Mary Kay Reviews

Updated May 23, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
4.0
86%
Recommend to a Friend
98%
Approve of CEO
Mary Kay President and CEO David B. Holl
David B. Holl
366 Ratings
  1. Featured Review

    "Best company I've ever worked for"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in Dallas, TX
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Mary Kay full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Competitive pay, excellent benefits Ethical, supportive management Career opportunities given to internal candidates

    Cons

    Upward mobility can be slow due to lack of turnover Inconsistent flexibility Old fashioned dress code

    Mary Kay2019-08-12
  2. "A great company to work for"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Independent Beauty Consultant in Huntsville, AL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Mary Kay full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Opportunities to move up in the company. Earning special prizes in addition to money. Flexibility.

    Cons

    Sometimes it takes a little while to see results

    Mary Kay2019-05-13
  3. "Mary Kay is awesome"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Independent Beauty Consultant 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Mary Kay part-time

    Pros

    I love working for Mary Kay because it really has great products that I love and my customers love too!

    Cons

    There really are no cons for working for Mary Kay

    Mary Kay2020-05-22
  4. "Good opportunity for growth"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Representative in Houston, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Mary Kay full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good opportunity for growth advancements

    Cons

    No cons, very flexible sched

    Mary Kay2020-05-19
  5. "AMAZING Company to Work For"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Coordinator in Addison, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Mary Kay full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great culture, good benefits, excellent employee engagement

    Cons

    Can be a little slow to change

    Continue reading
    Mary Kay2020-04-13
  6. "Overpromised, underdelivered"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Indepedent Sales Director in Dallas, TX
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Mary Kay full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    First let me say, I was not a corporate of employee but an independent 1099 consultant, became a director, drove the "free" car for four years. Great Culture, faith-based, great training, friends

    Cons

    There is a lot of hype, but to truly make GOOD money, you need to eat, sleep and breathe Mary Kay. From my experience, the top director and nationals who are making six figures and above do not truly have the God first, family second, career third balance at all. It's definitely career first to really make a great living. By the way, the free car is anything but free. You work your butt off for it and have to work just as hard to keep it. If you take the car option and miss quote, you will have to make lease payments yourself. My advice: take the cash, not the car option.

    Mary Kay2020-03-25
  7. "The employees and culture is outstanding"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director in Dallas, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Mary Kay full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    The home/ work balance is appreciated

    Cons

    At times, slow to change or implement.

    Mary Kay2020-02-09
  8. "I love this company!"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director in Dallas, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Mary Kay full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    I love the culture and values. Awesome balance between family and career.

    Cons

    Like all companies, Mary Kay struggles at times, but is always striving to be better.

    Mary Kay2020-02-03
  9. "Great place to work"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manager in Dallas, TX
    Recommends

    I worked at Mary Kay full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good working culture and environment. From my experience, the men were gentlemen.

    Cons

    Some departments are more difficult to work with than others.

    Mary Kay2020-01-16
  10. "Too much overhead for me"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Sales Consultant in Spring Hill, FL
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Mary Kay full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Challenging and I loved meeting all the new clients

    Cons

    It just took too much money to travel and keep all the new products in stock.

    Continue reading
    Mary Kay2020-01-03
Viewing 1 - 10 of 674 Reviews