SBA Communications Reviews | Glassdoor

SBA Communications Reviews

Updated March 13, 2017
95 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-time Part-time

3.8
Star Star Star Star Star
Rating Trends Rating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
SBA Communications President & CEO Jeffrey A. Stoops
Jeffrey A. Stoops
67 Ratings

95 Employee Reviews

Sort: Popular Rating Date

Pros
  • Great work life balance, and supportive managers (in 5 reviews)

  • Fast paced environment with the flexibility for employees to create a niche that suits their abilities and interests (in 8 reviews)

Cons
  • Disconnect from upper management, always changing (in 7 reviews)

  • Low pay, little support, plenty of backstabbing (in 5 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. "Progressive Real Estate/Technology Company"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - International Employee in Boca Raton, FL
    Current Employee - International Employee in Boca Raton, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    Excellent overall comp and benefits. Just launched an employee stock grant program that makes everyone an "owner".

    Cons

    No real cons but this is a very competitive business and "Nine to Fivers" will struggle with the pace of change and demands.

    Advice to Management

    Keep pushing to evolve processes and leadership.

    SBA Communications Response

    Mar 6, 2017 – Manager Talent Acquisition

    Thank you for providing your feedback regarding SBA Communications. We will continue to invest in all of our employees and drive to be the very best we can be for all employees and invest in our ... More


  2. Helpful (1)

    "Changes are desperately needed"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Middle Management in Fort Wayne, IN
    Current Employee - Middle Management in Fort Wayne, IN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at SBA Communications full-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    Steady work, half way decent company- used to be so much better

    Cons

    Please get rid of the operations management team- American Tower got rid of them for a reason- we don't need to turn into that company- analytics is great but don't forget the human aspect. Pay not great- bonuses taken away, sub standard equipment provided, far too many hours for the pay rate.

    Advice to Management

    Check your data to see if operations was more productive 5 years ago, or if it is now. Many of the changes have killed customer service, are redundant processes, and many are not time or cost effective. Take care of your long term employees they stuck by you in the lean years. Don't forget about your remote employees


  3. Helpful (4)

    "Don't get sucked in - They are not as great as they pretend to be"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Administrative in Boca Raton, FL
    Former Employee - Administrative in Boca Raton, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at SBA Communications full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Great building with a lot of perks (gym & cafeteria). Professional setting with clear organization. Good benefits and a lot of friendly people.

    Cons

    Really bad management in several departments. This company does not care about the employees on the bottom. HR cannot be trusted. Pay is not great and raises are bare minimum. They will over work you and under appreciate you. This is not coming from an employee who was let go and is bitter, this is the truth from an employee who was fortunate enough to find a company who values their employees.

    Advice to Management

    Be managers who employees can trust, appreciate good workers and be more competitive with your salary. You are doing well as a company but you don’t compensate well. Also, just because someone is a supervisor, manager or director does not mean they should be allowed to unprofessional. Get rid of the bad managers. That would make a world of difference.

    SBA Communications Response

    Mar 6, 2017 – Manager Talent Acquisition

    Thank you for taking time to provide a review of SBA Communications. We continue to strive to achieve excellence in all we do at SBA and that includes investing in all of our employees. This is ... More


  4. Is this helpful? The community relies on everyone sharing – Add Anonymous Review


  5. Helpful (1)

    "Supervisor"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Construction Supervisor in Lewisville, TX
    Former Employee - Construction Supervisor in Lewisville, TX
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at SBA Communications full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Great benefits. Pay was ok. The current management listened to what I told them about the project and crews,

    Cons

    I was on the road a lot covering three different states. To me this was not a con. As with most companies in the industry right now it is hard to find the right mix of work.


  6. Helpful (2)

    "Specialist"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Property Specialist in Boca Raton, FL
    Former Employee - Property Specialist in Boca Raton, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    Great work life balance, and supportive managers.

    Cons

    Takes too long for promotions

    Advice to Management

    Promote from whithin, even if not ready.


  7. Helpful (2)

    "Inspiring culture"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - IT Project Manager in Boca Raton, FL
    Former Employee - IT Project Manager in Boca Raton, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at SBA Communications (More than a year)

    Pros

    SBA is a GREAT place to work, full of very talented employees and led by a strong management team. SBA is a results oriented fast paced environment promoting creativity and collaboration. Little bureaucracy as it's a relatively flat organization. Ownership mentality is being promoted as employees will receive stock when EBITDA goals are met annually. I only left the company because I moved out of the area.

    Cons

    I experienced NO Cons during my tenure.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the great work!!


  8. Helpful (5)

    "Great place to work"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Boca Raton, FL
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Boca Raton, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at SBA Communications full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    The benefits, compensation, annual restricted stock grants, and the people make this a great place to work.

    Cons

    See advice to management as this is the only complaint that I have about employment at SBA.

    Advice to Management

    Be consistent in the message regarding salaried employees taking time for doctor appointments. Some insist that salaried employees regardless of time put in during the week still put in PTO if they need to be away from the office for a couple of hours for a doctor appointment. These leaders are not consistent with whom they enforce this practice. A salaried employee should be able to go to the doctor especially when that time is being made up for in other places. If they provided comp time when salaried employees put in extra time, then this practice would make sense. It is one of the biggest morale killers within the effected teams.

    SBA Communications Response

    Jan 16, 2017 – Manager Talent Acquisition

    Thank you for your review of SBA Communications. There is a standard for all employees regarding anyone taking Paid Time Off. I have shared the details of this review with Human Resources.


  9. Helpful (1)

    "Manager"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Georgetown, KY
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Georgetown, KY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at SBA Communications full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Decent pay and benefits.

    Cons

    Inconsistent treatment of employees. Poor support and processes

    Advice to Management

    Listen to employees who take an interest in improving processes.

    SBA Communications Response

    Dec 9, 2016 – Manager Talent Acquisition

    Thank you for sharing your review. From the details of your review, you are no longer with SBA. We wish you the best of luck in your future endeavors, however, if you were still an employee, I ... More


  10. "Great Place To Work"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Boca Raton, FL
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Boca Raton, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at SBA Communications full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    Friendly, professional environment. I feel upper management wants to create an environment where employees can thrive and grow. The benefits are awesome and affordable. I feel SBA wants to develop individuals into career employees and not just job applicants. There are many opportunities for training and development. I love working here.

    Cons

    The Departments are very compartmentalized.

    SBA Communications Response

    Dec 9, 2016 – Manager Talent Acquisition

    Thank you for sharing your review. We are working to improve our internal communication between departments and have already began encore meetings that generally have a representative from each ... More


  11. Helpful (2)

    "IT Support Services Project Lead"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - IT Support Services Project Lead in Boynton Beach, FL
    Current Employee - IT Support Services Project Lead in Boynton Beach, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at SBA Communications full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Great leadership driving the company in a positive direction
    Great staff working together
    Stocks for performance program

    Cons

    Lower end of payscale. Many will talk about it but most will stay working regardless.
    Benefits for alternative things like discounts and services seemingly well under what we should get.
    Let your employees get the training they will need to grow, even if that means they grow out of your department and into another.

    Advice to Management

    Avoid micromanaging - let people sink or swim without hovering over them. This does not happen often but I have seen it enough
    Employees are assets to the company not just a particular department. Allow them to grow and move throughout departments more freely.
    I have heard some people saying that they cannot take lunches because of so much work and the pressure to get it done. Thats not healthy or legal.

    SBA Communications Response

    Jan 16, 2017 – Manager Talent Acquisition

    Thank you for your review. Your feedback is important and appreciated. We will continue to provide management training to all managers. We encourage all employees to take their lunch break, your ... More


Showing 95 of 99 reviews
Reset Filters