Integrated DNA Technologies Reviews | Glassdoor

Integrated DNA Technologies Reviews

Updated September 17, 2017
63 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-timePart-time

3.5
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
(no image)
Joseph Walder
35 Ratings

63 Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
Cons
  • Because of little or no advancements at all, people leave after staying few years (in 6 reviews)

  • s exhibiting some growing pains (in 4 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. "I loved it here!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends

    I worked at Integrated DNA Technologies full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Loved my team and managers. Felt like I was a real asset and it made me want to work harder to impress them.

    Cons

    Only con was the slow advancement opportunities. I was trained to a scientist a level above me within a year, but couldn't be technically signed off for a longer time period.

    Advice to Management

    My management team was amazing, I can't complain one bit with my experience. If I hadn't moved I would definitely still be there.

    Integrated DNA Technologies Response

    Jul 31, 2017 – Recruiting Coordinator

    Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your time at IDT! We're glad to hear that you enjoyed coming to work and were motivated to work hard and improve. We are sad to see you go.


  2. Helpful (2)

    "Great Place with Growing Pains"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - IT Operations in Coralville, IA
    Current Employee - IT Operations in Coralville, IA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Integrated DNA Technologies full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Great people, good product, quite a few philanthropic opportunities. Loyalty to people for their service.

    Cons

    Growing pains and battles are being waged between the old guard who grew with the company and the new C level and managers who have worked in other industries at a larger scale.

    Integrated DNA Technologies Response

    Jun 12, 2017 – Recruiting Coordinator

    Thank you for your review. We appreciate your honest comments and feedback, as we strive to continually improve as we quickly grow.

  3. "Low Pay, Poor Management, and Limited Growth Opportunities"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Lab Employee in Coralville, IA
    Current Employee - Lab Employee in Coralville, IA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Integrated DNA Technologies full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Good amount of PTO and flexible with time off.
    Laid back environment.

    Cons

    Low Pay: Lab employees pay is low.
    Poor Management: The company is young in general which leads to promotion of people with little to no management experience. This lack of experience in the management teams causes problems within departments and often a toxic work environment.
    Limited Growth: Very little upward motility. Low opportunity to improve or learn new skills

    Advice to Management

    Recognize your own shortcomings and be able to take criticism.
    Give more opportunities/responsibilities to employees and realize that their success shouldn't be viewed as a threat to your position, but rather a success of your team.

    Integrated DNA Technologies Response

    Jul 18, 2017 – Recruiting Coordinator

    Thank you for your candid review. We appreciate you taking the time to provide feedback. We are a young company, growing quickly, and working hard to overcome the hurdles that come with this... More


  4. Helpful (2)

    "payable account assist 1"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Account Assist I in Skokie, IL
    Former Employee - Account Assist I in Skokie, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Integrated DNA Technologies full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Nice group to work with.

    Cons

    Promises not kept. Management inept.. No advancement opportunities.. Lots of busy work. No team building skills in the Management sector.. Better opportunities out here in Illinois

    Advice to Management

    Make sure not to promise what is undeliverable just to get a good employee. Managers should take management courses to enhance their teams work ethic and environment. And finally IDT should realize that food (luncheons etc) is not incentive to promote good work ethic, and happy employees.

    Integrated DNA Technologies Response

    Apr 28, 2017

    Thank you for your candid review. We read each and every review, good or bad, in order to improve as an organization.


  5. "Great entry level job with little opportunity for upward mobility."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Purification Scientist II in Coralville, IA
    Current Employee - Purification Scientist II in Coralville, IA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Integrated DNA Technologies full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Relaxed and easy going company with great time off benefits. Standard benefits. Very engaged in wellness actovities and volunteering opportunities.

    Cons

    Little chance at upward mobility. Difficulty with management and worker synergy. Pay is sub par to live comfortably on your own. Benefits could be better.

    Advice to Management

    Listen to the workers when they have issues in their department.

    Integrated DNA Technologies Response

    Apr 10, 2017

    Thank you for your review. Your comments and feedback are very important and will help us improve.


  6. "A good place to settle, not advance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Team Lead in Coralville, IA
    Current Employee - Team Lead in Coralville, IA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Integrated DNA Technologies full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Great PTO
    Great culture
    Stable company, steady growth

    Cons

    Little advancement opportunity - movement tends to be more lateral than upward
    Poor communication from management
    Changes tend to be implemented in a rush and cause unnecessary turmoil
    Nepotism - 70% of my team is there because a spouse or family member worked there first

    Advice to Management

    We're on the same team, you don't need to keep things secret until the last minute

    Integrated DNA Technologies Response

    Apr 10, 2017

    Thank you for taking the time to write a review of IDT. We read each and every one, as they help us make improvements for our employees and future employees.


  7. "Okay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Integrated DNA Technologies full-time

    Pros

    Good coworkers and overall decent place to work

    Cons

    Not the best management and hard to work your way up in the company.
    Management was also not consistent in policies for all employees and that was frustrating

    Advice to Management

    Be consistent and listen to your employees.

    Integrated DNA Technologies Response

    Apr 10, 2017

    Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience at IDT.

  8. "Great work enviornmet with wonderfull coworkers"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Integrated DNA Technologies full-time

    Pros

    Excellent PTO bank/ paid holidays
    Great work life balance

    Cons

    Pay is on the lower end

    Integrated DNA Technologies Response

    Feb 13, 2017

    Thank you for the taking to write a review about your experience at IDT.


  9. "Coralville location"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Coralville, IA
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Coralville, IA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Integrated DNA Technologies full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Great people to work with, good benefits, and an innovative company to be involved in. The entry level lab jobs, typically are younger graduates from the University of Iowa.

    Cons

    Lab job pay is on the lower side compared to other similar companies. Currently transitioning from being a private to a public company, which comes with changes along the way.

    Advice to Management

    Keep employees informed of changes and the reasons behind them ahead of time. The pay compensation could be improved upon (higher percentage of raise). Incentives to stay with the company for a longer period of time.

    Integrated DNA Technologies Response

    Dec 19, 2016 – Recruiting Coordinator

    Thank you for taking the time to write an honest review. Please be assured we are working hard to improve both compensation and communication at IDT as we grow and expand rapidly. Compensation... More


  10. "Some good, some bad"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Material Handler in Coralville, IA
    Current Employee - Material Handler in Coralville, IA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Integrated DNA Technologies (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Decent benefits. Good people. Sometimes yearly bonus.
    Decent pay. Flexible hours.

    Cons

    Managers suck, they are mismanaged in some departments. No one returns emails. No laddar movement.

    Advice to Management

    Hire managers with actual management experience.
    Pay could be better. Get rid of negative enployees. Be more involved.

    Integrated DNA Technologies Response

    Dec 13, 2016

    Thank you for your review. Each and every comment, whether good or bad, is important to us. We are always aiming to make IDT a great place to work.


Showing 63 of 71 reviews
Reset Filters