OpenGov Reviews | Glassdoor

OpenGov Reviews

Updated Sep 9, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 75 reviews

4.5
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
87%
Recommend to a Friend
90%
Approve of CEO
OpenGov CEO Zac Bookman (no image)
Zac Bookman
65 Ratings
Pros
  • "Mission driven company with strong values(in 12 reviews)

  • "The interview process presents you with the best people at the company, and on-boarding includes a volunteer day(in 4 reviews)

Cons
  • "Any job/work environment will come with highs and lows(in 4 reviews)

  • "(in 3 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (3)

    "A great place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at OpenGov full-time

    Pros

    Mission driven team Very inclusive and friendly culture Extremely talented team The interview process was very smooth. The recruiters and the team knew exactly what and who they were looking for.

    Cons

    No 401 k match yet

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work!

    OpenGov2019-09-09
  2. Helpful (6)

    "Extremely passionate group of dedicated folks, focusing their attention on our most important industry: our government!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Solutions Engineer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at OpenGov full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The entire company is focused on helping governments become more efficient and effective.

    Cons

    No 401k match, as of yet.

    Advice to Management

    Keep listening to our customers, they have the best and brightest ideas in the world!

    OpenGov2019-08-20
  3. Helpful (6)

    "Genuinely Passionate Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Data Migration Analyst 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at OpenGov full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - Amazing interview process. Felt that my time was valued and every step was to the point and efficient. Lissy Quentin made me feel like I mattered and was a joy to work with. She was extremely attentive and straight-forward making the entire interview process a good experience. - As a full time employee my time still feels valued and I enjoy coming in and working in a passionate environment. Everyone is welcoming... and driven. - Good on-boarding and training. This is my first job fresh out of college and I really feel like I am learning while bringing my skill set to the table.

    Show More

    Cons

    - No 401k matching yet

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the great work!

    OpenGov2019-08-19
  4. Helpful (7)

    "Wonderful People, Dedicated to the Mission"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Product Proposal Specialist in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at OpenGov full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The hiring process was by far the best experience I've ever had with a new company. Lissy Quentin was wonderful to work with. She regularly checked in with me throughout the interview process to make sure that all my questions were answered, and she was very helpful in setting clear expectations for me. I've been with the company for 3 months now, and I really love it. They care so much about hiring the right people... who care about the mission to power more effective and accountable governments. I've never worked at a company where people genuinely care about one another and strive to help each other succeed. It's an added bonus that we are helping governments where they need it the most.

    Show More

    Cons

    This is not a "con," but be prepared to work hard! Hard work pays off, and it makes it all the more worth it when you work with such a talented and friendly group of individuals.

    OpenGov2019-07-25
  5. Helpful (6)

    "Excellence from top to bottom"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at OpenGov

    Pros

    Total mission focus and team unity. Comprehensive on-boarding. Amazing HR and Executives.

    Cons

    No matching 401k (yet at least)

    OpenGov2019-07-02
  6. Helpful (7)

    "A mission driven company with a great value proposition"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Engineering Manager in Redwood City, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at OpenGov full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    -- Company is very mission driven -- People are really nice to work with, very friendly -- Relatively modern tech stack, so you can learn new things

    Cons

    -- A hard driven CEO, could be a good or bad thing depending on how you look at it. -- Prioritization are not always clear -- Multiple teams across different regions and unnecessary overhead

    OpenGov2019-06-11
  7. Helpful (11)

    "Impactful ..Once in lifetime experience.."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Engineer in Redwood City, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at OpenGov full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Very positive culture (at least in engineering). People care for each other. Good choice of technical stack. The teams are constant re-inventing themselves for better.

    Cons

    Parking situation is little tight.

    Advice to Management

    Continue the great work!

    OpenGov2019-04-16
  8. Helpful (12)

    "Engaging, fast-paced software engineering with a foundation in quality development practices and customer impact."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer in Portland, OR
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at OpenGov full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Smart, kind, hard-working coworkers Strong, people-focused leadership Direct, tangible impact to customers (governments) Culture of quality Approachable, experienced technical leaders

    Cons

    Fast-paced work environment High standards of accountability and teamwork An emerging market necessitates changing requirements and priorities

    Advice to Management

    Continue the trend of hiring and promoting those with emotional intelligence and collaborative tendencies.

    OpenGov2019-03-28
  9. Helpful (7)

    "Rare company with a strong mission"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at OpenGov full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    OpenGov's mission is its biggest asset and the people working there are motivated by that mission on a daily basis. This is the place to go to work if you are tired of counting ad clicks for your aspiring to be unicorn startup.

    Cons

    Sales first company, although in the government space that is important.

    OpenGov2019-04-17
  10. Helpful (11)

    "BEST WORKPLACE EVERRR!!!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Finance in Redwood City, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at OpenGov full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    -Mission driven -Great team work and everyone is in top of their game -Communication across the company -If you are stuck with a problem, you will have at least 20 people jumping in to help.

    Cons

    -Free meals everyday, just wish there were more selections. Only con I can think of.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the great work!!! Management really touch base with you and actually schedules one on one time for an open discussion about anything.

    OpenGov2019-03-05
Found 75 reviews