Postmates Reviews

Updated Jul 31, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.1
55%
Recommend to a Friend
54%
Approve of CEO
Postmates Co-Founder & CEO Bastian Lehmann
Bastian Lehmann
149 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Getting deliveries out quickly and safely(in 187 reviews)

  • "Chicago weather is very unfriendly to bike couriers(in 155 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Featured Divisions of Postmates

See all divisions
  1. Postmates - Corporate HQ | Division of Postmates
    Featured Review
    COVID-19
    Helpful (1)

    "Exciting work and opportunities to grow"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Postmates full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I'm on the X team, which is sort of like a smaller startup within Postmates, so your experience may be different. I joined remotely during Covid going on, and so far I've been enjoying the work very much. My team is awesome and super supportive, it's actually surprising seeing the things you see on Glassdoor and Blind. The work so far has been technically challenging as well interesting. I've learned so much in the time I've been here and have been able to grow skills in areas that I lacked while working at my previous job. HQ has also been recently hiring a lot of new people, and a bunch of them seem like really strong hires.

    Cons

    There's lots of work and we're moving super fast. It's expected since X is a smaller startup within Postmates, but sometimes it can be a bit hard to keep up with all the projects going on. There's also tech debt that we need to start addressing as we grow in complexity

    Postmates Response

    June 24, 2020SVP, People

    Thank you so much for the feedback and welcome to the team! I am so happy to hear that you are enjoying your time here so far and the challenges you are facing in your role are welcoming and interesting. As we continue to grow the organization and especially through COVID, we are hyperfocused on ensuring we provide the smoothest onboarding and enablement experience we can to all of our new Postmates team members. Please continue to provide feedback to your leadership team and to my team on your experience, suggestions, and anything else you would like to discuss as it relates to your personal and professional growth. These conversations only lead to the best outcomes for both you and Postmates. Thanks again! - Stephanie Garcia, SVP People.

  2. Postmates - Corporate HQ | Division of Postmates

    "Love it!"

    5.0
    Current Employee - Web Developer in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Postmates full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Real friendly and open. Stresses the importance of work-life balance.

    Cons

    Lots of organizational changes but nothing new to a startup in a developing industry.


  3. Postmates - Corporate HQ | Division of Postmates
    Helpful (1)

    "Amazing company, great leadership and benefits"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Recruiting Coordinator 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Postmates full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    -You get to work with great people -Opportunities for growth -Awesome benefits and volunteer opportunities -Lots of flexibility -Low stress environment -Impactful work

    Cons

    -No bonus structure -Recruiting coordinators are paid hourly instead of salaried

    Postmates Response

    July 28, 2020SVP, People

    Thank you so much for this positive feedback! It's great to hear you agree with your work as a coordinator is so impactful to the overall success of Postmates! I'm also so encouraged to hear you've found opportunities for growth and areas to stretch your skills in your time here. Our volunteer opportunities are one of my favorite benefits of working for Postmates as well, especially in the company of our fellow, amazing employees. Thank you for your dedication to our company! - Steph Garcia, SVP People

  4. Postmates - Corporate HQ | Division of Postmates

    "Great Company"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Recruiter in Nashville, TN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Postmates full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    innovation opportunities, great culture, growth opportunities, industry disruptor, thriving company in new industry, industry leader

    Cons

    ever changing due to rapid growth

    Postmates Response

    July 16, 2020SVP, People

    I appreciate your open and positive feedback here, thank you! It's great to hear you are motivated by the challenges we face as a quickly growing company are you're able to find exciting opportunities for innovation and growth. The constant change can definitely be a challenge but one that keeps us all nimble and able to continue our steady growth and improvement as an organization. - Steph Garcia, SVP People

  5. Postmates - Corporate HQ | Division of Postmates

    "Highly recommended"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Executive in Nashville, TN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Postmates full-time

    Pros

    With the industry growing as fast as it is there is plenty of opportunity to move up.

    Cons

    I have no cons to share.

    Postmates Response

    July 15, 2020SVP, People

    Thanks so much for the feedback and for sharing your positive outlook on career growth with Postmates. Our industry is definitely growing very fast and there is always room for employees to stretch and discover new skills by helping to solve the unique challenges we face in this space. - Steph Garcia, SVP People

  6. Postmates - Corporate HQ | Division of Postmates

    "Cool office, nice people, cold calling all day"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Employee - Associate Account Executive in Nashville, TN
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Postmates full-time

    Pros

    nice people, GREAT pay, good training

    Cons

    cold calling all day every day, office relationships are too close

    Postmates Response

    July 15, 2020SVP, People

    Thank you for sharing your feedback. I'm glad to hear you enjoyed the people you worked with, felt fairly compensated, and received ample training to succeed in your role. - Steph Garcia, SVP People

  7. "Good side gig"

    3.0
    Former Employee - Part Time Courier 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Postmates part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Flexible, customer relationship management is easy and easy to go extra mile for tips, make you own hours, on you for how much you make vs don't make

    Cons

    Often rude customers, too reliant on tips, app often has issues or bugs, not really doable for a full time gig/job

  8. Helpful (2)

    "My Time at Postmates Has Been Great"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Human Resources/TA in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Postmates full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    You get to work with brilliant individuals, without the ego aspect. There is a great amount of ownership at Postmates, and you truly get to grow your career here. One year here feels like 3, in a positive way. You get to see the impact of your hard work; your work is actually meaningful. Anyone you ask, they will say the best part of Postmates is the people you work with Our Events team is one of the best in the industry. They are authentic and foster an environment of inclusion and camaraderie. Lastly, our Civic Labs (social impact) team is one of the most notable and respectable aspects of the company.

    Cons

    Communication internally, however I have seen this drastically improve in my time with the company

    Postmates Response

    June 18, 2020SVP, People

    I'm so inspired by your positive feedback, thank you! It's great to hear you've taken ownership of your career and Postmates has given you the opportunity to really grow with challenging yet meaningful projects and hard work. Personally, I agree the best part of working for Postmates is all the amazing people we collaborate with on a regular basis. I'm encouraged and inspired by the positive change we are bringing to the communities we serve through the hard work of our Civic Lab team. I'm also so proud of our E&C team for their work in curating inclusive, welcoming, and culturally diverse events for our employees. Thanks again for your review. As always, feel free to reach out directly if you'd like to chat more. - Steph Garcia, SVP People

  9. "ehh"

    2.0
    Current Employee - Customer Service Representative in Nashville, TN

    I have been working at Postmates full-time

    Pros

    decent pay, nice people, monitor for WFh

    Cons

    very poor communication from management.

    Postmates Response

    July 1, 2020SVP, People

    Thank you for your feedback. I'm happy to hear you're satisfied with your work-from-home setup and enjoy the people you work with. We are constantly working on improving our communication as there is always room to grow. I encourage you to speak with your direct manager or your People Business Partner to express your concerns and help us improve. - Stephanie Garcia, SVP People

  10. "No"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Postmates full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    None. Hated the time I was there

    Cons

    Management was sneaky. There was not any open/ honest communication

    Postmates Response

    July 15, 2020SVP, People

    I'm sorry to hear your experience working for Postmates wasn't positive. We are constantly working to improve our internal communication and welcome constructive feedback. We also encourage employees to share any concerns they may have with management with their People Business Partner so they can help address the issue. - Steph Garcia, SVP People

Found 268 reviews