Peapod Reviews | Glassdoor

Peapod Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 198 reviews

2.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
30%
Recommend to a Friend
31%
Approve of CEO
Walt Lentz
14 Ratings
Pros
  • "You don’t have to deal with customers, it’s a pretty easy job(in 10 reviews)

  • "Great pay, Good benefits, and great hours(in 10 reviews)

Cons
  • "Long hours, you may not always have a route, vindictive supervisors(in 10 reviews)

  • "Upper management not consistent(in 7 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Good job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Delivery Driver in Baltimore, MD

    I have been working at Peapod full-time for more than 20 years

    Pros

    Lots of tips lots of tips

    Cons

    There’s people who don’t tip

    Advice to Management

    Don’t write your employees up for every little thing we work hard out theee and everyone makes mistakes

    Peapod2019-02-27
  2. "good job if you can handle it, but we don’t get payed enough, & are problems with management & working conditions"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Personal Shopper in South Setauket, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Peapod part-time for more than 4 years

    Pros

    simple job, friendly and welcoming staff, fast paced so you won’t get bored, you can put in earphones and listen to music, no dress code

    Cons

    strenuous, not payed enough, not many places or chances to advance, full time almost impossible to get, management picks favorites and doesn’t ever want to solve problems, always dirty upstairs, broken equipment, management nor the union are very helpful with problems regarding staff members

    Advice to Management

    make sure you pay attention to what’s really going on, because you’re missing how much your best workers really do and treating them unfairly. we are the ones making you look good, so please, all we ask is to be acknowledged. when your people in your staff have a problem with another worker, you need to listen. we are going around all day long, and are the eyes and ears of the entire place. trust us.

    Peapod2019-05-25
  3. "Ok company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Delivery Driver 

      I have been working at Peapod full-time

      Pros

      Good tips and hours are ok

      Cons

      Call offs, and losing so market share

      Peapod2019-04-27
    • "Worst Job Ever"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Shopper in South Setauket, NY
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I worked at Peapod part-time for more than a year

      Pros

      You can mostly choose your own schedule

      Cons

      Very rude managers, Immature coworkers, dirty environment, physically demanding, Sore back, Have to go unreasonably fast and scan 200 items per hour, Can be super crowded, Long Hours, Mandatory Overtime, Get paid less than minumum wage, extremely high turnover rate

      Advice to Management

      Increase the pay and treat your employees like human beings

      Peapod2019-05-07
    • "Peapod Ambassador/Driver"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Delivery Driver in Jersey City, NJ
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I have been working at Peapod full-time for more than 4 years

      Pros

      Depending on where your route is, you can make good tip money and never have to touch your check. Make almost 1k+ a week if you really put in hours, hours they aren't frugal with, there's always work during the busy season.

      Cons

      Very Heavy in the NY area and its annoying driving in the city. Management and Company still seem to be growing, as they don't always seem to be prepared to deal with problems. Company doesn't care for the drivers well being, they will hold you at fault for everything.

      Peapod2019-02-20
    • "Bottom tier driving job"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Delivery Driver in Chicago, IL
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I worked at Peapod full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      youre on your own, can listen to music, podcasts, etc.

      Cons

      pay is heavily dependent on tips

      Advice to Management

      none

      Peapod2019-01-28
    • Helpful (6)

      "Used to be my favorite job. Now it's a nightmare."

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Software Engineer in Chicago, IL
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I have been working at Peapod full-time for more than 20 years

      Pros

      Nice downtown office. Across the street from Metra station. Free snacks frequent lunches

      Cons

      This used to be the best job, but now that the "mothership (Ahold Retail Business Services)" has taken charge of the operation the past year has been an absolute nightmare. Although Peapod "claims" to be an "Agile" environment, senior management imposes impossible deadlines on software development; this is NOT "Agile"! Senior managers completely dismiss engineers' dire warnings about delivering product that has not been...

      Show More

      Advice to Management

      As posted before deadlines are NOT AGILE!!!! Listen to your engineers! They know what they're talking about. When you are warned about possible catastrophic downtime due to rushing in untested product, heed those warnings. When you don't listen, take responsibility and don't blame the people who warned you in the first place!

      Peapod2019-01-25
    • "Clerk"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

        I worked at Peapod part-time

        Pros

        the people there made it not so bad

        Cons

        The temperature outside hot or cold is the temperature inside and its borderline slave labor

        Peapod2018-12-05
      • Helpful (2)

        "Peapod is very confused"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
        Doesn't Recommend
        Negative Outlook
        Disapproves of CEO

        I worked at Peapod full-time for more than 4 years

        Pros

        no pros to working here

        Cons

        Poor culture at all levels

        Advice to Management

        Need new management

        Peapod2018-12-08
      • "Good experience"

        StarStarStarStarStar
          Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

          I worked at Peapod part-time

          Pros

          ample flexibility in work schedule

          Cons

          felt like I was working remotely because not that many people work in NY

          Peapod2018-10-31
        Found 198 reviews