Proofpoint Reviews

Updated May 21, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.8
73%
Recommend to a Friend
89%
Approve of CEO
Proofpoint CEO Gary L. Steele
Gary L. Steele
261 Ratings
Pros
  • "Good Salary, Good Benefits, Great Work/Life Balance, Great Support of Employees During COVID-19(in 21 reviews)

  • "Wonderful environment, challenging work and great people(in 20 reviews)

Cons
  • "No 401K match in the benefits offering(in 20 reviews)

  • "Small 401K match (but offset by a good Employee Stock Purchase Plan, merit-based salary increases and impact awards)(in 18 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review
    Helpful (5)

    "Exciting roadmap, great work-life balance, decent compensation."

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer in Sunnyvale, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Proofpoint full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    One of the best workplace environments I've worked in where everyone is super helpful, irrespective of their title or responsibilities. Flexibility to pursue any aspect of cybersecurity and learn related technologies can be seen looking at people moving between teams as needed. One can take time-off as and when required without needing to count days, but most people prefer to come to work instead of wfh. Competitive base compensation. Fun events throughout the year to keep employees motivated.

    Cons

    If you have a tendency to eat out, one food truck on campus for couple of hours is most viable option, else you need to drive to go to a restaurant. A workplace gym or better discounts on nearby fitness centers would have been nice.

    Continue reading
    Proofpoint2020-01-28
  2. Helpful (2)

    "Great place, great people"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Pmm in Sunnyvale, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Proofpoint full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Excellent products, loyal customers, great market opportunity

    Cons

    No real cons, some minor growing pains as processes formalize.

    Continue reading
    Proofpoint2020-05-13
  3. Helpful (2)

    "Great Company to Work For"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Recruiter 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Proofpoint full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    career growth, company culture, stability

    Cons

    401K and maternity leave terrible

    Proofpoint2020-05-12
  4. Helpful (2)

    "First Class! Go Proofpoint!!!!"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Operations Manager in Sunnyvale, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Proofpoint full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good Salary, Good Benefits, Great Work/Life Balance, Great Support of Employees During COVID-19.

    Cons

    Not 'Great' Salary and Benefits, but they've been very fair during these extraordinary times.

    Continue reading
    Proofpoint2020-05-12
  5. Helpful (2)

    "People Centered"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director of Operations in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Proofpoint full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    * The people are smart, creative, and inspired * Collaborative work environment * Leadership cares and management is empowered to put people first * Cybersecurity is an excited industry to be part of, and Proofpoint is a leader in its class

    Cons

    * Building and maintaining secure environments is a challenge, so that can either be a pro or a con depending on if you like to be challenged

    Proofpoint2020-05-07
  6. Helpful (2)

    "So grateful to be part of this company!"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Recruiting Manager in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Proofpoint full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I am blown away by how amazing Proofpoints Leadership team has come together during these times of uncertainty. I am so grateful to be part of such an extraordinary company where they truly care about their employees. Sometimes you have to go through tough times to really see how companies or people react, and it makes me very proud to be here. Our Leaders have led with empathy, compassion and strength!

    Cons

    I do not have any cons!

    Continue reading
    Proofpoint2020-05-06
  7. Helpful (1)

    "GREAT COMPANY, GREAT LEADERS, GREAT PRODUCT"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Vice President of Sales in Salt Lake City, UT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Proofpoint full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The culture, along with Great leaders and product make it an all around great place to work.

    Cons

    I have none at this time.

    Proofpoint2020-05-05
  8. "Inefficient org structure that runs lean"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Operations Manager in Sunnyvale, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Proofpoint full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Manageable workload, rarely crazy tech hours, flexible hours Some great VPs Stock hasn't risen exponentially but performs decently well

    Cons

    As we have grown, too many politics and fiefdoms Most managers wildly under-resourced Inefficient org structure, no centralized strategy

    Continue reading
    Proofpoint2020-05-21
  9. "Mid ENT Proofpoint"

    3.0
    Former Employee - Account Executive in Draper, UT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Proofpoint full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great product, quality people--prospects knew who you are

    Cons

    Channel ecosystem was in its infancy, we didn't have the best reputation with some of the bigger players.

    Proofpoint2020-05-18
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Sales review"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Assistant in Sunnyvale, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Proofpoint full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Flex schedule, great team, good management

    Cons

    difficult for commercial teams to hit their quota

    Proofpoint2020-05-15
Found 347 reviews