ICF Reviews | Glassdoor

ICF Reviews

Updated 18 Sep 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 1076 reviews

3.3
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
63%
Recommend to a Friend
77%
Approve of CEO
ICF CEO Sudhakar Kesavan
Sudhakar Kesavan
507 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "As you grow within the company, your work life balance is out the window(in 57 reviews)

  • "Too many junior staff with no training(in 33 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review
    Helpful (4)

    "Promising future"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at ICF full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Being at ICF now for a year now, it's been great to see the transition and changes. We've won a bunch of awesome new clients and it's really exciting to see this momentum building. Management is pretty open and transparent and always willing to listen, even though sometimes they might not have the power or authority to make change happen. It's a very caring environment, a great place to learn and work with awesome people.

    Cons

    Lots of change shifting to a new brand under ICF Next. Difficult sometimes being a small fish in Toronto in a big global pond.

    Continue reading
    ICF2019-04-06
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Mission-driven consulting"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager, Project Management in Fairfax, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at ICF full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Staff have strong desire to contribute to the issues we're working on - from energy efficiency to child welfare

    Cons

    But it's still a for-profit consulting company, so we only do the work that brings in the bills

    Continue reading
    ICF2019-07-18
  3. "Smart coworkers, good culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at ICF full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great working with smart people, culture of collaboration

    Cons

    none so far that I've experienced

    ICF2019-09-18
  4. "Good company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Technical Specialist 

    I have been working at ICF full-time

    Pros

    Consistent billable work; supportive of training (to a degree); flexible work locations

    Cons

    Difficult to get promoted; difficult to switch groups unless your current project ends

    ICF2019-09-17
  5. "Excellent work/life balance; great people; great benefits!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Associate in Fairfax, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at ICF full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Work/Life balance; colleagues; great benefits!

    Cons

    I've been here six months, and love every minute of it!

    ICF2019-08-09
  6. Helpful (4)

    "Great people, middling benefits"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Environmental Planner in Washington, DC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at ICF full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Smart engaged co-workers, understanding and helpful management

    Cons

    Low pay, low PTO, meh benefits

    Continue reading
    ICF2019-08-15
  7. Helpful (2)

    "Great place to work, needs some management change"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Research Analyst 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at ICF full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great people who are passionate about what they do.

    Cons

    Management does not always invest in junior staff, as a result, turnover is high. Also it depends on which team you are on!

    ICF2019-08-03
  8. Helpful (5)

    "First Job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Research Analyst in Saint Louis, MO
    Doesn't Recommend
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at ICF full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Flexible hours, remote working, nice downtown office.

    Cons

    In the three years I worked there I had three different bosses, causing constant change in how program was ran, never keeping the work stable. We had multiple "fire drills" that came from top management that kept us working to keep the program afloat. Every year I worked there my bonus was less than the last year and I was told because the program was running out of money. ICF is a company that seems more likely to hire from outside than promote within. I tried to get a title change after 2.5 years, not a promotion, and it caused me more harm than good professionally at the company. Other coworkers became so disenfranchised by the job they stopped coming to work, hence other had to pick up the slack.

    Continue reading
    ICF2019-08-09
  9. Helpful (4)

    "Worse than the worst company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at ICF full-time

    Pros

    HQ location. VP’s get bonuses. Top performers get raises, even if they are below market raises.

    Cons

    I can only share my personal opinion of my experience at ICF. First, I don’t believe it will ever get any better. I felt there was years of lip service, but little ever was done to improve the culture. As part of the finance team, I feel I was part of the most dysfunctional area. In my opinion the CFO played favorites and set the tone for the organization. I felt not everyone was held to the same standard. I feel like working for this organization negatively impacted my reputation in the financial community.

    Continue reading
    ICF2019-08-30
  10. "Good Company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Business Systems Analyst 

    I have been working at ICF full-time

    Pros

    Good company to work for

    Cons

    I can't think of any glaring cons

    ICF2019-07-26
Found 1076 reviews
</>Embed