Management

    Make sure other stylists are not hiding in the back to avoid clients or cuts they don't want to do. Make sure they are trained/

    Great Clips Response

    Sep 16, 2017

    Thank you for being a member of a GREAT community of stylists and managers!


  9. "Great Clips"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Great Clips full-time

    Pros

    Good pay, tips, product commission, hourly productivity commission, PTO, flexible schedule

    Cons

    Very fast paced, minimum requirements on retail sales, haircut times, and cuts per hour

    Great Clips Response

    Sep 19, 2017

    Thank you for everything you do in the salon to deliver the Great Clips brand!


  10. "Busy salon / great tips"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Hair Stylist in Modesto, CA
    Current Employee - Hair Stylist in Modesto, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Great Clips full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Busy salon. No clientele needed. Friendly co-workers. Local owner who stops by and helps sometimes. He even sweeps.

    Cons

    Can't think of any cons right now.

    Advice to Management

    Keep on giving us feedback and helping us grow. Love the local training.

    Great Clips Response

    Sep 15, 2017

    Thank you for everything you do to deliver the Great Clips brand in the salon!


Showing 1,145 of 1,150 reviews
Reset Filters