MAA Reviews | Glassdoor

MAA Reviews

Updated Oct 14, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
78%
Recommend to a Friend
90%
Approve of CEO
MAA CEO H. Eric Bolton Jr. (no image)
H. Eric Bolton Jr.
140 Ratings
Pros
  • "I started with MAA 6 years ago as a leasing manager and our community was sold(in 18 reviews)

  • "Great benefits and friendly working environment(in 17 reviews)

Cons
  • "I honestly wish some of the upper management understood what we deal with on a daily basis(in 24 reviews)

  • "property management company, real estate and in the business you never know if or when they will sell(in 19 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review
    Helpful (2)

    "Love the culture at MAA!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Property Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at MAA full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The help and training is abundant. Every single person you reach out to for help is welcoming and wants to help you. I never feel like I am bothering someone or feel belittled for asking questions. The training is second to none - and their online portals make everything streamlined for easy access to policies and procedures. MAA doesn’t just talk the talk, they walk the walk. My favorite thing about working for MAA... is our core values. I can always trust that I am making the right decisions using the four core values. MAA is an inclusive company that really makes you feel like you are a part of a family. I started with MAA 6 years ago as a leasing manager and our community was sold. The MAA team was so supportive during the sale - which is rare to see in our industry. I eventually returned “home” as a property manager and I am looking forward to the rest of my career with the MAA family.

    Show More

    Cons

    I have experienced no cons working at MAA.

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you’re doing - we are the best of the best!

    MAA2019-02-19

    MAA Response

    February 25, 2019

    Welcome home! We love that you see how MAA “walks the walk” through our employee support programs, inclusiveness, and our core values. Thank you for your comments!

  2. "Former Employee"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Assistant Manager 

    I have been working at MAA full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Training was phenomenal. Learned a lot.

    Cons

    Little to no advancement

    MAA2019-07-30
  3. "Property level personel are great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Maintenance Supervisor 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at MAA full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good heathcare, and other benefits

    Cons

    Middle management does not care for employees, would run you over if it furthered their career.

    MAA2019-09-28
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Employee culture is horrible"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Property Manager in Dallas, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at MAA full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Pay is okay but commission could be better.

    Cons

    Discriminate based on race (all african american was removed from downtown area) Staff forever changing.. cant keep a property manager, assistant, leasing consultants, or maintenance team, not enough training support for office staff or maintenance team

    MAA2019-10-14
  5. "Great Growth Opportunities"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Leasing Consultant 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at MAA full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Commissions are great and there are always a lot of open opportunities to transfer to other properties or move up

    Cons

    Some properties get more attention than others and it leaves the neglected properties with less than dirt reviews, tenants, staff, etc.

    Advice to Management

    Pay attention to the properties that are failing. There is only so much the staff can sell. Without a good product to give, there's no product to sell.

    MAA2019-09-18
  6. "I have been an employee for over 10 years and absolutely love the entire dynamic of the company."

    StarStarStarStarStar
     
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at MAA

    Pros

    Great policies that create a great line for employees and customers Honest Wonderful environment and principles Competitive pay Great benefits And the company is always working to improve

    Cons

    Office hours can be quite challenging for working parents as the office doesn’t close until 6 but most daycares in areas close at 6 at the latest

    Advice to Management

    Working on Sundays and until 6pm can be more challenging in certain areas and doesn’t produce the traffic necessary. If occupancy is at a certain level we would love the opportunity to close at 5 and on Sundays

    MAA2019-08-21
  7. "Enjoyed my job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Property Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at MAA full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Stability, Training, Management, Systems, promotes within

    Cons

    Pay, over worked and under paid, unrealistic expectations,

    MAA2019-08-13
  8. "Housekeeper"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Housekeeper in Virginia Beach, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at MAA full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Bonuses and good management vacation and sick time ok.

    Cons

    So far none that I can think of.

    MAA2019-08-11
  9. "Refreshing experience in conventional housing."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Property Manager in Richmond, VA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at MAA full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Incentive hours for weekends. Insurance Training Office culture

    Cons

    Age of properties Too much focus on benchmarks

    Advice to Management

    Listen to onsite team feedback without thinking more training is needed.

    MAA2019-08-03

    MAA Response

    August 13, 2019Communications Manager

    We are proud to offer our associates competitive benefits, engaging training, and a rich culture here at MAA. We hear your advice and are always working on ways we can improve. Thank you for your feedback!

  10. "Great Place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Accounting 

    I worked at MAA full-time

    Pros

    Nice family atmosphere. Great place to work

    Cons

    N/A- all pros, no cons

    MAA2019-07-25
Found 270 reviews
</>Embed