Great Clips Reviews | Glassdoor

Find your next job here

Great Clips Reviews

Updated January 19, 2018
1,283 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-timePart-time

4.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
Great Clips CEO Steve Hockett
Steve Hockett
13 Ratings

1,283 Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
  • Fast paced-environment with great energy and ample learning opportunities (in 93 reviews)

  • Very flexible schedule to balance my home life (in 73 reviews)

Cons
  • No set schedule so it can be hard to schedule stuff, but they do allow you to request time off (in 33 reviews)

  • Need to work some nights and weekends BUT that's also where I make the most (in 23 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. Featured Review

    Helpful (2)

    "Salon Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Hair Stylist Manager in Novi, MI
    Current Employee - Hair Stylist Manager in Novi, MI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Great Clips full-time (More than 8 years)

    Pros

    Marvelous Management
    Endless Education
    Comfortable Culture
    Supportive Staff
    Steady Customer flow

    Cons

    Keep your mind open to peak opportunities: Nights & weekends are steady!!

    Advice to Management

    Continue to create a culture that keeps talented stylists happy!

    Great Clips Response

    Jan 10, 2018

    Thank you for everything you do in the salon to deliver the Great Clips brand!


  2. "Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in Kissimmee, FL
    Current Employee - Manager in Kissimmee, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Great Clips full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    I love that you earn a guaranteed hourly wage. You don't need your own clientele, the clients are always walking through the door. They offer continuing education, and they train you in their way of cutting hair, quickly and efficiently. They're really good about promoting from within and the schedules are flexible.

    Cons

    Sometimes the coupons attract some annoying customers, but that's true of any service industry job, you're always going to have to deal with difficult people.

    Advice to Management

    Offer health benefits.

    Great Clips Response

    Jan 20, 2018

    Thank you for everything you and your team do in the salon each day to deliver the Great Clips brand. Because each salon is independently owned and operated, franchisees may use a number of different... More

  3. "Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Salon Manager in Cincinnati, OH
    Current Employee - Salon Manager in Cincinnati, OH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Great Clips full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    I get to make my own schedule with in reason
    I make great money
    I have a amazing staff
    On going education to keep up on trends
    Owners that appreciate me

    Cons

    You are expected to do nights and weekends witch can be difficult sometimes if you have small children and need to rely on sitters and daycares

    Great Clips Response

    Jan 19, 2018

    Thank you for being a part of a great community of stylists and managers!


  4. "Nice owner"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Great Clips full-time

    Pros

    Nice coworkers, manager and owner. Great place to start a career.

    Cons

    Open a lot of hours and rotating schedule

    Great Clips Response

    Jan 19, 2018

    We appreciate everything you do in the salon each day! Thank you for your feedback.


  5. "Its gonna be Great!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Stylist/Manager in Evans, GA
    Current Employee - Stylist/Manager in Evans, GA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Great Clips full-time (More than 8 years)

    Pros

    I can proudly say I am a Great Clips lifer! I love the fast paced atmosphere! Our salon is very team oriented and my co-workers are more like family. Great Clips provides flexible work schedules, incentives to make more $$$ and career advancements. I love the continuing help and support from fellow managers at neighboring Great Clips salons as well as my franchisees.

    Cons

    None that I can think of.

    Great Clips Response

    Jan 18, 2018

    Thank you for your comments. We are happy to have you as a member of a great community of stylists and managers!


  6. "Hairstylist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Hair Dresser/Stylist/Barber in Exton, PA
    Current Employee - Hair Dresser/Stylist/Barber in Exton, PA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Great Clips part-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    Fast paced environment, like to work for public, good customer service skills, data entry, retail

    Cons

    Get good quality haircuts, good attitude, optimistic, cheerful, boldness,

    Advice to Management

    Very dependable,hard worker, always on time, never absent. Team player,

    Great Clips Response

    Jan 18, 2018

    Thank you for your feedback. We appreciate that you are a part of a great team.


  7. Helpful (2)

    "Wonderful place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - General Manager in Canton, MI
    Current Employee - General Manager in Canton, MI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    Wonderful owner, great team, quick paced, busy! Competitive pay. Works well with flexible people. If your looking for a long term place to work, this is it! Flexible hours since the salon is open 7 days a week!

    Cons

    There really is no cons to this location. Everyone works really well together and the management does what they can to make each individual stylist happy.

    Great Clips Response

    Jan 10, 2018

    We appreciate everything that you and your team do in the salon each day! Thank you.

  8. "Best job experience I've ever had! I've grown in so many ways!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Hair Stylist/Assistant Manager in Manchester, PA
    Current Employee - Hair Stylist/Assistant Manager in Manchester, PA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Great Clips full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    I love coming to work everyday. I love that I am able to grow and feel so accepted. I love my co workers and franchisee like my own family...great clips actually is great in so many ways beyond a haircut!

    Cons

    Can't think of any cons at all. I love this job and the people I work around each and every day!

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you're doing!

    Great Clips Response

    Jan 16, 2018

    Thank YOU for everything you do in the salon to deliver the Great Clips brand! We appreciate your feedback and comments.


  9. "Fast pace, great for beginning your career."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee

    Pros

    Fast Pace makes the day go by quick. Fabulous training that will last.

    Cons

    Scheduling needs to be a little bit more consistent.More attention to balance work , home life.

    Advice to Management

    Management could use a bit more flexibility.

    Great Clips Response

    Jan 15, 2018

    We appreciate that you were a part of a great team! Thank you for sharing your experience.


  10. "Make $$$$$"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in Minneapolis, MN
    Current Employee - Manager in Minneapolis, MN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Great Clips full-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    Always busy, continued education, flexible scheduling

    Cons

    Being short staffed has been a problem for awhile

    Advice to Management

    Stay happy and keep being motivated!

    Great Clips Response

    Jan 14, 2018

    We appreciate everything that you and your team do in the salon to deliver the Great Clips brand each day! Thank you.


Showing 1,283 of 1,288 reviews
Reset Filters