Homes.com Reviews | Glassdoor

Homes.com Reviews

Updated October 4, 2017
85 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-timePart-time

3.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
(no image)
David Mele
32 Ratings

85 Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
  • com for many years now and enjoy their focus on providing a challenging work environment while maintaining time for you to enjoy your personal life (in 12 reviews)

  • Maybe good work life balance bc it's only 35 hrs a week (in 3 reviews)

Cons
  • No one cares about actually getting things done (in 4 reviews)

  • The base salary is a little low, but if you work hard the commission structure makes up for it (in 3 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. "Account Executive"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Homes.com full-time

    Pros

    Amazing people
    Supportive management
    Insane sales incentives

    Cons

    Wouldn't change a thing! Great place to work!

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you're doing. The investment you make in your people creates a high level of moral and an enjoyable work environment!

    Homes.com Response

    Oct 9, 2017 – Senior Vice President, Marketing and Sales

    Thanks for taking the time to provide this feedback. We're thrilled that you're so satisfied with your career here at Homes. Please know that we want to hear about the areas of opportunity as well... More


  2. "Great Sales Job!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Executive in San Diego, CA
    Current Employee - Account Executive in San Diego, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Homes.com full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    - Uncapped commission with great commission structure!!!
    - Fun, upbeat work environment with great coworkers
    - Management is very supportive and really has your back and there's no micromanaging
    - Spiffs are great! Gift cards, free lunches, time off, vacation giveaways, etc.
    - Good hours, you're off every day by 3:30
    - Good benefits and 401K matching after a year

    Cons

    The base salary is a little low, but if you work hard the commission structure makes up for it. Like any sales job, if you're not extremely driven, and are just looking to show up and get paid, this isn't the job for you.

    Advice to Management

    None, keep up the great work!

    Homes.com Response

    Oct 5, 2017 – Vice President, Sales

    Thank you very much for the positive feedback. We love to be able to offer uncapped commissions and we're thankful you're enjoying the culture. Our management team is extremely focused on creative... More

  3. "Account Executive"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Executive in San Diego, CA
    Current Employee - Account Executive in San Diego, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Homes.com full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    -Ability to create your own paid check with nice commission structure
    -Management has great experience, each of them were hired from within. They really care about your succes and will coach and train you to your full potential.
    -The atmosphere is very positive and upbeat. My peers are helpful and each account Executive cares about everyone’s success
    -Good career potential as I mentioned that each manager was hired within the company

    Cons

    -Like any sales job, it can be a roller coaster ride
    -Sometimes the break room runs out of ice

    Advice to Management

    -Continue to invest inand implement sales trainings like Grant Cardone, etc.
    -Keep the open door policy and allow feedback from account executives. The open forum that is held usually weekly by the director is nice to let your voice be heard

    Homes.com Response

    Oct 6, 2017 – Senior Vice President, Marketing and Sales

    Thanks for taking the time to provide feedback. We have some exciting training and development plans underway for 2018 and yes, folks seem to appreciate the open forum conversations. Many great... More


  4. "Homes.com employee review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Executive in San Diego, CA
    Current Employee - Account Executive in San Diego, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Homes.com full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    You have the opportunity to bring real value to Real Estate agents nationwide and be compensated well for doing it. Management does a great job driving the sales floor forward. Great office hours and positive productive environment.

    Cons

    This job is not for everybody. You're a Sales professional selling to other Sales professionals. If you want to become a great salesperson and make good money doing it, this is your playing field.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work! Stay in "day-one" mentality to engage new people and assimilate them into the culture and skills learning process asap. There can be a disconnect felt sometimes between how new people learn and veterans earn. Transparency and communication are everything.

    Homes.com Response

    Oct 9, 2017 – Senior Vice President, Marketing and Sales

    This is terrific feedback. Thank you for sharing! We're happy you're pleased with the culture and overall environment and agree that transparency is key. Thanks for all you do.


  5. "Very upbeat environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Inside Sales Representative in Norfolk, VA
    Current Employee - Inside Sales Representative in Norfolk, VA

    I have been working at Homes.com full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Fun place to work . Very upbeat

    Cons

    Monotony of phone sales

    Homes.com Response

    Sep 26, 2017 – Vice President, Sales

    Thank you for sharing your thoughts. It is a fun place to work. We're glad you agree. Thanks for your contributions!


  6. Helpful (2)

    "No Remote/Telework or Diversity"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Norfolk, VA
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Norfolk, VA
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Homes.com full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    Nice people
    Plenty of employee engagement activities
    Challenging and rewarding work

    Cons

    No diversity when it comes to management or executives

    Advice to Management

    Hire a Director of Diversity initiatives to head up a division that (specifically) recruits minorities for supervisory, senior-level and executive positions as well as create a framework for existing minority employees to progress in leadership roles.


  7. Helpful (2)

    "Inside Sales Rep"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Representative in Norfolk, VA
    Current Employee - Sales Representative in Norfolk, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Homes.com full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Salary Plus Commission. Great Benefits. Incredible work to life balance, especially for a sales and marketing position. Two weeks of paid vacation after only 3 months. Great Management. Great company culture. I really do like working here. If you can sell it's a good life. We have one Rep 3 years out of college making over 100k a year working less than 40 hours a week. We never work more than 40 hours a week.

    Cons

    If your not self motivated and willing to work hard then this isn't the place for you.

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what your doing.

    Homes.com Response

    Aug 21, 2017 – Vice President, Sales

    Thank you for the positive feedback. I'm pleased to hear that you're so happy in your career with us.

  8. Helpful (1)

    "Empty Promises"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales in San Diego, CA
    Current Employee - Sales in San Diego, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Homes.com full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Great Spiffs
    Super nice management
    Good Stable Hours
    Free Coffee & Tea
    Friendly Work Environment
    Write your own checks

    Cons

    First off, there is no room for growth unless you're a managers pet. THERE IS NO CAREER PATH AT ALL. YOU WILL NOT GROW HERE. there is a new class of sales reps that comes in every month, because people quit or are fired so frequently. Watching a new group leave, and be replaced so easily should say enough... Reading the pros you'd assume there are no cons right? Considering the environment is so welcoming and uplifting. Well, those INCENTIVES are intact to keep people from going crazy. In a sense they dangle candy in front of you so you proceed to work your tail off. Working here the past year I have NEVER heard an agent say they loved the products, or that they worked. Yes there are testimonials stating otherwise, but those are a tiny percentage of clients. It is so hard to represent a company where every time you mention their name on the phone you get hung up on, told "i hate homes.com", or "I cancelled because all i got was bogus leads". Out of the 100+ agents I call on a daily basis I am lucky if 2 show interest. That is nearly 2%?? I understand its a number game but it is so exhausting. SO the perks are great but they are only doing them so you won't kill yourself when you are being belittled, and degraded by agents reminding you every day that your job does suck and you represent a terrible company. The only people who would disagree with me are the top 5 producers who are favored by managers and FED leads. IF you aren't apart of that small group, well, have fun cold calling amongst the rest of the reps! The inventory is running low as well, which makes it harder to convince people to buy a zip code no one wants, or it'd be gone. Waiting for this company to just die out so i can get laid off and find a sales company with products that actually work.

    Advice to Management

    Stop making people feel disposable.
    If someone isn't doing well, don't say "it's all in your head", each employee is an INDIVIDUAL and need to be taught or trained in a different way, take time and work with them. ACTUALLY CARE ABOUT THEM.
    If you guys would listen to your reps, why they leave, what can be improved, or even consider why agents say they hate us so much and atleast ATTEMPT to make improvements instead of just launching a new product, then maybe people wouldn't hate the products so much.

    Homes.com Response

    Sep 6, 2017 – Vice President, Sales

    Thank you for your candid feedback. I'm proud of the progress we've made over the past two years. Our customer and employee retention has never been better. That said, Homes.com has an open door... More


  9. "Unfriendly towards veterans/ and others outide their personal values"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Inside Sales Representative in San Diego, CA
    Current Employee - Inside Sales Representative in San Diego, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Homes.com full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    There are no pros to working here.

    Cons

    The managment is against veterans; and have activly seeked ways to lay off veterans. Managment has no diversity and will only hire white educated males. Managment is very liberal; and will become agressive if you don't agree with their political point of view.

    Advice to Management

    Learn real leadership

    Homes.com Response

    Sep 25, 2017 – President

    As a company, we generally consider reviews on sites like Glassdoor to be valuable sources of feedback and opportunities for us to grow and improve as a company. But I have to admit that this review... More


  10. Helpful (3)

    "Rash Decisions and Sexist Work Environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Norfolk, VA
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Norfolk, VA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Homes.com full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    My team members are great and hardworking people. That's the only saving grace

    Cons

    I work for Homes and the best way to describe the work environment is that upper management does not care and there is no company direction. They are sexist and short sighted. They “say” that there is an open door policy, and there won’t be any retaliation, but the truth is far from it. Nothing is confidential if you know the right people

    Advice to Management

    My advice to management would be to decide on the company direction, fix the sexist culture and put the right individuals in charge, not someone who’s your buddy

    Homes.com Response

    Aug 14, 2017 – Director of Marketing

    At Homes.com we’re committed to creating a transparent and collaborative work environment and we encourage all team members to help us reach this goal by making use of our open door policy. We... More


Showing 85 of 85 reviews
Reset Filters