ProBuild Reviews | Glassdoor

ProBuild Reviews

Updated Jun 6, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 227 reviews

2.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
36%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Chad Crow
3 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great Place to work, good pay and benefits(in 12 reviews)

  • "Good people, lots of opportunity for learning(in 12 reviews)

Cons
  • "Good folks to work for, however the new upper management seemed to make many costly mistakes(in 15 reviews)

  • "Builders First Source is a taste of 1987 from a technology perspective(in 9 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "excellent opportunities"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at ProBuild full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    career growth opportunity good people good pay growing company

    Cons

    none really - leads the pack

    ProBuild2018-04-11
  2. "Not good, not bad"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Financial Analyst in Denver, CO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at ProBuild full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Potential to make a difference at a struggling company, good team of guys

    Cons

    Pretty poor pay for the number of hours and pace of work expected, slow moving bureaucracy

    ProBuild2019-06-06
  3. "Overall positive experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sawyer in Beaverton, OR
    Doesn't Recommend
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at ProBuild full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Gave me the ability to work doing what I wanted to do within the company (did have to push pretty hard to get that to happen). Most of employees/managers had a positive attitude.

    Cons

    Keep around employees that were a hindrance to the companies work flow. Slow when it came to implementing/fixing equipment. Were not cooperative when it came to giving me a letter of recommendation. Will fire hard working employees to prevent them from keeping their 401k benefits.

    ProBuild2019-06-03
  4. "Good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I have been working at ProBuild full-time

      Pros

      Pretty good pay and benefits

      Cons

      Settles for average with personnel which hurts sales

      ProBuild2019-04-09
    • "Hard work no pay"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

        I worked at ProBuild

        Pros

        We work on beautiful houses, lots of hours if you like working

        Cons

        Pay is very low for the amount of work we do, owner will throw others under the bus to make himself look better, prices are too high for any local to pay.

        Advice to Management

        Pay your workers what they deserve if you are going to charge an arm and a leg for their jobs.

        ProBuild2019-03-12
      • "Decent"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I have been working at ProBuild full-time

        Pros

        Decent place to work in midwest

        Cons

        Its really dusty in arms

        ProBuild2018-11-18
      • "Decent Place to Work"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
        Neutral Outlook
        No opinion of CEO

        I worked at ProBuild full-time for more than 5 years

        Pros

        Relaxed atmosphere for the most part. Average pay and benefits.

        Cons

        It seemed like leadership was always changing.

        ProBuild2018-09-30
      • "Credit"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
        Doesn't Recommend
        Neutral Outlook
        No opinion of CEO

        I have been working at ProBuild full-time

        Pros

        For the most part, it's a good working environment, very laid back. Most of the people are good to work with (there are some that are not).

        Cons

        Certain rules apply to only certain people (groups).

        ProBuild2018-09-27
      • "dispatcher"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Portland, OR
        Doesn't Recommend
        Neutral Outlook
        No opinion of CEO

        I worked at ProBuild full-time for more than 5 years

        Pros

        Lots of overtime for employees

        Cons

        High turnover due to low pay

        Advice to Management

        Higher pay for hourly workers

        ProBuild2018-09-25
      • "assembler"

        StarStarStarStarStar
          Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
          Doesn't Recommend

          I worked at ProBuild full-time

          Pros

          Good people, lots of opportunity for learning

          Cons

          job was physically difficult, long hours. No real notice if we were doing 12 or 10 hour days the next week. Ran through countless temps that didn't care and could have hurt themselves and others.

          Advice to Management

          reward your existing staff with raises and bonuses before hiring on temps.

          ProBuild2018-09-03
        Found 227 reviews