SCC Reviews | Glassdoor

SCC Reviews

Updated Aug 14, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 416 reviews

3.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
60%
Recommend to a Friend
73%
Approve of CEO
SCC CEO James Rigby
James Rigby
232 Ratings
Pros
  • "Good people, can do attitude, positive(in 21 reviews)

  • "Paid on time but nothing more then thats(in 15 reviews)

Cons
  • "No pay rises, if you get an appraisal it’s always overdue and they start by telling you there is no money available for a pay rise(in 56 reviews)

  • "No pay rises in the 3 years I was there(in 33 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Always something good going on."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Merchandiser 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at SCC full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Variable contracts always new companies to look forward to.

    Cons

    Different pay structures for each job completion.

    Advice to Management

    Increase wages

    SCC2019-04-24
  2. Helpful (5)

    "Great people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at SCC full-time

    Pros

    As someone who started their career working for several multinational IT firms, I can confidently say that working for a family owned business makes ALL the difference. I love working for people who actually care about me and take the time to make sure their employees are satisfied. Highly recommend.

    Cons

    Some of the work is tedious.

    SCC2018-06-28
  3. Helpful (4)

    "Family Business"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at SCC

    Pros

    Co workers are nice. Pay for a percentage of your lunch

    Cons

    Micro management. Low salaries. No room for career advancement

    SCC2015-06-25

    SCC Response

    July 2, 2015SCC

    Thank you for your honest review. Please contact the Learning & Development department to find out about our career advancement opportunities.

  4. Helpful (2)

    "Poor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Field Service Technician 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at SCC full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Helpful colleagues e.g fellow technicians

    Cons

    uneven salaries, over 3k difference between employees doing the same job, if you talk about something management dont agree with you are threatened to be ma aged out of the business

    SCC2019-08-14
  5. Helpful (1)

    "A good launching pad if out of options"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Service Desk Analyst in Bacău
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at SCC full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    An low end company that you can use to gather experience

    Cons

    SCC employee = over worked and under paid

    SCC2019-08-13
  6. Helpful (4)

    "SCC about as forward thinking as British Leyland"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Account Manager in Birmingham, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at SCC full-time

    Pros

    They have a cheap cafeteria Lots of processes - if you enjoy that Strong in Public sector

    Cons

    They pay poorly, no annual reviews on salary or performance, the management run the company like a Feudal system Not much hope of promotion as managers sit in jobs for decades at a time and often deny promotions if it doesn't suit them They offer the minimum statutory pension and sick pay Very UK focused, anything outside that they can't manage They cap earnings for sales people Tip - Don't get sick at SCC after the...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Get a new board with new fresh ideas

    SCC2019-08-08
  7. Helpful (2)

    "Understaffed, poor benefits, aggressive mgmt, constantly ap;olgising to disgruntled customers"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Service Delivery Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at SCC full-time

    Pros

    Soem great staff who are trying their best in difficult circumstances.

    Cons

    Underinvestment in people and tools. Sells itself as a place of innovation and partnering with customers but faisl on most counts.

    Advice to Management

    Speak to yoru staff to try and understand why you are unable to retain staff, the turnover is hoorendous.

    SCC2019-08-05
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Excellent place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at SCC full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Challenge, development, fast paced, big company

    Cons

    fast paced, can be a pressured environment

    SCC2019-07-18
  9. Helpful (4)

    "If your not in IT. Go there and then leave...!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manager in Grantham, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at SCC full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Will take young keen people with no experience. But will then give little or no training and expect experience staff to mentor them. On the plus side you will get experience and can move on to a better organisation.

    Cons

    Where do I start... - Bad pay, below market - Poor benefits - No training - Poor culture - Bullying Management - Mediocre supposed ‘Expert’ - Lack of Innovation - No support - Can’t do attitude - you could get fired or made redundant just because a senior manager doesn’t ‘like’ you or you disagreed with them

    Advice to Management

    I wouldn’t give them any advice... they’ll fire you....!

    SCC2019-07-31
  10. "Experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Senior Business Development Executive 

    I have been working at SCC full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    great can do attitude of colleagues

    Cons

    Company benefits could be enhanced

    SCC2019-07-06
Found 416 reviews