SYNNEX Reviews | Glassdoor

Create your profile to get personalized information

SYNNEX Reviews

Updated Oct 29, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

2.9
46%
Recommend to a Friend
59%
Approve of CEO
SYNNEX President and Chief Executive Officer Dennis Polk
Dennis Polk
21 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "low pay and low opportunity for growth(in 15 reviews)

  • "Antiquated culture - extreme micro management(in 9 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Sales -Education/Gov Reseller client base. Outbound calls, monthly sales goal on team."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Inside Sales Account Executive in Greenville, SC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at SYNNEX full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    They reward employees. Trips, food, swag. I had a great manager that really made this experience awesome.

    Cons

    Cons are working in cubicals, and of course having to hit an unrealistic number in sales. But if you work hard, stay on the phones and make your outbounds (in other words, you try), then you'll be just fine.

    Advice to Management

    Allow employees to work 4 ten hour shifts. (This was my primary reason for leaving.) This company could make it work and I believe that it would increase productivity. Have team members select a set day off. This would work with 3 man+ teams. I know this is something that would be have to be dealt with my other people than the sales managers, but just wanted to bring it out. My family life and spirituality are... more important to me than my job, which is why I needed that extra day off during the week. Thanks for a great couple of years at SYNNEX.

    Show More
    SYNNEX2017-11-10
  2. "Solid company for consistency, job security"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Greenville, SC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at SYNNEX full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Strong business process Broad product and service offering Overall good culture

    Cons

    Limited compensation plans Lack of career path in some divisions

    Advice to Management

    Avoid cookie cutter management strategies for each business unit

    SYNNEX2019-10-25
  3. "entry point for career"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Marketing Specialist 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at SYNNEX full-time

    Pros

    low stress environement, normal business hours

    Cons

    low pay and low opportunity for growth

    SYNNEX2019-08-26
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Good place to work, but not great. Has good perks and fair benefits"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Business Manager in Greenville, SC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at SYNNEX full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    benefits, pay can be good, stock options, fast pace, good co-workers,

    Cons

    high pressure, pay can vary widely, poor middle management, limited options for remote working, limited true career advancement,

    Advice to Management

    Poor retention of employees is directly related to poor management. Talented staff keeps leaving and are replaced with "do little" people.

    SYNNEX2019-06-03
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Good Company for Greenville"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in Greenville, SC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at SYNNEX full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Overall a really solid company. Focused on profitability and increasing share. Benefits are pretty good. Pay is average for the industry.

    Cons

    Care more about profitability than anything else. Claim to encourage a work/life balance but that is not the case. You must put in a LOT of hours in order to get your job done effectively. In order to get promoted you have to take on an unmanageable workload.

    SYNNEX2019-05-24
  6. Helpful (3)

    "The most non-progressive tech company..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at SYNNEX full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    You get a phone - that you have to pay for.

    Cons

    Most tech companies offer a progressive work environment where Synnex does not. This is an old "snake oil sales" company that still operates like a call center of the 90s. Goals are never realistic, benefits are not competitive, a company that doesn't see their employees as assets but rather factory workers. Still punching a clock - tech company? Still working in a cube farm - tech company? No Lean or Six Sigma -... a tech company? Bureaucracy to the max, no empowerment. Just M&A the way to $20B - at all costs. Do not recommend working here. People are not their priority.

    Show More
    SYNNEX2019-06-18
  7. Helpful (2)

    "Only management goal is the bottom line..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales in Greenville, SC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at SYNNEX full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    food can be earned by going to training. same with promotional marked chotskies , but even that is dwindling . some weekend trips that can be fun.

    Cons

    When I usually made my sales goals, it was never enough . Some criticism always followed by a manager that never had an original idea.

    Advice to Management

    Top people have needed replacement forever. No one with any integrity in the industry respect them.

    SYNNEX2019-05-22
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Good, steady job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Business Development Manager in Greenville, SC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at SYNNEX full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great culture and people, wonderful partners and vendors

    Cons

    opportunity for advancement and pay increases are limited

    Advice to Management

    offer more career path options and additional opportunity for promotions

    SYNNEX2019-04-19
  9. Helpful (1)

    "INTHE KNOW"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - CSR2 in Tarrytown, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at SYNNEX full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    There are no PROS working for Synnex

    Cons

    The work environment is very ROBOTIC. Everyone passes the buck, no one uses their brains.

    Advice to Management

    Being more in the know with the Customer Service Reps. & have weekly meetings with them.

    SYNNEX2019-05-24
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Good Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Operations Supervisor 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at SYNNEX full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good work environment, Operations managers very helpful

    Cons

    Pay, advancement opportunities limited

    SYNNEX2019-04-16
Found 250 reviews