Integrated DNA Technologies Reviews | Glassdoor

Integrated DNA Technologies Reviews

Updated February 10, 2017
54 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-time Part-time

3.5
Star Star Star Star Star
Rating Trends Rating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
(no image)
Joseph Walder
32 Ratings

54 Employee Reviews

Sort: Popular Rating Date

Pros
Cons
  • Because of little or no advancements at all, people leave after staying few years (in 4 reviews)

  • Production Scientist work is very easy and a waste of a Bachelors degree (in 4 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. "Great work enviornmet with wonderfull coworkers"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Integrated DNA Technologies full-time

    Pros

    Excellent PTO bank/ paid holidays
    Great work life balance

    Cons

    Pay is on the lower end

    Integrated DNA Technologies Response

    Feb 13, 2017

    Thank you for the taking to write a review about your experience at IDT.


  2. "Coralville location"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Coralville, IA
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Coralville, IA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Integrated DNA Technologies full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Great people to work with, good benefits, and an innovative company to be involved in. The entry level lab jobs, typically are younger graduates from the University of Iowa.

    Cons

    Lab job pay is on the lower side compared to other similar companies. Currently transitioning from being a private to a public company, which comes with changes along the way.

    Advice to Management

    Keep employees informed of changes and the reasons behind them ahead of time. The pay compensation could be improved upon (higher percentage of raise). Incentives to stay with the company for a longer period of time.

    Integrated DNA Technologies Response

    Dec 19, 2016 – Recruiting Coordinator

    Thank you for taking the time to write an honest review. Please be assured we are working hard to improve both compensation and communication at IDT as we grow and expand rapidly. Compensation ... More


  3. "Some good, some bad"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Material Handler in Coralville, IA
    Current Employee - Material Handler in Coralville, IA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Integrated DNA Technologies (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Decent benefits. Good people. Sometimes yearly bonus.
    Decent pay. Flexible hours.

    Cons

    Managers suck, they are mismanaged in some departments. No one returns emails. No laddar movement.

    Advice to Management

    Hire managers with actual management experience.
    Pay could be better. Get rid of negative enployees. Be more involved.

    Integrated DNA Technologies Response

    Dec 13, 2016

    Thank you for your review. Each and every comment, whether good or bad, is important to us. We are always aiming to make IDT a great place to work.


  4. Is this helpful? The community relies on everyone sharing – Add Anonymous Review


  5. "Why IDT?"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Professional in Coralville, IA
    Current Employee - Professional in Coralville, IA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Integrated DNA Technologies full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Industry leader. International business. Relatively young company with great opportunities. Stable and growing. Quality products. Laid-back environment. Friendly, helpful, and intelligent coworkers. Employees take pride in what we do and how we do it.

    Cons

    A large percentage of managers "grew up" at IDT and have little or no "real life" work experience at other companies which has its advantages and disadvantages. Currently, there are many large initiatives happening simultaneously; this is stretching departments and employees beyond capacity.

    Advice to Management

    Take a step outside of your comfort zone and make a conscious effort to get know employees at all levels. Increase communication (top-down) and celebrate accomplishments as a whole.

    Integrated DNA Technologies Response

    Dec 3, 2016

    Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your experience at IDT. Your honest feedback is very much appreciated.


  6. "Suffering from Outsourcing"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Marketing
    Former Employee - Marketing
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Integrated DNA Technologies full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    Nearly none towards the end, but it was a great place to work for the first 5 of over 6 years I was there.

    Cons

    Many people, who were great employees, lost their jobs due to greed and outsourcing starting in Q3 2015. Consider working here as volatile as somewhere like ACT. Seek at your own risk.


  7. Helpful (1)

    "Entry level out of College"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    Pros

    Management and staff are very friendly and outgoing. Very easy to take vacation and flexible hours during the week. Not very stressful.

    Cons

    Employees from bottom all the way to the top are underpaid. Corporate leadership is inexperienced.

    Advice to Management

    Company can feel segmented at times. People need to feel connected and understand the big picture goals. Incentive workers more and the company will continue to see high growth rates.

    Integrated DNA Technologies Response

    Oct 17, 2016 – Recruiting Coordinator

    It's great to hear you are as proud of the employees, and the relaxed culture at IDT as we are! Thank you for taking the time to write an honest review. Please be assured we are working hard to ... More


  8. Helpful (1)

    "Good Work, bad benifits"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Integrated DNA Technologies full-time

    Pros

    work was engaging and employee input is valued. clean work environment with access to some of the latest equipment.

    Cons

    benefits and compensation were laughable. expected to work overtime, though this wasnt too bad as an hourly.

    Advice to Management

    better compensate your employees, especially in the realm of health care

    Integrated DNA Technologies Response

    Sep 13, 2016

    Thank you for your review and comments as they are very much appreciated.


  9. Helpful (2)

    "Intern - Coralville, IA"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Coralville, IA
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Coralville, IA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    My work schedule was very flexible and accommodating. I was able to stay on track with my school program while working part-time and then going full-time during the summer and breaks. Also, the hiring process was swift and straightforward. I was given lots of opportunities to help work on complex projects. Getting time off when needed was never a problem.

    Cons

    The pay definitely could have been better, but I couldn't be choosy given my level of experience and the flexibility my position afforded me with school. Also, departments had little pressure to meet deadlines which I felt at times hindered overall productivity.

    Advice to Management

    Pay your employees more; I think that may have been a reason for some of the turnover while I was there. Also, the level of overhead at times was a bit excessive.

    Integrated DNA Technologies Response

    Jun 28, 2016

    Thank you for taking the time to write an honest review about your internship experience at IDT. Your candid comments are very much appreciated.


  10. Helpful (2)

    "Production Scientist"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at Integrated DNA Technologies full-time

    Pros

    Management is great, very responsive to employee feedback. Fun, flexible environment to work in. Exciting to be working in such an important field.

    Cons

    Salary and bonuses seem to be on the low end compared to similar jobs. If on second or third shift, it can be difficult to switch to different hours without having to take a pay cut.

    Integrated DNA Technologies Response

    Sep 8, 2016

    Thank you for your honest feedback and the 5-star rating. Your comments—both pros and cons—are very important to us.


  11. "A very happy long-term employee at a fantastic biotech company"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Coralville, IA
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Coralville, IA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Integrated DNA Technologies full-time

    Pros

    One of the core values of the company is "Create your own opportunities", and that has definitely been the case for me. As a young man, I was given an opportunity in the Shipping department and now, almost 17 years later, I play a significant role in the Marketing department.

    Cons

    I do not have a negative to share, other than what I have included below for advice to management.

    Advice to Management

    Communication and visibility from upper management could be improved.

    Integrated DNA Technologies Response

    Jun 28, 2016

    Wow! 17 years! Thank you for the great review and your nearly 17 years of service.



Showing 54 of 60 reviews
Reset Filters