Cover image for ICF
Logo

ICF

Engaged Employer

ICF

Add a Review

ICF Reviews

Updated Dec 7, 2022

Verify your email to use filters. Having problems? Resend email
Found 1,904 of over 2K reviews
3.7
76% Recommend to a Friend
ICF President and CEO John Wasson
85% Approve of CEO

Found 1,883 of over 2K reviews

3.7
76%
Recommend to a Friend
85%
Approve of CEO
ICF President and CEO John Wasson
John Wasson
305 Ratings

What people are saying about ICF

Join the conversation on

Consulting

411.5K Members 

Ask candid career questions

-1 - https://www.fishbowlapp.com/bowl/consulting/posts?cf=gd&utm_medium=Glassdoor&utm_source=glassdoor.com&utm_campaign=Reviews&utm_content=Employer-content-prominent-Reviews&utm_term=ICF~18654
Join the conversation on

Top Review Highlights by Sentiment

Pros
  • "There are great people and you can get valuable experience if you seek it out.(in 170 reviews)
  • "Good benefits and strong on(in 107 reviews)
  • "The company has a good work/life balance and seems to really care about its employees.(in 87 reviews)
  • "Lots of expertise and great colleagues(in 68 reviews)
  • "The culture is good but varies from office to office.(in 56 reviews)
Cons
  • "low pay; raises not equivalent to increases in responsibilities and promotions; some tedious tasks(in 87 reviews)
  • "Low salaries and compensations not enough to keep people(in 86 reviews)
  • "Poor management and do not care about wellbeing of employees(in 71 reviews)
  • "Terrible managers and leaders with no actual skills(in 47 reviews)
  • "No bonuses and not much hike you will get.(in 29 reviews)
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

Ratings by Demographics

This rating reflects the overall rating of ICF and is not affected by filters.

Want more demographic options?
  1. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Amazing

    Nov 4, 2022 - Partner 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Everything is great - no worries

    Cons

    Nothing - all is very good

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    ICF Response

    Employee Experience Community Manager

    Thank you for sharing your experience and giving us a five-star review! We hope you continue to belong, grow, and thrive at ICF. Make sure you're following us on Instagram (@thisisicf) to see and read stories about your coworkers and our culture. - HS

  2. 1.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Management is the problem

    Dec 2, 2022 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Remote work, flexible work schedules.

    Cons

    Management makes promises they cannot keep. I was hired to do Job A but did Job B for the entire time I was employed (almost two years). Job B paid 10-20k more than Job A. I was told I would be promoted to Job B. Three different levels of management promised me. It never happened. After months of back and forth they gave me a small raise but never addressed the underlying issue. As part of the negotiation for the raise, I was promised they would forward my name for promotion. I was explicitly told that the LOB lead was aware of the situation and supported the promotion. They didn’t even forward my name and then denied they had ever said that. Great employees do not stay at ICF because they are not valued. Great employees leave and move on to better positions because they can. Meanwhile, middle managers remain at ICF where they have been promoted to their level of incompetence because there is no accountability.

    Continue reading
    4 people found this review helpful
  3. Join the ICF team
    See Our Latest Jobs
  4. 2.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Rude Management Fosters a Toxic Work Environment

    Oct 27, 2022 - Cyber Coordinator in Fairfax, VA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    You meet a diverse range of people at ICF, and do develop strong relationships with some of your coworkers. Teamwork and good team dynamics are encouraged. It is also a good place to network, as ICF holds a prominent position amongst government contractors. Benefits are ok. You get ample PTO, but you do not get any sick days.

    Cons

    The culture of this company is that the client is king. ICF insists on appearing as perfect and professional to the client as possible, at the cost of not investing in their own employees professional development. and not giving employees clear answers to questions such as remote work policy. Senior Management is rude and unapproachable, and can act unprofessional. The senior level management did not invest in me or communicate with me until their was a misunderstanding. They handled the misunderstanding unprofessionally and even threatened to lay me off. Only at the end of my tenure in my role did my team develop good synergy and dynamics, at first the style was very vague and micromanagement was the norm. Lower level management was at times given stressful and unreal expectations by senior level management and this led to communication inconsistencies and a general stressful environment for everyone. Some lower level managers would micromanage their employees, which produced a stressful and at times toxic environment.

    Continue reading
    3 people found this review helpful

    ICF Response

    Employee Experience Community Manager

    Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback. We’re glad to hear you’ve found belonging through a supportive team. I think it’s certainly what makes ICF unique for many. We also strive to create an environment where employees feel this support across all levels of those they work with, from teammates to managers. ICF expects people managers to create an environment that fosters belonging, embraces diversity, and prioritizes fairness and inclusivity at all levels. One of our core values is speaking up, and having open and honest conversations—even when it’s hard. Therefore, we encourage feedback and hope that you take the time to include this in the employee-wide survey, as well as take the opportunity to address your needs and set expectations as a contributing member of the team with your manager. It sounds like some of the concerns you had were mitigated, and your experience has improved over time. We hope that is the case so you can continue to belong, grow, and thrive at ICF with your work and your teammates.

  5. 3.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years

    Great place to build, maybe not the best for short term growth

    Nov 30, 2022 - Appian Developer in Washington, DC
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Exceptional technical staff. Very supportive learning opportunities for certifications and technical knowledge transfers "brown bags" for just about any tech you may be interested in. Strong client base for both large and small projects.

    Cons

    Higher levels of management can be a bit tone deaf. very difficult to get pay grade increases. You may find yourself wearing many hats within one or more projects at a time. Often tasked with learning entirely new technologies that often do not progress you in their desired career path structures.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  6. 4.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Respectful and smart co-workers, can wfh

    Nov 22, 2022 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I lucked into working with a great manager and team. People in the larger group I'm in are all smart, respectful, and seem to enjoy their jobs. I'm in the environmental consulting part of ICF which means a lot of folks get to go outside for their work, so that helps boost mood/morale. I was hired on as a hybrid position, but I've been working mostly remote. This is my favorite thing about the job and company, that I can control when I go in (to a degree). So much easier to coordinate life stuff, and my cat is always nearby purring. I work 40 hours a week, haven't been asked to work more, and don't feel pressure to. Not micromanaged, pretty autonomous now that I got the hang of things. I liked the onboarding process, it was very helpful, since I've never worked for such a large company. Benefits and PTO seem ok. If you participate in the wellness program, you can knock a bit off your deductible (through an HRA). They'll pay for industry relevant course/conferences/professional memberships. Good 50:50 ratio of male/female in entry level to mid-management level. I feel respected here, as a woman. Always negotiate during the hiring process, I increased my salary offer this way.

    Cons

    -Major con is billable hours, and the hassle of tracking/entering into the time program when you work multiple projects at the same time. Knew this when I was hired, I still will always hate the concept of billable hours with the heat of 1000 billion suns. -The salary/promotion/review process is opaque and mysterious. -Wish there was more diversity as you get above mid-management (age/gender/culture/ethnicity/etc etc). This isn't an issue at lower levels in my group though. -My office is downtown in a large city, so I have to pay my own parking. The cheap parking garage a block away is creepy to walk to when it gets darker, and I'd much rather park in the garage attached to the office building, but it's expensive!! -It should be casual (in reason) instead of business casual in offices, when you clients won't ever see you/not in a meeting.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful

    ICF Response

    Employee Experience Community Manager

    Thank you for taking the time to share your review. We strive to create an environment where people feel they have balance in their work life, and it’s great to hear you have the flexibility and autonomy. Diversity and inclusion are a continuous, ongoing journey for us, and can take time in a large organization. While we are proud to have received awards recognizing our efforts in diversity and inclusion, we are constantly reevaluating our team structures, taking steps to close gaps, and identify data-driven solutions to invest in hiring people with dimensions of difference. We have established Mentor Connect to develop two-way professional relationships to build connections. Join programs like this and our Employee Community Networks to foster inclusion, advance skillsets, and inspire career growth among all employees. Have you addressed your parking concerns with anyone? We'd recommend reaching out to your HR business partner to see if there is anything that can be done to improve this experience. Consulting certainly has its challenges when meeting client expectations, including tracking billable hours. We encourage you to take part in quarterly Impact Conversations, two-way discussions where you and your manager can discuss real-time challenges and opportunities. Impact Conversations is our approach for managing performance, contributions, and career growth. - KZ

  7. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Great place but needs some improvement

    Nov 7, 2022 - Analyst 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great team. Rewarding work. Autonomy. Pay is decent.

    Cons

    Benefits are quite expensive for those of us with families. Also, those in charge of referral bonuses will find any reason for you to not get paid. I had a referral start on time, do great work, and they're still employed but the man in charge of paying out referral bonuses refuses to pay out my bonus because this (internal, permanent) employee works less than full-time due to ICF not meeting his salary requirements. This, despite the fact that my referral is a massive contributor to our project. In fact he eventually just ignored me after multiple attempts to solve it or compromise for a lesser bonus amount. That's the sort of thing that will make you either stop helping or leave altogether so I suggest it improves.

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    ICF Response

    Employee Experience Community Manager

    Thank you for bringing your talent to our team. Sorry to hear this is causing frustration. You can find the bonus eligibility requirements on the HR Hiring section of the intranet. Employee referral bonuses are generally provided for full-time, permanent hires at ICF (and most companies). Employee referrals remain our largest source of hire every year for all hires. We’re so grateful that so many people want to refer their peers to have the opportunity to experience the culture, people, and work they get to enjoy at ICF. We hope this helps clarify things for you and we hope you continue to recommend people to ICF. -HS

  8. 4.0
    Current Employee

    Good work, medium benefits

    Nov 28, 2022 - Manager 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Remote work options, socially conscience project work

    Cons

    New "reward" program gives employees access to a catalog of items and not cash. While cash incentives can be taxed, the catalog options are often less than desirable. They also took away the holiday for the day after Thanksgiving in order to "give" us Juneteenth as a holiday. In an attempt to boost their DEI credibility, they "gave" us a holiday by taking one away.

    1 person found this review helpful

    ICF Response

    Employee Experience Community Manager

    Thank you for sharing your review. Being able to work remotely is a great perk that I know a lot of ICFers, myself included, truly enjoy. The project work at ICF makes an impact on the world around us in so many ways and it makes me proud to see the company live out our purpose to "build a prosperous and more resilient world for all". Diversity and inclusion are a continuous, ongoing journey for us, and making Juneteenth a US fixed holiday is only part of that. For US-based employees, each year there are 10 holidays that include both fixed (Juneteenth, Independence Day, Thanksgiving, etc.) and floating. The total number didn't change, just the day included in the set of fixed days. I'd recommend you plan to use a floating holiday for the day after Thanksgiving each year to ensure you have that 4-day (or more if you add PTO) break. If you haven't yet, I encourage you to take part in some of the programming offered by our Employee Community Networks who work to foster inclusion, advance skillsets, and inspire career growth among all employees. -LL

  9. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Not a bad place to start

    Dec 1, 2022 - Account Manager 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Manageable pay. Work from home.

    Cons

    Understaffed, low wages, management can be hit or miss.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  10. 5.0
    Current Employee

    UX Designer

    Dec 7, 2022 - Senior UX Designer 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great company, culture, worklife balance,

    Cons

    no real cons at this time

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  11. 4.0
    Former Employee

    Smart colleagues

    Nov 30, 2022 - Director 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Teams at ICF include smart savvy highly educated professionals.

    Cons

    It’s a consulting firm- so high utilization is always the highest priority

    Be the first to find this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 1,883 Reviews
</>Embed

ICF Reviews FAQs

ICF has an overall rating of 3.7 out of 5, based on over 2,062 reviews left anonymously by employees. 76% of employees would recommend working at ICF to a friend and 73% have a positive outlook for the business. This rating has improved by 2% over the last 12 months.

According to anonymously submitted Glassdoor reviews, ICF employees rate their compensation and benefits as 3.3 out of 5. Find out more about salaries and benefits at ICF. This rating has been stable over the past 12 months.

76% of ICF employees would recommend working there to a friend based on Glassdoor reviews. Employees also rated ICF 3.7 out of 5 for work life balance, 3.8 for culture and values and 3.7 for career opportunities.

According to reviews on Glassdoor, employees commonly mention the pros of working at ICF to be culture, benefits, career development and the cons to be management, compensation.

Popular Careers with ICF Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at ICF? Share Your Experiences

ICF logo
or

Reviews by Job Title

ICF Photos

+ Add Photo
ICF photo of: New headquarters
ICF photo of: New headquarters
ICF photo of: New headquarters
ICF photo of: New headquarters
ICF photo of: New headquarters
ICF photo of: New headquarters
ICF photo of: ICF Bengaluru Office
See All Photos

Expert Career Advice

Guide to Getting Your First Job

Find a Great First Job to Jumpstart Your Career

How to Get a Job

Getting a Job Is Tough; This Guide Makes it Easier

How to Get a Promotion

Climb the Ladder With These Proven Promotion Tips

How to Negotiate Your Salary

A Guide to Negotiating the Salary You Deserve

How to Write a Resume

Write a Resume Recruiters Can't Resist

ICF Job Seekers Also Viewed

Booz Allen Hamilton Logo
Booz Allen Hamilton

4.0

7,930 Reviews
Compare

Glassdoor has 2,062 ICF reviews submitted anonymously by ICF employees. Read employee reviews and ratings on Glassdoor to decide if ICF is right for you.