NineSigma Reviews | Glassdoor

NineSigma Reviews

Updated Feb 13, 2017

To filter reviews, or .

Found 13 reviews

3.5
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
48%
Recommend to a Friend
42%
Approve of CEO
NineSigma CEO Andreas M. Zynga (no image)
Andreas M. Zynga
5 Ratings
  1. "Healthy Work Environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Research Intern in Cleveland, OH
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at NineSigma for less than a year

    Pros

    Friendly People; Flexible Accommodations; Interesting Work

    Cons

    Somewhat lacking in work accountability

    NineSigma2017-02-13
  2. "Graphic Designer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Contractor - Anonymous Contractor in Cleveland, OH

    I worked at NineSigma for less than a year

    Pros

    Excellent direction and feedback from Marketing Director. Interesting and varied projects. Open to suggestions, quick feedback, pays on time. Developed very productive working relationships with nice people.

    Cons

    The only con would be that their structure and/or personnel evolved over time and interns performed some of the work I had been doing and/or other people came into favor, as can happen. I maintain some connections with this company, which can lead to other work. So this is not really a con. Must reveal that it's been a bit longer than 2012 since I worked with them, but I did not have that choice on this form.

    NineSigma2016-12-09
  3. Helpful (2)

    "Great Company, Average Management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Cleveland, OH
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at NineSigma full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The clients and the projects are interesting, and the outcomes are at times inspirational.

    Cons

    Unorganized management. Big ideas and vision, but not enough focus to see them through.

    Advice to Management

    Adding some level of middle-management could help fill the communication gaps between the SMT and the rest of the employees. This would also create advancement opportunities that are currently missing.

    NineSigma2016-08-13
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Good People, Shoddy Management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at NineSigma

    Pros

    The people working at this company are young, dedicated, and talented. The atmosphere is laid back, open, and friendly.

    Cons

    Management seems to be making things up as they go along.

    Advice to Management

    More transparency is needed. Pick a direction and stay with it.

    NineSigma2016-07-26
  5. "Good experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     in Cleveland, OH

    I have been working at NineSigma for less than a year

    Pros

    Forward thinking company helping many companies to innovate their product line and improve innovation

    Cons

    Not really any. Not exposed to their employers to write about it.

    NineSigma2016-02-08
  6. "Very rare place to work."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Cleveland, OH
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at NineSigma full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    If you value intelligence, heart, and grit in your coworkers, you will find NineSigma a very welcome workplace. I spent two years alongside some of the greatest minds around - both in the local office and with the international team. The program managers are extremely talented, relatable, and passionate about their work. Senior management tries to listen to employees and welcomes input... and also tries to deliver... on what they promise. The technical community of solution providers is really incredible and fascinating. It's a cliche to say that you learn something new every day on the job or you enjoy work that's never boring, blah blah blah. But this is actually true at NineSigma. You WILL do lots of things that aren't in your job description, you WILL learn about everything from hydrophobic surfaces to blockchain technologies, and you'll never be bored. And you really have to work somewhere else before realizing how nimble things were at NineSigma. Trying new things was a constant mantra and often put into practice (how rare is that!?). My small team worked well together, and my boss - part of senior management - was a fantastic mentor. I had lots of room to explore, grow, and take on new responsibilities every week. Very grateful to my boss for that opportunity and guidance. Always felt like I was daily learning more than MBA classes ever offered.

    Show More

    Cons

    There is tension between a few departments in the organization, and I'm wagering that some negativity here stems from that. However, I completely disagree with the previous reviewer that "Almost everyone is unhappy in their job and it shows" - this is patently untrue for most of the company. An anonymous HR survey revealed that the vast majority of the company was pretty happy with their work and their colleagues... but frustrated with universal issues - lack of communication between departments, compensation could be higher, etc. On that note, I did leave NS in pursuit of higher compensation and career growth, but I had to sacrifice a work culture and people that I really miss. It's easy to complain that the company/people are slow to change, but you don't realize how great the culture is until you get to a bigger company. And while NineSigma's culture is great, my other concern was the scalability and long term outlook of open innovation in general. I think there are some exciting opportunities for NS in the future, but it may need to be nimble enough to iterate its business model again.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Continue to explore and embrace new paths of open innovation. Find another gamechanger like GCs. Expect that your scientific community is changing demographically and will start to need a different form of engagement. Can't wait to see a NineSights app!!

    NineSigma2016-01-27
  7. "Trying to stay alive"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at NineSigma full-time

    Pros

    Interesting projects and topics, smart coworkers.

    Cons

    Management is all over the place with their decision making one quarters strategy is completely different than the next. At this point they seem to be doing things out of desperation and not because they are doing what's best long term.

    Advice to Management

    Gain more insights from your employee's it seems like decisions are made based solely on outside opinions not those actually doing the work and interacting with the clients.

    NineSigma2016-01-24
  8. Helpful (2)

    "Internet Researcher"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at NineSigma

    Pros

    Requires a specialized type of thinking that is generally not taught anywhere else. Fun people to work with.

    Cons

    It feels there can be a disconnect between SMT and the employees. Unless you make it a note to go out and talk to SMT, you only see them at monthly company meetings.

    Advice to Management

    More transparency to employees

    NineSigma2015-06-23
  9. Helpful (2)

    "Lack of Communication Leads to Frustration"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Cleveland, OH
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at NineSigma full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Individual employees are diverse and fun to work with. Most are respectful of others.

    Cons

    Almost everyone is unhappy in their job and it shows. There is a negative energy around the office that affects daily work environments. Senior Management is very disconnected from the rest of their staff and do not do a good job communicating with one another or their employees.

    Advice to Management

    There is much disconnect from senior management to junior-level and associate-level employees. There is no clear path forward to reach achievable goals, and the strategy often shifts by the "initiative of the month". Management needs to create a clear strategy on an annual basis and inform employees of that strategy and how their tasks translate to those specific goals.

    NineSigma2015-06-26
  10. "Fast-paced and fun while constantly learning"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I have been working at NineSigma

    Pros

    The culture is incredible and the people are top notch. I've not been anywhere before that allows employees to forge a path the way that flexibility is afforded at NineSigma. The culture is quirky-cool and the business is fascinating. Like being in the leading edge? This is the place to be.

    Cons

    High growth environment and the desire to be easy to do business with means steady adaptation and change based on market feedback. This can cause some stress, but it will definitely cause personal development.

    Advice to Management

    Stay connected to your teams. The collaboration and closeness of professional relationships are key to the success of the business.

    NineSigma2014-07-02
Found 13 reviews