H&R Block Reviews | Glassdoor

H&R Block Reviews

Updated Jun 26, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 3058 reviews

3.5
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
67%
Recommend to a Friend
72%
Approve of CEO
H&R Block CEO Jeffrey J. Jones II
Jeffrey J. Jones II
220 Ratings
Pros
  • "Flexible Hours good to set priorities(in 221 reviews)

  • "The filing of taxes was very fulfilling(in 217 reviews)

Cons
  • "hours were not flexible during tax season(in 253 reviews)

  • "Not enough Csps and have to deal with unhappy customers for tax pros(in 116 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review
    Helpful (32)

    "Great place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at H&R Block full-time

    Pros

    I have found the company to be awesome and provide a ton of opportunity. We care deeply for clients and our new CEO will navigate us to the future well.

    Cons

    We need to make sure that innovation remains a focus area. The industry is changing and we continue to be ahead, but have to keep our foot on the gas!

    Advice to Management

    Work closely with your teams to make sure you receive actionable feedback and make changes to process as needed.

    H&R Block2018-08-08
  2. "Seasonal Job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Boca Raton, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at H&R Block full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Corporate America. Excellent training Most jobs are seasonal. Nov-April

    Cons

    Most jobs are seasonal. Nov-April

    H&R Block2019-05-13
  3. "I enjoy working at H&R Block and helping others."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Tax Analyst in Mesa, AZ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at H&R Block part-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    The company is very flexible with my schedule.

    Cons

    It is frustrating working with their scheduling and other software annually.

    Advice to Management

    Make yourself more available to the night and weekend employees.

    H&R Block2019-06-26
  4. "Loved it"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Tax Associate in Columbus, GA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at H&R Block part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Co-workers become family and help each other out.

    Cons

    Classes have to be taken during the off season.

    Advice to Management

    Nothing

    H&R Block2019-06-25
  5. "Account manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Manager 
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at H&R Block full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great company, good to work from home

    Cons

    Too many changes, and unclear about them

    H&R Block2019-06-24
  6. "Good company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Client Service Representative 

    I have been working at H&R Block part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Co workers, hours, extra income and atmosphere

    Cons

    No benefits for seasonal, change in tax laws

    H&R Block2019-06-22
  7. "First Year Tax Pro"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - FIRST YEAR TAX PROFESSIONAL in Denver, CO
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at H&R Block full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good training. Also had a great mentor to work with. Immediate managers and fellow tax pros were extremely helpful and willing to teach. Loved assisting and teaching customers the ins and outs of taxes.

    Cons

    No benefits for anyone outside of the corporate level of the company. Pay is minimum wage. Could have made more at a fast food restaurant. Very small pay for the amount of skill and knowledge that is required to perform the job.

    Advice to Management

    If you would pay better and give your seasonal employees some benefits, your retention of First Year Tax Pros would greatly improve.

    H&R Block2019-06-20
  8. "good place to stay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Tax Associate 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at H&R Block full-time

    Pros

    good management and good company culture

    Cons

    salary is too low for interns

    H&R Block2019-06-20
  9. "Good temp work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Employee - Tax Research Specialist in Santa Ana, CA

    I worked at H&R Block part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - Training to research on tax law - Friendly and helpful staff and leads - Emphasis on quality customer service over quantity - Free food on weekends - May lead to other opportunity based on your background - Decent hourly wages for entry-level work - Meet at least 20 hours of work

    Cons

    - Temp work, will last until tax season is over - Reliance on your training as the leads may not be available at the moment to help you - No benefits - Some tax law is too difficult to understand

    Advice to Management

    N/A

    H&R Block2019-06-20
  10. "Tax education provided"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Tax Advisor in La Mesa, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at H&R Block full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Meeting new clients and helping with their individual financial needs.

    Cons

    The pay, some slow time, a lot of other tax preparers lie about their knowledge and expertise.

    Advice to Management

    This is salary and well over 40 hours a week.

    H&R Block2019-06-26
Found 3058 reviews