Meditech Reviews | Glassdoor

Meditech Reviews

Updated Oct 9, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
61%
Recommend to a Friend
73%
Approve of CEO
Meditech CEO Howard Messing
Howard Messing
247 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Low pay, require you to work outside of work hours sometimes for no compensation(in 52 reviews)

  • "Low salary, leadership is not concerned with employee frustrations(in 41 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great work and life balance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Meditech full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great people, interested in your personal growth.

    Cons

    Going through some growing pains, and reorgs happen frequently.

    Meditech2019-08-23
  2. "Great Company to Work For"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Senior Applications Specialist 

    I worked at Meditech full-time

    Pros

    Benefits, annual picnic, opportunities for advanced technical training

    Cons

    Entry level jobs available only customer support roles

    Meditech2019-09-28
  3. "Good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Implementation Specialist 

    I have been working at Meditech full-time

    Pros

    The travel and coworkers are the best part.

    Cons

    The training is rushed and management is lax.

    Meditech2019-10-10
  4. "Good Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Implementation Specialist 

    I worked at Meditech full-time

    Pros

    Decent salary; Good benefits; Good work environment; Little experience needed

    Cons

    Poor management; Did not receive adequate training.

    Meditech2019-09-25
  5. Helpful (5)

    "Culture of Mediocrity"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Lead Software Tester in Foxborough, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Meditech full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    The Development division (QA) is a great place to work if you're: - Just starting out and want to get some industry experience / build your resume - Not the primary breadwinner in your household and want a job that has a pretty good health insurance plan - The kind of person who would enjoy trading money for a gig where you can work from home 40% of the time, and literally put in 30 minutes of actual work per... week, while still somehow being considered a high performer. - Someone who values job security above all. You'll never be laid off from this job. Unless you do something egregiously bad you aren't going to be fired either. The expectations are low and the culture is laid back. If you're in the right group you'll work with some good people while learning about the world of Health Informatics / Public Health, or Agile Development methodologies, that can get you a good position at your next job.

    Show More

    Cons

    Your pay is going to be abysmal. Seasoned coworkers will tell you that if you stick it out for the long haul that you'll be rewarded; that may have been the case if you started in 1985 but it simply isn't true anymore. Pretty much all the recent changes to salaries, bonuses, benefits, etc are great for long term employees but screw over anyone with under 15 years of tenure. Most of the product is written with... antiquated and proprietary technology that will not be applicable anywhere else. It's easy to get trapped here if you aren't careful. Lobby to get placed on a team that's actually working with code that other industries have heard of, and barring that, really take the opportunity to get good with using the third party tools like Jira so you can at least have something to put on a resume that'll be seen as appealing to a new company. You'll hear that the health insurance is stellar. Again, this was the case for the last few decades but these days any other tech company is going to be offering comparable coverage. You may have to pay a little more but it'd be hugely offset by the extra money you'd be making. Other benefits are very lacking. No 401k, and the profit sharing plan that they spin as an alternative will net you about $~10k in 5 years. When the company hiring page lists "buildings with art on the walls" as a perk of working there, read that as a red flag that they don't have much to boast about. An annual picnic with carnival rides and a couple lobsters is neat, but personally I'd rather have the option of participating in a retirement plan. The laid back culture that I listed as a Pro can of course be a Con as well. You'll be working with people, who have used a computer for 8 hours a day for 20 years, who describe themselves as "not really a computer person." Before I left for another company I thought it was normal for bugs/user stories to take weeks or months to complete, rather than the hours/days I'm seeing better engineers take now. It can be hard to care about your work when you know you can spend 7 hours a day on Reddit and still keep up with all of your expectations. Seasoned product managers, engineers, and marketing folks have been jumping ship over the last few years. The company is boasting about its 50th anniversary right now but there's a pervasive feeling that it's circling the drain. I'd be surprised if they make it to the 60th anniversary, especially with the leadership they're grooming for the upper management positions.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Congrats on making it to 50 years, but that milestone is a good chance to reevaluate the company and how the world has changed since the 1970's. Your benefits packages are no longer special in today's tech job market. Your culture of only promoting from within is admirable but it is what has lead to the completely stale culture that has emerged at Meditech. Employees see through the monthly reports of how great... you're doing -- especially when at the end of the year there's an announcement that bonuses are shrinking, stock is still not being offered, and the budget for raises is being reduced. In my time there I saw a handful of talented people and a tremendous amount of dead weight. I'd consider myself dead weight since I know how little work I did, and yet my performance eclipsed that of many of my peers. I truly respect your commitment to never having lay-offs but it is long past due to trim the fat at your company. You know all of these things already because I've heard all of these critiques levied time and time again. You badly need to stop burying your head in the sand: conduct exit interviews with departing employees, stop treating complaints to management / that "Ask the Ombudsmen" letter seriously rather than seeing them as opportunities for you to reiterate your dug-in position for the umpteenth time. You have all the markings of a company circling the drain, and reshuffling the same 10 managers into slightly differently-named divisions isn't going to change that. Be better. Know when it's time to ask for help and accept big change.

    Show More
    Meditech2019-09-17
  6. Helpful (2)

    "Dead-end job, but has job security"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Programmer Analyst in Westwood, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Meditech full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Job security, good benefits, knowledgeable co-workers, good work-life balance

    Cons

    Use proprietary programming languages, dismal culture, monotonous, must work for a minimum of five years to reap quality benefits, low pay, no retirement plan

    Advice to Management

    Better staff starts with more competitive compensation packages.

    Meditech2019-09-25
  7. "crazy"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Marketing Solutions Specialist 

    I have been working at Meditech full-time

    Pros

    fun most of the time

    Cons

    boring at times, long days

    Meditech2019-08-31
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Good Benefits overall, vacation , sick, 13 holidays"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Applications Specialist in Boston, MA
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Meditech full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Good Benefits, pay 90% health insurance

    Cons

    Company needs to beef up its Development and Quality Control

    Advice to Management

    Each division is a silo - need divisions to speak to each other

    Meditech2019-09-11
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Good for Starting Out"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Implementation and Training Specialist in Framingham, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Meditech full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    -Travel all over the country with expenses reimbursed and you get to keep your travel points/rewards -Good for a starting job out of college to gain experience in a professional health setting -Have met some really awesome people -Annual company picnic with free lobster and open bar (beer and wine) -Rewarded for longevity with inclusion in the Profit-Sharing Trust (after 2 years) -Excellent health insurance... benefits (BCBS) -A very professional setting with good people -Yearly raise guaranteed, amount varying -Livable starting salary, although not extremely high, especially for Boston area

    Show More

    Cons

    -Very long training period; was under the impression I would start traveling much sooner than I did (anticipated ~3-4 months, didn't go out until ~7) -Depending on your group and application, hours are not very flexible -Depending on group/application, employees can't earn a work-from-home day until 2-3 years in -Not a lot of growth opportunities -No 401K program; only Profit-Sharing Trust after 2 years -Poor... transparency from higher ups about big decisions for the company -Hiring process can make people wait a long time, because they might want to hire you but haven't been allocated a hiring slot to fill -A lot of learning by experience because there's not enough time to cover everything; big on throwing you into the fire and seeing if you can figure it out.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    -Be more transparent with your employees. -Be conscious of the age group you're trying to hire. If you want to hire and retain new college grads, there are some structural things that need to be adjusted, especially with so many great startup-like companies in the Boston area. Young professionals like flexibility with their careers. -Offer more seminars/classes on career development, women in business/technology,... personal development opportunities; even if there are not an extensive number of career growth opportunities within applications, it's important to keep your employees as well-rounded individuals who are constantly growing and understanding how to challenge themselves.

    Show More
    Meditech2019-08-27
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Could be so much more..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Marketing Consultant 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Meditech full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Provides good entry level experience Some great people work there Competitive health benefits

    Cons

    No 401k/retirement options Salary for sales is not competitive with market Long sales cycle Products take too long to develop Territories too small to make any money No inside sales support High turnover in demo team Never higher management/executives from the outside so things don’t change and there is no opportunity for advancement

    Advice to Management

    There’s too many sales managers. Restructure but give the reps a larger territory and inside sales to support them (like all other sales companies) so they have the opportunity to actually make money. Pay a competitive salary. Offer a 401k. Let them work from home. Be more flexible with travel options. Specifically flights and hotels (being on the road isn’t easy!) Incentivize your demonstrators for deals they are... part of! Sales and marketing will actually work together better and marketing won’t turnover so quickly.

    Show More
    Meditech2019-09-12
Found 548 reviews