KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo
See All Photos

NJM Insurance

Engaged Employer

NJM Insurance

Add a Review

NJM Insurance Reviews

Updated Jul 22, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 308 of over 331 reviews

3.0
51%
Recommend to a Friend
55%
Approve of CEO
NJM Insurance President and Chief Executive Officer  Mitch Livingston (no image)
Mitch Livingston
45 Ratings
Pros
  • "Free soup; nicely subsidized lunch - low cost to employee(in 52 reviews)

  • "Good benefits and decent PTO (that you typically can’t even use)(in 29 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Closed old boys club; must know upper management(in 20 reviews)

  • "Traditional work environment lacking drive for innovation(in 11 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Ratings by Demographics

    This rating reflects the overall rating of NJM Insurance and is not affected by filters.

    Want more demographic options?
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year
      Featured Review

      Great Company!

      Dec 2, 2020 - Specialist 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      NJM is a company that cares about it's employees and community. They support learning and development and give you the time and attention to grow in your field. We are growing in spite of covid.

      Cons

      It is harder to meet new people outside of the department due to Covid.

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful
    2. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      They take care of employees so they can take care of customers

      Jun 25, 2021 - Personal Lines Representative 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Outstanding retirement matching, great health benefits, friendly people to help you succeed, and a lot of room for growth!

      Cons

      None that I can think of.....1 extra shift a month for the first two years, but you are well compensated.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    3. 2.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Once A Great Place To Work

      Jul 15, 2021 - Licensed Account Representative in Hammonton, NJ
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Very good pay Great co-workers/management Excellent benefits Great paid time off

      Cons

      Micro-managing Hard to get time off Overwhelming Insensitivity of employees life out of work Barely any diversity when promoting (Hammonton office)

      Continue reading
      6 people found this review helpful
    4. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 8 years

      Good experience if you’re willing to put in the work

      Jul 15, 2021 - Personal Lines in Hammonton, NJ
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Management is in tune with what their employees are asking for and you can tell they are putting effort into making positive changes all of the time. Not only did we stay employed and actively working during the pandemic, but those who didn’t have the ability to work at home also continued to receive a salary and management worked with them to provide them with company issued equipment in order to let them work at home. Several of my friends needed some sort of accommodation in the beginning of COVID because (like all of us) they had personal or family obligations. Again, these employees continued to be paid. I don’t know of many companies that provided that security to employees. We also had LOTS of promotions in our department. And a ton of hiring. From my perspective, that means workers are getting the coaching that they need to advance. Our leaders actually started a Diversity Forum for the company as well. If you work hard, communicate, and really be accountable for your own performance you do well with this company. If you do sub-par work and refuse to accept that you are responsible for your own performance, you probably have several complaints.

      Cons

      We’re starting to return to the office and while it’s staggered at the moment, soon we’ll be back full time. I have friends who weren’t working from home before the pandemic and they have to go into the office much more often than those of us who did telecommute before. Many of us feel that we should be able to work from home much more often than we were before COVID. We made so many changes in order to be able to work from home, it’s silly to go backward and return to a world where we limit work-life balance. Also, I work in one of our offices and report to a supervisor in a different office. Something I think is really amazing & much needed in order to get us all talking more often…but the reason we have to return to office is “because face to face development is best.” I’ll still never see my Supervisor but when we meet virtually i actually feel more comfortable talking to them & my peers. Many of us have gotten closer to our teams through meeting by video.

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful
    5. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Great Company Crazy Load

      Jul 21, 2021 - Property Damage Adjuster in Parsippany, NJ
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Co workers, ease of job, benefits

      Cons

      Job that 5 people do elsewhere is put into 1 person here

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Great Employer

      Jul 22, 2021 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great employer and great colleagues. Great benefits.

      Cons

      Need to implement WFH for positions that can be strictly remote like IT positions.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    7. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 8 years

      Inflexible

      Jul 16, 2021 - Underwriter 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Relatively good wages, health insurance is decent

      Cons

      Lack of diversity, lack of flexibility ESPECIALLY when returning to the office "after" COVID. They overworked their employees ESPECIALLY during COVID and did not compensate them

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    8. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 8 years

      Agent

      Jul 22, 2021 - Insurance Agent in Hammonton, NJ
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great salary Great company to work for

      Cons

      Very hard to get days off.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    9. 2.0
      Current Employee, more than 10 years

      Toxic work environment

      Jul 7, 2021 - Insurance Specialist 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Met some really good people

      Cons

      Micromanagement...favoritism..no matter how many calls you take or how productive you are they find something to nitpick about...upper management doesn't care how much pressure nor workload they put on the contact center

      Continue reading
      3 people found this review helpful
    10. 1.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Good if your desperate

      Jun 28, 2021 - Personal Lines Representative in West Trenton, NJ
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good amount of pto and ability to earn comp time

      Cons

      anagement is so far removed, they promote people and leave them in “supervisor” position but yet they have no knowledge of the procedures and what is going on. Your micromanaged from the moment you log in to the moment you sign off. There is a department called wfm that monitors you. If you hang up the phone and don’t go in quick enough they will call your supervisor to rush you back in to take another phone call. Your truly just a body to answer phones in personal lines. They also have been known to block off an upcoming month so no one can take off if they “forecast” it will be a busy month. They are basically equivalent to weathermen … they get paid to be wrong. You also have to bid for time off a year in advance cause you know everyone who has children knows their schedule a year in advance. If something comes up on a day that is blocked out you can put yourself on the waitlist but most times you won’t find out your approved until the late in the day or you can get special consideration which you only get one special consideration event a year. Your given sick time in the beginning of the year, they aren’t aloud to ask why your taking it but if you use it all and call out your at risk of termination it doesn’t matter that your have 38 hours of pto left and comp time. This pandemic has brought out the worst in the customers! The abuse and disrespect has been out of control as well as work volume, that it has taken a toll on a lot of employees mental health causing them to go on leave. There is truly no care for the employees and the only care upper management has is the growth. It’s known that HR puts comments to make it look like it’s a great place to work. I’m sure other departments are better but personal lines is awful! Save yourself and apply to other insurance companies they pay better to.

      Continue reading
      9 people found this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 308 Reviews

    Popular Careers with NJM Insurance Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at NJM Insurance? Share Your Experiences

    or