HealthPartners Reviews | Glassdoor

Find your next job here

HealthPartners Reviews

Updated January 18, 2018
214 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-timePart-time

3.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
(no image)
Andrea Walsh
7 Ratings

214 Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
Cons
  • Work life balance is good for hourly employees (in 7 reviews)

  • No communication between upper management and middle management (in 8 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. "Overall great place to work."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at HealthPartners full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    I worked in multiple areas & locations due to various advancements & education, and I can honestly say I really liked them all. Rarely did I ever have a day that I just didn't want to go to work, & if I did, it wasn't because of the people I worked with. When a company treats their employees well, they treat each other well.

    Cons

    I can honestly say there weren't any major cons when I worked here. I was let go due to a workforce reduction, & I could tell that my boss really didn't want to have to do it. As much as being laid off sucked for me, my boss definitely made sure it wasn't a personal decision, & she didn't enjoy having to do it.

    HealthPartners Response

    Jan 8, 2018 – Recruitment Manager

    Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We appreciate the feedback!


  2. "Member Services"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at HealthPartners full-time

    Pros

    They truly care about the Member and the training they do shows that. They also work with you to advance your career throughout the company

    Cons

    The pay isn’t equal to what other similar organizations offer

    HealthPartners Response

    Jan 2, 2018 – Recruitment Manager

    Thank you for sharing your experience!

  3. "Happy Managers don't equal Happy Staff"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manager in Minneapolis, MN
    Former Employee - Manager in Minneapolis, MN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at HealthPartners full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Health benefits are good
    401k contribution is average
    Flexible work schedule/remote work options
    HR supports Leaders
    Leaders/Managers receive an annual bonus up to 15% of their salary

    Cons

    Leadership was so busy that they didn't have time to complete the tasks to ensure their staff are paid adequately and acknowledged. Their response was always, "I'll check on that!" The culture at HealthPartners is great at first in that it's very collaborative and forgiving. However, Managers/Directors need to understand that their happiness will not simply trickle down to their staff, unless they are paid well and respected.
    You will notice that Directors and above are taking week long vacations every other month. Middle management almost never have time for a vacation that long. That speaks volumes as to how much Directors and above care about the workloads of their staff. I took 1 week long vacation during my tenure of 5 years at HealthPartners.

    Advice to Management

    Start living and breathing the culture that HealthPartners values and show that you care about your direct staff and their well-being. Your Directors and above need to take the time to ensure their staff have what they need to be successful; this includes decent pay, pay raises when the job duties grow, and a balanced workload.

    HealthPartners Response

    Jan 8, 2018 – Recruitment Manager

    Thank you for sharing your experience. We are always striving to improve, so we genuinely appreciate your feedback.


  4. "Sonographer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Minneapolis, MN
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Minneapolis, MN

    I worked at HealthPartners full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    Good benefits, diverse patient base

    Cons

    Do not cover the cost of CME

    HealthPartners Response

    Jan 2, 2018 – Recruitment Manager

    We appreciate you taking the time to write a review!


  5. "Started off nice...."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at HealthPartners full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Benefits are good.
    My coworkers are great.
    Good starter company to get your foot in the door.

    However, no real work/life balance. Not flexible.

    Cons

    Management is not as transparent as they say they are. They don’t like to put anything in writing (always ask that they provide you documentations otherwise it’ll be hearsay) and will sugarcoat a lot of what they say. Upper management will only look out for themselves and those they favor. They also are sneaky about a lot of things. If they want a certain someone to get a certain position, they will bend some rules to ensure that their person gets it. If they find you no longer beneficial to them, they will find ways to fire you.

    HealthPartners pride on giving excellent patient care, inclusion, and being honest - however I’ve seen the worse come from management themselves. A little empathy for others will go a long way as we are the face of HealthPartners.

    The lack of integrity from the higher-ups creates a low morale in the work setting. Sounds kind of hypocritical considering integrity is the basis of HealthPartners mission. I guess it’s the way of corporate life eh?

    Advice to Management

    Maybe get off your high horse once in awhile and experience what it’s really like working on the front end. Be real and get to know your team members. Be what you preach.


  6. Helpful (1)

    "Healthy Culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Richfield, MN
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Richfield, MN
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at HealthPartners full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    Work-life balance is amazing at this company. Best leadership, community oriented.

    Cons

    Leadership might allow some of the old timers bully others - people who have been at the company a long time (from the Fire in the Bones Era).

    Advice to Management

    Put everyone on the same playing field - new and old. Everyone has a perspective there is no right and wrong or we have always done it this way. Challenge everyone to think a collaborative way.

    HealthPartners Response

    Nov 30, 2017 – Recruitment Manager

    Thank you for your input and putting in a review on Glassdoor; we appreciate it!


  7. "Government Programs Representative"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Government Programs Representative in Bloomington, MN
    Current Employee - Government Programs Representative in Bloomington, MN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at HealthPartners full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    This position allows you to learn a great deal about government program entities - CMS, DHS as well as the exchange plans if you have an interest in learning about the healthcare industry particularly the government funded side of healthcare.

    Cons

    High turn around in staff, which puts stress on current staff and availability for PTO.

    Advice to Management

    I recommend finding an effective way to maintain and retain employees more effectively.

    HealthPartners Response

    Nov 27, 2017 – Recruitment Manager

    Thank you for the very valuable feedback!

  8. "Great company culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at HealthPartners full-time

    Pros

    - Flexible
    - Great benefits
    - Supportive culture

    Cons

    - Low pay and low annual increases
    - Minimal growth opportunities

    Advice to Management

    Establish more growth opportunities

    HealthPartners Response

    Nov 20, 2017 – Recruitment Manager

    Thank you for the feedback, it's really helpful!


  9. Helpful (1)

    "Non-Profit Type Culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Contract Writer in Bloomington, MN
    Current Employee - Contract Writer in Bloomington, MN
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at HealthPartners full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    1. "Happy Days" benefit is a great perk available March-September allowing employees to work an extra hour for each day of the pay period and take the 10th day of the pay period off without having to utilize PTO.
    2. Great people throughout the organization who are thoughtful and understanding regarding work/life balance.
    3. Great benefits (low cost for health insurance, great 401k match)

    Cons

    1. "Get it Done" mentality: there is rarely an established protocol, when trying to learn a new process I was met often with "I just know" rather than a written or well articulated process.
    2. Laid back (sometimes to the point of procrastination) mentality.
    3. Bend over backwards for the client, never just saying "no".
    4. Over half the year I am without constant work, it makes for a long, purposeless workday.

    Advice to Management

    Review the sustainability of employees in each department, look at where positions can be condensed, how knowledge can be shared and passed on rather than focusing on tribal knowledge ("I just know").

    HealthPartners Response

    Dec 4, 2017 – Recruitment Manager

    Thank you for sharing your experience. We are always striving to improve, so we genuinely appreciate your feedback.


  10. Helpful (1)

    "IT Leadership Is a Wrecking Ball"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I worked at HealthPartners full-time

    Pros

    Culture, family/work life balance, wonderful CEO, and company mission

    Cons

    The organization is naturally experiencing some growing pains; however, trouble is being enhanced for the organization with the current CTO in place. He creates unnecessary drama and empowers consultants to follow his lead of being abrasive to full-time employees. Additionally, the CTO is scatterbrained and does not remember what he has said to most people from one minute to the next. Leadership is not a strong point for him. The organization can benefit from change, but the current IT Leadership team is toxic and the departmenthas not successfully completed that can be considered if both value and quality. There are many flaws in the work that has been delivered thus far.

    Advice to Management

    Investigate what is happening to the organization under the direction of the CTO.

    HealthPartners Response

    Dec 4, 2017 – Recruitment Manager

    Thank you for taking the time to let us know your thoughts.


Showing 214 of 227 reviews
Reset Filters