KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

MasteryConnect

Is this your company?

MasteryConnect

Add a Review

MasteryConnect Reviews

Updated Feb 2, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 46 of over 46 reviews

3.5
60%
Recommend to a Friend
36%
Approve of CEO
MasteryConnect Co-Founder/CEO Mick Hewitt (no image)
Mick Hewitt
11 Ratings

The latest conversations about Tech

Join the conversation on

Tech

1y

a 

Technical Account Manager

Being a woman in tech, I only recently started advocating for myself at work about advancement opportunities. Because of this I wanted to ask this question to my male counterparts. When you have 1:1's with your direct reports and talk about career growth / aspirations what is your managers’ response typically? I’d like to gauge how my experience (negative) differs from others. For instance are you met with blockades, enthusiasm, dread, etc?

402

60 Comments

Join the conversation on

Top Review Highlights by Sentiment

Pros
  • "Great people to work with and for.(in 9 reviews)
  • "Great benefits.(in 8 reviews)
  • "Unlimited PTO.(in 4 reviews)
  • "Pay is decent and they pay 100% of benefits.(in 3 reviews)
Cons
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
  1. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Weed and Feed

    Mar 5, 2017 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great people to work with and for. Strong sense of Team and unified vision for the company. Finally have a mission statement and clear sense of vision. Executive Team loves their company and want to be around to help it grow in a strong and meaningful way that can provide careers for us long-term (instead of grow as fast as you can to sell). People at MasteryConnect are creative, supportive, approachable and encourage you to speak up and reach out.

    Cons

    Still feel some effects of previous selfish and poor management that caused the 2 RIF's.

    Continue reading
    2 people found this review helpful
  2. 3.0
    Former Employee, more than 8 years

    Fast paced, innovative work environment

    Feb 2, 2021 - Account Executive in New York, NY
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Transformative Technology for the Classroom

    Cons

    Some Schools / Districts are not ready for the changes we empower

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  3. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Amazing company with a beautiful mission

    Jan 22, 2016 - Anonymous Employee in Salt Lake City, UT
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    MasteryConnect is an amazing place to work with unbelievable benefits, a super fun culture - work hard play hard atmosphere with really driven and self motivated teammates and leadership. The company goals and mission are all aligned to making the best and most efficient tool for educators. What I love and appreciate the most is the connection that every employee has to education. The CEO is a strong leader who LISTENS and receives feedback from the team to make the environment better in any way that he can. The benefits are hugely impactful - they pay 100% health & Dental insurance for you AND your family, stock options, and more. One thing that I appreciated SO much when I started working at MasteryConnect is I received a handwritten note from the CEO for Christmas. That had never happened to me before. He knows every single employee and makes an effort to get to know them on a personal level. I've never felt more a part of a team in a work place.

    Cons

    When you are really passionate about something, you give it your all - and that can mean that you may put in a lot of hours and get very emotionally connected. I don't necessarily see this as a con, but some might.

    Continue reading
    2 people found this review helpful
  4. 4.0
    Current Employee

    Keep on Trackin'

    Jan 12, 2016 - Software Engineer 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Foremost the best thing about Mastery Connect is the the People. Undoubtedly the best collection of people I have been able to work with in my career. My second most favorite pro of working here is the purpose and services it provides. We have a great culture of supporting teachers and students, and is very fulfilling to know that my efforts translate directly to helping children and teachers alike on a very personal level. Other pros include phenomenal benefits package (health, eye, dental, public transit, etc), great swag, and lunches catered in three times a week. There are great opportunities for career growth as the company continues to grow and expand. Every employee is more than a number, and has more of a voice in decisions than I have experienced in other companies.

    Cons

    Like with any company there are always drawbacks. Sometimes the stress level and demand can be a bit challenging. We have a mantra of working hard so we can play hard and sometimes that line can get a bit fuzzy. The company although doing well has experienced its fair share of growing pains. This is fully expected and sometimes is too much for some individuals. Change is constant here and sometimes that means that management or others gets things wrong. That also means that it isn't firm or set in stone either.

    Continue reading
    3 people found this review helpful
  5. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Awesome Place to Work

    Jan 12, 2016 - Software Engineer in Salt Lake City, UT
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    This company is an awesome place to work. The benefits are the best I've seen. The environment is creative and fun. There's a fully stocked kitchen and meals are catered three times a week (sometimes more!). As an engineer, you have the opportunity to work with new technology all the time. Often, we define the stack that's best suited for the task, not saddled with a specific set of technology simply because "it's what we always use." You'll have the opportunity to work with brilliant people who are constantly pushing what we can do. It's a challenging work place that is highly motivated and fun. You'll love it here! What's the best part? You may have thought I already covered that, but no. The best part is knowing that you are working in an industry and building a product that is changing people's lives for the better. It's used every day by millions of people and it's making a difference every day. That's truly the best part.

    Cons

    There's really no cons. It's what you make of it. If you are looking for a negative you probably will dig up something. But nothing stands out. There's so many positives to this job, it's really really hard to find something to complain about. And why would you WANT to find something? That doesn't sound fun. :(

    Continue reading
    4 people found this review helpful
  6. 2.0
    Former Employee

    Toxic.

    Mar 30, 2016 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    - Incredible benefits - Decent pay - Great perks - catered lunch 3x/week, tickets to sports and music events, ski passes, beer every Friday afternoon, mass transit passes - Casual work environment

    Cons

    - Upper management has no idea what they're doing. They don't listen to advice from lower-level employees until it's too late to make any effective decisions. They are very set in their ways, and though they'll always say they're open to new ideas, they really aren't. - Product is an absolute mess. No one can conclusively decide on priority of what should be done and when, and at any minute the heads of Product will change their minds and decide to go a completely different direction anyway. - Big lack of product knowledge, which is probably even worse now that 60% of their engineers have been laid off, along with a ton of QA people and Product Managers. - Pressure to be an 'A Player' results in employees getting called into meetings if they are suspected of doubting or being frustrated with upper management decisions. Current and former employees being lectured or bullied about having their own opinions. Very toxic.

    Continue reading
    10 people found this review helpful
  7. 2.0
    Current Employee

    CEO asked us to write reviews

    Feb 5, 2016 - Senior Software Engineer in Salt Lake City, UT
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great benefits. Fun coworkers. Very transparent about finances, sales and other things like that. Some flexibility to choose technology to use as long as you can back it up. Sometimes management has made a decision for you so you might have to fight to do what you want. There is a quiet room when the open office becomes too much.

    Cons

    Lots of legacy code that is tightly coupled, poorly written, not documented and not unit tested. All of these factors increase the number of bugs introduced and have significantly slowed productivity. Lots of decisions are made at the top without input from the bottom so you often feel like a code monkey. If you have a better way to do something then you may have to fight to convince others that it is the better option. This can make you feel like your opinions/expertise aren't wanted. I don't get the feeling that management trusts their employees. Poor planning and management causes projects to take longer than they should or they never get finished. Engineering Team Leads have a lot of responsibilities that at times are impossible to keep up with causing deadlines to be missed. Open office is very loud and distracting.

    Continue reading
    15 people found this review helpful
  8. 4.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Time Well Spent

    Dec 2, 2016 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Work was rewarding with knowing that what I did directly helped teachers and students. Co-workers were excellent, positive people who I loved working with. Lots of good benefits/perks (unlimited PTO, nice computers, snacks. etc). Very open work environment that allows freedom to explore and try new things that can improve the product.

    Cons

    Like a lot of the recent reviews state, it has become apparent that there were/are a lot of issues with company management. The founders had thought they'd work on MasteryConnect for several years and then sell it off to move on. While I definitely don't understand all the intricacies of their goals, it does seem like they are still trying to figure out what to do now that it hasn't sold. They speak optimistically about it's future, but I think for most employees, there is a lot of uncertainty.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  9. 2.0
    Former Employee

    Unseasoned Management, and It Shows ...

    Apr 28, 2016 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Catered Lunches, unlimited PTO, paid benefits, midlevel management and below are amazing people to work with. Flexible schedules.

    Cons

    The potential this company has at face value is for sure enough to get you through the door ... but when it comes down to brass tacks: Typical start-up, consumed with chasing the shiny penny. Ultimately, creating a product a mile wide and an inch deep, and led by original upper management that is resistant to change or any strong personality type. As a woman in tech, I tend to be a more sensitive to my next point, (take that for what it's worth,) but going through a recent round of major layoffs nearly all candidates asked to leave the company were women. I felt that most women in the company were not valued or listened to, myself included. The CEO has created a culture of superficial praise. Do you like +1 emails? Well this is the place for you then ... there is a constant barrage of emails sent on a minute by minute basis congratulating people for essentially doing their job. Through all of this ... the culture is one of MAJOR distrust.

    Continue reading
    12 people found this review helpful
  10. 5.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Excellent Work Environment

    Mar 8, 2016 - QA Engineer in Salt Lake City, UT
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    MasteryConnect places a big emphasis on "culture fit" during the hiring process, and the results are outstanding. The employees are bright, motivated, and easy to get along with, which is excellent chemistry for producing high-quality products and services. Also, everyone's voice is heard at MasteryConnect. All employees have the opportunity to innovate and improve the company's process and software, and there are excellent opportunities for career advancement.

    Cons

    The product is still evolving and developing, so there is a lot of work to be done. Some improvements and features have to wait because of the large product backlog. Really, that's not a con, though. That just means there's always work to do, and it keeps us all motivated. Coming up with negative aspects of MasteryConnect is difficult.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 46 Reviews

MasteryConnect Reviews FAQs

MasteryConnect has an overall rating of 3.5 out of 5, based on over 46 reviews left anonymously by employees. 60% of employees would recommend working at MasteryConnect to a friend and 50% have a positive outlook for the business. This rating has been stable over the past 12 months.

According to anonymously submitted Glassdoor reviews, MasteryConnect employees rate their compensation and benefits as 4.4 out of 5. Find out more about salaries and benefits at MasteryConnect. This rating has been stable over the past 12 months.

60% of MasteryConnect employees would recommend working there to a friend based on Glassdoor reviews. Employees also rated MasteryConnect 3.3 out of 5 for work life balance, 3.6 for culture and values and 3.3 for career opportunities.

According to reviews on Glassdoor, employees commonly mention the pros of working at MasteryConnect to be culture, career development, benefits and the cons to be senior leadership, management.

Popular Careers with MasteryConnect Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at MasteryConnect? Share Your Experiences

or