HealthPartners Reviews | Glassdoor

HealthPartners Reviews

Updated July 11, 2018
232 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-timePart-time

3.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
(no image)
Andrea Walsh
18 Ratings

232 Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
Cons
  • "Work life balance is good for hourly employees" (in 7 reviews)

  • "Upper management will only look out for themselves and those they favor" (in 9 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. "Clinic Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at HealthPartners full-time

    Pros

    Great benefits. Great staff and management.

    Cons

    High turnover rate for some areas.

    HealthPartners Response

    Jun 4, 2018 – Recruitment Manager

    We are happy to hear you're enjoying working for us; thanks for the review!


  2. "Flexible"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at HealthPartners full-time

    Pros

    Work-life balance is honored. Good benefits.

    Cons

    Horrible maternity leave policy. Mediocre leadership. No career advancement

    Advice to Management

    Assess maternity leave to be more current with today’s best practice

    HealthPartners Response

    Jul 9, 2018 – Recruitment Manager

    This feedback is very helpful to us. Thank you for submitting it.

  3. Helpful (1)

    "Business Analyst"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Business Analyst in Minneapolis, MN
    Current Employee - Business Analyst in Minneapolis, MN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at HealthPartners full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    Amazing benefits, thoughtful considerations for ergonomics and personal needs.

    Cons

    There is no clear path for advancement. Only management and supervisor levels are sent to development training.

    Advice to Management

    Provide ways to develop for those who are not in management.

    HealthPartners Response

    Jul 9, 2018 – Recruitment Manager

    Thank you for providing us with this great feedback!


  4. Helpful (2)

    "Transitioning culture is a hit or miss"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer in Bloomington, MN
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer in Bloomington, MN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at HealthPartners full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Some managers are incredibly supportive of the effort to move software practices into the 21st century.

    If your manager is one such, you have a lot of opportunity to help define the technology stack of your upcoming project.

    In general, everyone up to C-level management is supportive of innovation and modernization.

    Top-notch benefits.

    Cons

    There are a nontrivial number of engineers (and managers) who want to continue building software using the same tech stack and engineering process that they were using in 2007. Their reactions range from dismissive to condescending when confronted about modernization. This ranges from using modern technologies like spring-boot to using modern development practices like code reviews and version control.

    Advice to Management

    Modern development practices cannot be optional anymore. Everyone needs to get every single one of their direct reports in line.

    Identify who the movers and the shakers are and make sure they are kept happy.

    HealthPartners Response

    Jun 25, 2018 – Recruitment Manager

    Thank you for sharing your experience. We are always striving to improve, so we genuinely appreciate your feedback.


  5. "ERT"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at HealthPartners full-time

    Pros

    Great team environment, everyone is kind and friendly

    Cons

    Parking is terrible, especially if you get called in later in your shift

    HealthPartners Response

    Jun 11, 2018 – Recruitment Manager

    We are happy to hear you enjoyed your time at HealthPartners!


  6. "Thriving company, great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Data Analyst/Project Coordinator in Bloomington, MN
    Former Employee - Data Analyst/Project Coordinator in Bloomington, MN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at HealthPartners full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    The support received from upper management, the space I was given to work independently, tools available for you to do your work, pay, benefits are great!

    Cons

    lack of professionalism found throughout the department employees, HR needs to be stricter when it comes to employees using work hours to take care of personal business, many employees waste valuable work hours, too much gossip and "not my job" attitude, rules did not apply to everyone across the board

    Advice to Management

    Re-evaluate work ethics within your departments, rules should apply to everyone, no matter how long they have been with the company.

    HealthPartners Response

    Jun 11, 2018 – Recruitment Manager

    This feedback is very helpful to us. Thank you for submitting it.


  7. "Lab Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Lab Assistant
    Current Employee - Lab Assistant
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at HealthPartners part-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Love the people I work with

    Cons

    Always under staffed and not appreciated.

    HealthPartners Response

    May 14, 2018 – Recruitment Manager

    Your feedback is very helpful. Thank you for taking the time to write a review.

  8. Helpful (2)

    "Take your efforts elsewhere. Clinic Assistant at the Specialty Clinic"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at HealthPartners full-time

    Pros

    I didnt think there was any.

    Cons

    Extremely poor training and management. I was hired and expected to know and work solo on the job in less than 1 week. Poor leadership and work ethics from peers and management. Management is extremely unprofessional, lots favoritism and gossip. Felt like I was working at an all girls high school.

    I would recommend an individual who has great work ethics and strong skills take that elsewhere. Until the management is tidy up, working at health partners will only be a sinkhole.

    Advice to Management

    Invest in better management. I've worked at previous places where the company will take time to teach individuals, help them grow so they can succeed. Currently the management at healthpartners specialty clinic is so poor, i dont understand how it's still operating.

    HealthPartners Response

    May 21, 2018 – Recruitment Manager

    We are sorry to hear of your negative experience. We consider all feedback and continue to find ways to improve.


  9. Helpful (1)

    "Human Resources"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at HealthPartners full-time

    Pros

    Great benefits, PTO, many company outings, convenient.

    Cons

    Lack of leadership and training! This was a big one for me. For this to be a non-profit healthcare company, I would have expected more from them. The training was dry and lacked so many essential pieces to make this role possible without losing my mind. I was dying inside, I hated every...moment... of this position. I would not recommend it to anyone even if you have HR experience unless the company invested in training new comers on their systems rather trying to fill in another seat to answer phones. It's a desperate move.

    Advice to Management

    Learn from your competitors.

    HealthPartners Response

    May 21, 2018 – Recruitment Manager

    We are sorry to hear this was your experience. We are always striving to improve, so we genuinely appreciate your feedback.


  10. "busy efficient clincs"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Physician Assistant in Bloomington, MN
    Current Employee - Physician Assistant in Bloomington, MN
    Recommends

    I have been working at HealthPartners part-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Well organized health care system. Appropriate resources to maintain adequate staffing.

    Cons

    Not every clinic has same work flow.

    Advice to Management

    Keep it up

    HealthPartners Response

    Mar 26, 2018 – Recruitment Manager

    Thanks for the great input. We are glad you enjoy working here!


Showing 232 of 247 reviews
Reset Filters