RELX Reviews

Updated Jun 3, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.7
71%
Recommend to a Friend
91%
Approve of CEO
RELX CEO Erik Engstrom (no image)
Erik Engstrom
94 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "The senior management no longer values its Dayton based employees and are treating us like garbage(in 13 reviews)

  • "Upper Management especially in the Philippines(in 11 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great place to start your career"

    5.0
    Former Employee - Analyst in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at RELX full-time

    Pros

    Lots of flexibility and autonomy--really forward-looking

    Cons

    Some siloing within and amongst teams

    RELX2020-05-15
  2. "A Good company"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - IT Engineer in Miamisburg, OH
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at RELX full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Good people, pretty good culture. Overall a good, global business

    Cons

    Questionable & misdirected strategy at times. Message spoken at higher levels is not the same as at the experienced worker level in the IT group.

    RELX2020-04-29
  3. "Lots of recent change"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at RELX full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Salary and benefits are comparable. Flexibility with regard to schedule

    Cons

    Executive management does not value the individual contributors who made the company the success they are

    Continue reading
    RELX2020-04-16
  4. "RBI"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Service Desk Analyst in San Diego, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at RELX full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great people and plenty of work.

    Cons

    Upper management doesn't understand family issues.

    RELX2020-03-27
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Great benefits but poor senior management"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in Dayton, OH
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at RELX full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great pay Good benefits Good work / life balance Good training Great Supervisor. I have enjoyed working here and my direct supervisor has made the job very enjoyable. Having a boss who believes in you and encourages you daily is a great morale booster.

    Cons

    Over the years I have worked here we have seen many employees being laid off and transferred to Raleigh, NC. We have experienced a 4.25% pay reduction and now are being forced to move to NC or having to find a new job. The senior management no longer values its Dayton based employees and are treating us like garbage.

    Continue reading
    RELX2020-02-09
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Great place if your department is growing, which can change pretty fast"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Computation 

    I have been working at RELX full-time

    Pros

    Plenty of opportunities if you are so inclined. The company really does want to help you grow. Good place to start your career and aren't tied down by family obligations or you are willing to move around the world as opportunities arise.

    Cons

    RELX can be quite cold at bottom line time. Middle managers/ low level execs have a rough life expectancy. Those are the heads on the chopping block when it becomes time to cut heads. Bonuses don't exist for the contributors who implement and contribute to the company's vision.

    Continue reading
    RELX2020-01-22
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Great Global Company"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in Atlanta, GA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at RELX full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great flexibility, ability to work from home as needed, good leadership, highly adaptable culture, great global reach, good compensation & benefits

    Cons

    Moving away from historic locations in the US is creating disgruntled employees, along with some pay cuts in certain locations

    Continue reading
    RELX2019-11-03
  8. "Decent Place to Work"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Employee - Paralegal 

    I worked at RELX full-time

    Pros

    Work environment and co-workers were good

    Cons

    People promoted to positions they were not capable of handling

    RELX2019-10-30
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Great company horrible manager"

    3.0
    Former Employee - Senior Administrative Assistant 

    I worked at RELX full-time

    Pros

    Benefits are very top notch

    Cons

    Manager is awful behind closed doors constantly

    Continue reading
    RELX2019-09-06
  10. "Decent company with good hours"

    2.0
    Former Employee - Business Controller 

    I worked at RELX full-time

    Pros

    good hours good pay good location approachable mgmt flexible work situations

    Cons

    uninteresting business model little room to grow

    RELX2019-08-02
Found 382 reviews
</>Embed