MarkLogic Reviews | Glassdoor

MarkLogic Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 116 reviews

4.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
76%
Recommend to a Friend
94%
Approve of CEO
MarkLogic CEO Gary Bloom
Gary Bloom
82 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great product you can believe in(in 10 reviews)

  • "Mostly great people with the exception of a few managers(in 8 reviews)

Cons
  • "provides an almost useless 401k match(in 9 reviews)

  • "Winning the hearts and minds of developers who gravitate to open source can be hard(in 4 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great Team"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Social Media Marketing Manager in San Carlos, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at MarkLogic full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great team Engaged management Good benefits including pet insurance and unlimited* PTO

    Cons

    The soda machine has too many options.

    MarkLogic2019-02-25
  2. Helpful (2)

    "People who care held back by pockets of ineffective management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at MarkLogic full-time

    Pros

    Great product. Sharp people. Customer focused. Some pockets of the company are still fantastic. Look for the stable high performing teams. Those are the ones still worth joining.

    Cons

    Certain teams are not currently able to retain strong senior talent. All have left for the same reasons.

    Advice to Management

    Employees are not heard, or are heard but dismissed, or heard but no real changes are made. Easy to understand why affected teams are seeing heavy attrition among their strongest contributors.

    MarkLogic2019-04-24
  3. "Probably the best company culture I've ever seen"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Technical Leader in San Carlos, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at MarkLogic full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Top to bottom, very collaborative and innovative culture. Great people doing great work.

    Cons

    Not that this is their fault, but San Carlos is an expensive place to live. The alternative is a long commute.

    MarkLogic2019-02-06
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Mostly Positive"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Director 
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at MarkLogic full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Nice People overall. Good Technology. Strong CEO.. Not great Sales Leadership. Hard Working Sales Reps and Pre-Sales.

    Cons

    Wonderful organization that is still trying to find its niche outside of Federal space

    Advice to Management

    Need to grow US business with strong, no nonsense US Sales Leadership. The strong Sales leaders are outside the US creating the CEO to run run sales in the US and US sales leadership to be very tactical.

    MarkLogic2019-02-17
  5. Helpful (4)

    "Lucky me!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Engineering Staff in San Carlos, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at MarkLogic full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    . Real cubicles and not an open office. . We work on state-of-the-art technology. . Diverse and competent co-workers. I have yet to come across any "dead weight." . Free coffee, tea, cappuccino, a Coca-Cola Freestyle machine, and diverse munchies. . Thursdays are "work at home" day. You can also work at home as needed. . Dog-friendly work environment. . Free lunch on Tuesdays. . On-site weekly yoga classes. ....

    Show More

    Cons

    Caveat: I have written some truly scathing reviews of former employers. I'm therefore trying to write this to be helpful rather than an "I drank the Kool-Aid" review. . The 401k matching could be better. . The commute sucks no matter where you come from. . It would be nice if the cubicle walls were a little higher and the cubes were more private. . No health club membership benefit. . Nobody brings in cats, birds,...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    It's refreshing to work at a company with competent management that cares about the welfare of its employees. I'm glad you're risk-averse when it comes to financial management. Better 401k matching and a real health club benefit would be nice, but I trust you'll give them to us when the company can handle the added expenses. Similarly, I trust that you'll wait until the time is right (if ever) to bring the company public.

    MarkLogic2018-08-27
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Great Technology"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Consultant 
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at MarkLogic full-time for more than 6 years

    Pros

    Great technology and vision -- on what a database should be able to do.

    Cons

    The product is not easy to understand or use -- and the company seems to like to keep it that way.

    Advice to Management

    Invest in a user interface.

    MarkLogic2018-07-24

    MarkLogic Response

    August 6, 2018SVP, WW Consulting and Training

    Thank you for the feedback. I agree that our technology is amazing. MarkLogic is committed to making education for the product easily accessible and geared towards ramping new developers and technologists. MarkLogic University offers all of its materials and courses free to anyone ...

    Show More
  7. Helpful (5)

    "Great company to work for; the future is cloudy"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Carlos, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at MarkLogic full-time for more than 4 years

    Pros

    - The people are awesome, they're smart and great to work with. - Very horizontal structure so VPs and even the CEO are easy to talk to. - Technology is really good. - Schedule is flexible, just get your stuff done. - Awesome culture, it's a fun environment.

    Cons

    - Very low name recognition in the market. Mongo and Oracle doing well while AWS/Azure coming in from below. - What will happen? Acquisition? IPO? - Sad 401k match. - Many strong employees have left recently.

    MarkLogic2018-06-21
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Great tech that customers don't know about"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at MarkLogic full-time

    Pros

    Excellent technology Great people to work with

    Cons

    Ineffective marketing (people who are looking for a solutions that MarkLogic can solve have still have a hard time finding us). Some management issues

    Advice to Management

    Figure out how to reach people when they are doing their independent research better. Get SEO right. Everyone googles.

    MarkLogic2018-05-31
  9. Helpful (6)

    "Falling behind the pack"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at MarkLogic full-time

    Pros

    - Nice people. Collegiate culture - Better than average comp - Upscale offices - Product works as advertised - Landed at prestigious companies, but difficulty expanding

    Cons

    - Sr Exec team is stagnant and insular - Content to use PS and renewals as a cash cow at expense of investing for license growth - Battle with MongoDB is over and Mongo has won - No brand recognition or marketing

    Advice to Management

    Sell the IP to a legacy SW company who wants to tuck in a NoSQL product to fill out their lineup

    MarkLogic2018-03-21
  10. Helpful (2)

    "Great Product, Great People, Very Enterprise Focused, Needs Better Marketing"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Consultant 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at MarkLogic full-time for more than 4 years

    Pros

    I don't think I ever met anyone that worked at MarkLogic that didn't think the core product was outstanding. The culture at MarkLogic is very friendly and pretty much everyone is super smart. Leadership especially in consulting services is really helpful and supportive. Most people are very loyal to the product and the company. I've met many co-workers here that have become good friends here.

    Cons

    Burnout in professional services can be a problem even though there are very good vacation policies. From a company perspective, obviously everyone is getting eaten by AWS and Azure to a lesser extent. The company has basically decided to not really compete in that market, which may or may not work. The outlook is maybe not as bright as it was a few years ago, but I don't think the product is any less outstanding.

    Advice to Management

    I do think a managed MarkLogic solution on Azure and AWS is a must. The world is going to PaaS and SaaS and MarkLogic needs to embrace it at some point, even though that's not where the money is right now.

    MarkLogic2018-03-23
Found 116 reviews