ICF Reviews | Glassdoor

ICF Reviews

Updated August 10, 2018
933 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-timePart-time

3.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
ICF Chairman and CEO Sudhakar Kesavan
Sudhakar Kesavan
449 Ratings

933 Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
Cons
  • "At times the work-life balance is not great" (in 49 reviews)

  • "There are no cons for this company" (in 30 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. Featured Review

    "ICF is a great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at ICF part-time

    Pros

    ICF is a premier consulting organization that values people, is committed to sustainability, fairness, and work-life balance. The company's projects create opportunities to work on the leading challenges of our day.

    Cons

    Consulting requires a tolerance for uncertainty, a flexible and can-do attitude, and a resilient and persistent work ethic. But ICF provides one of the more stable and sane work environments for consultants to grow and thrive in.

    ICF Response

    Aug 3, 2018 – Employer Brand Strategist

    Working on the leading challenges of our day is one of the things I also value most about working for ICF. Thank you for taking the time to write this thoughtful review.


  2. "Great Entry Level Job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Research Assistant in Fairfax, VA
    Current Employee - Research Assistant in Fairfax, VA
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at ICF full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Smart and kind staff who are passionate about their work
    Lots of opportunities to grow
    Flexible in working location

    Cons

    There is a high learning curve

    ICF Response

    Jul 23, 2018 – Employer Brand Strategist

    Thank you for sharing your feedback with us! It's exciting to hear that you're also surrounded by passionate people. The work we do is truly inspiring.

  3. "Great work life balance but low pay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at ICF full-time

    Pros

    Flexibility, work life balance, very supportive team environment

    Cons

    Low pay, contract work, charging time


  4. "Supportive Company!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Associate in Aberdeen, MD
    Current Employee - Senior Associate in Aberdeen, MD
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at ICF full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    There are a lot of very smart and talented colleagues to collaborate with. I have learned a tremendous amount over my career with ICF and gained more skills, qualifications, and experience than I expected.

    Cons

    Wish there were more vacancies for my friends to come work with me

    Advice to Management

    Continue being supportive and listening to your employees. I have not seen another company implement as many changes in policies and procedures abased on employee feedback than ICF


  5. "Great people, great work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Fairfax, VA
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Fairfax, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at ICF full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Interesting, smart people who treat each other well. Flexible work environment and interesting work that makes a difference.

    Cons

    High emphasis on billable work, conservative on pay.

    ICF Response

    Jul 23, 2018 – Employer Brand Strategist

    Thank you for taking time to share the details of your ICF experience. We also value the amazing people and interesting work here!


  6. Helpful (1)

    "Very corporate America."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at ICF full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Folks are pretty professional.
    Good HR team.
    Cool logo.
    If you enjoy working in corporate America, ICF is a food fit for you.

    Cons

    Poor support from the BD team. Often offering clumsy approaches to BD.

    Poor raises, little opportunity for bonuses or options. Favoritism.

    Huge medical deductibles.

    Managers rarely have experience or formal training before being assigned direct reports.

    Poor collaboration between business units.

    Sweat shop/sled dog mentality.

    No overtime over 40 hrs.

    Significant lag to hire additional workforce when additional work comes in.

    Employes are tasked to take on additional responsibilities without formal training.

    Graying work force often not proficient in common computer applications or technology.

    Shipping good jobs in U.S. to India in exchange for lower compensation.

    Entrepreneurs are rarely rewarded.

    Advice to Management

    No comment.

    ICF Response

    Jul 23, 2018 – Employer Brand Strategist

    Thanks for taking time to share your insights about your experience. We're always looking to improve and we read each and every review.

    I would bring these concerns to someone you do trust on... More


  7. Helpful (2)

    "Great in Some Sectors"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at ICF full-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    There is a generally collaborative culture. And a lot of the projects are truly interesting and unique.

    Cons

    While aggressive utilization and financial targets are standard in the industry, the level of aggression seems on the rise. It feels like it's gone from a place of careers to a place of gigs. There are good gigs - but there's no security. So you're not really 'part' of anything beyond your temporary client gigs.

    Advice to Management

    You're well within your right to run things like a team rather than a family: if you don't score enough, lose a game, you're cut. Employees are numbers out there to produce numbers. It's a solid strategy for the shareholders.

    ICF Response

    Jul 23, 2018 – Employer Brand Strategist

    Thank you for sharing your insights on working at ICF. We read every review and your feedback is valued.

  8. Helpful (2)

    "Not a place for valued employees"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Systems Engineer in Aberdeen, MD
    Former Employee - Systems Engineer in Aberdeen, MD
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at ICF full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Laissez-faire environment. As long as nothing is going wrong, management is very hands off. Freedom to work from home.
    Higher pay.

    Cons

    Company does not care about employee welfare.
    High rates of turnover.
    Constant backstabbing.
    Below industry average benefits.
    Allows client (SBNAB) to dictate everything even if its a bad idea.
    Toxic culture of nepotism.

    Advice to Management

    Start caring about your employees. I was fired after 2.5 years of valued contributions. I had a steller record with bonuses and great reviews, when the client arbitrarily dropped me from the contract, they fired me immediately. They did this for at least three of my predecessors. They dont care about quality and only about themselves and collecting there share of the cuts. Booz Allen does business far better by their employees.

    ICF Response

    Aug 3, 2018 – Employer Brand Strategist

    Hello, I appreciate the detailed review of your concerns and frustrations. While the working experience can vary at any large company, we'll be sure your feedback is heard.


  9. Helpful (1)

    "Great company to work for and grow"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at ICF full-time

    Pros

    Great culture - relaxed but hard working, opportunity to grow, opportunities to learn and specialize

    Cons

    Minimal year to year salary increases

    ICF Response

    Jul 23, 2018 – Employer Brand Strategist

    Hello and thank you for taking the time to share your experience. It sounds like overall, there's been a lot of opportunity to grow.

    Regarding the salary increases, annual review time is... More


  10. Helpful (1)

    "Great company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    Talented people

    Competitive Salary/Benefits

    Fun and collaborative culture

    Cons

    Working with clients can sometimes be a tough task

    Advice to Management

    Stay true to your vision, invest in people, drive for innovation and a strong culture for employees to succeed

    ICF Response

    Jul 23, 2018 – Employer Brand Strategist

    Thank you for the encouraging review. We embrace your advice to management!


Showing 933 of 998 reviews
Reset Filters