Secure-24 Reviews | Glassdoor

Create your profile to get personalized information

Secure-24 Reviews

Updated Sep 27, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 102 reviews

3.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
53%
Recommend to a Friend
0%
Approve of CEO
Secure-24 CEO Mike BeDell (no image)
Mike BeDell
1 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "The better you get at your job, the worse your work/life balance gets(in 15 reviews)

  • "Upper management is completely out of touch with the rest of the company(in 14 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "IOC"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Secure-24 full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Benefits are great. Advancement opportunities with academy model. Senior level management inspire employees to follow their leads with continuous learning and education. Open door policy with Management where all employees are treated fairly.

    Cons

    Processes need to improve. Tools need to evolve to catch up with industry standards.

    Advice to Management

    Continue driving improvements and keep inspiring your employees.

    Secure-242019-09-27
  2. "Management Good, pay not so great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Representative 

    I worked at Secure-24 full-time

    Pros

    Management Awesome, Culture Great, Work-life

    Cons

    hourly pay is alright and commission is good but can be mislead

    Secure-242019-09-26
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Great Entry Level IT Job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Technical Support Representative 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Secure-24 full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Unlimited PLANNED Paid Time Off. The quantity of time off is great, but it won't always be exactly when you want it. Being that everyone has this same "unlimited time" you have to coordinate the time off with your manager based on what has already been requested. - Fully Paid for Health Insurance; you only have to pay your deductible - Academy / Apprentice model allows you to really get your feet wet in IT... and get some credibility / experience under your belt. - They reimburse you for any IT Certifications you get. This can be huge if you nab a couple $300 certifications - I enjoy my own team and management, but I hear a lot of stress and mismanagement coming from teams too. This is more of a neutral point because team culture seems like a gamble coming in. Overall the company has been good to ME, but the cons below define a lot of what I see AROUND me and on other teams / departments.

    Show More

    Cons

    - I hear from some higher ups and people that have been here a while that the engineering pay is not competitive with industry standards. It seems like a "We gave you the training now give us cheap labour" kind of tradeoff on S24's end. - Most negative reviews here have many valid points. I am lucky to be on a team that does not pressure me much and my supervisors appreciate / acknowledge my good performance. I... scrambled to GET on my team for fear of landing on some of the other teams which have super toxic micro-cultures. - Getting promoted has next to nothing to do with job performance, but rather who you know and if you've finished the Academy model (you pass a set of objectives to move up to Analyst, where you then can be pulled on to an engineering team based on Certs and moreso who you know). The academy model is great to educate entry level staff, however performance needs to be taken into account. I literally had a coworker that would drop off the map for 3 hours without explanation 4 times a week and he got a promotion somehow (AKA, because he completed his objectives and knew someone in the department he wanted to go to). - AWFUL inter-department relations and communication. Easily the worst part of this company that i have noticed. Some engineering teams treat Technical Support Representatives like they're roadkill. Management does 0 about this, and sadly the management on our side CAN'T really do anything about it because they are "lower level" managers than the managers of the engineering teams. The managers of the engineers have no incentive to do anything about their staff being rude, non-communicative, and unhelpful to Technical Support Representatives to the point that it slows the resolution of problems. The division between departments appears to cause a lot of tribalism and the overall tone of each team and department is super different. For instance, Application Virtualization or Linux are generally very pleasant and helpful to work with, but every time I've dealt with the Networking team in general they have been very rude and gruff. Certain departments just seem very unhappy as a whole, and at my level, I can only assume it's partially due to different work life balance and expectations from one team or department to the next. This bleeds into the rest of the work, as more toxic departments don't communicate with the Helpdesk leaving big divisions in the understanding of any problem that might be going on, and therefore the communication of that information to the client. - To elaborate on the department separation above, each department has very different work/life standards and expectations. For instance, one engineering team might have to do lots of on-call work and never be able to get a solid schedule, while another may have super relaxed 8 hour days, get to leave early a couple times a week, work from home half the time and never have to work over-time. Both parties I just described will be paid roughly the same, because pay is primarily based on seniority / level and not performance (which goes right alongside what I stated somewhere above regarding promotions being purely based on completing objectives in the academy model / who you know and nothing to do with how good you are)

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    - Either form a department synergy team focused on integrating different departments or allow inter-department relations to get more toxic and non-productive by the day. - You have the money to give engineers higher pay and more people would stay with higher pay, ultimately costing the company less. They'd probably have a bit less of an attitude too lol. - To one-up the "Department Relations" idea, there should... be a team focused on making company growth more smooth. S24 is growing so fast that I think a lot of the problems are symptomatic of growing faster than the systems in place. If there was a department focused solely on optimizing systems for before and during growth, I think many problems might be mitigated. All rollouts we have for new teams and for new equipment deployments are very rocky and are supervised on a micro level but not on a macro level. I think most of the companies problems are on the macro level, as a side note. This type of team could also likely fill the role mentioned above for "Department Synergy."

    Show More
    Secure-242019-08-28
  4. Helpful (7)

    "Upper Management needs to "grow up""

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Engineer 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Secure-24 full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Benefits are completely paid for which is nice, but the deductible is high because of that. Depending on which part of the org you're in, schedule flexibility is great, but this seems to be disappearing.

    Cons

    Upper management is completely out of touch with the rest of the company. They come around flaunting huge profit margins like the people on the floor should be impressed and motivated by it while they continue to be underpaid, underappreciated, and overworked. When asked questions about what would make employees more comfortable at the office, suggestions are met with the idea that those employees need to "grow up".... The whole "tightening the belt" mantra to do more with less may have made sense when the company was VC owned but it's not sustainable anymore and that battlecry seems to continue. Upper management also walks around saying that they're going to start taking deals they've said no to before and things "may get more uncomfortable" when they do. I can't image what those projects will be like. Standard operating procedure seems to be sell whatever the customer asks for despite if it's a product or not, then pressure engineering to deliver on it with unreasonable timelines at all costs. The company missed a golden opportunity when it was bought to clean house and fix these problems but instead the status quo remains because those who helped create this culture were then promoted. Work-life balance is unhealthy. Sure, there is an office overseas but dont expect them to actually do anything, so instead state-side resources will request state-side engineers to do things for them at weird hours and you'll eventually be told to just do it. On-call is a nightmare. Dont expect to be able to do anything or leave your house for the week you're on-call. Someone has to handle that emergency project work that has no business being done off-hours. But again, you're told to "just do it". Instead, a bunch of BS processes are put into place to try to band-aid the fact that you can't rely on the other office to accomplish anything. It's really burning people out. The academy model is broken. And worse yet, finding good external hires to complement people coming up through the academy model is extremely difficult because the company as a whole underpays and recruiting efforts are laughable. So you're just left with a bunch of rubber stampers who keep doing things the way they've always been done because that's just what they know and most of the time they dont care to challenge ideas. And this on top of the fact that most orgs are run super lean already. They'll tell you the metrics look fine for staffing, but they're not.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Put people into senior management spots who actually care about the people they're leading instead of those who just care about their own bottom line. Promote people into those spots who actually hold themselves accountable and are transparent with not only what they're working on but what's going on in the rest of the company.

    Secure-242019-07-24
  5. Helpful (3)

    "Decent company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Engineer in Southfield, MI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Secure-24 full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Benefits are great- unlimited PTO, full coverage medical and dental. C-level executives are nice Lower level employees all band together and feel like a family. Cool building to work in Lots of opportunity for growth

    Cons

    Biggest con is the HR team. Way too much drama, lots of cattiness. They all hate each other and are mean to everyone else in the company which reflects on how the rest of the company morale is. Used to be fun events and happy hours. The admins who plan them are very negative and constantly complain which punishes those who still want to have fun. They talk about everyone behind backs. Pay needs work. Those who... work hard should be rewarded. Sales needs to respect those who support them more

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Changes need to be made to get rid of negativity in this work space. You know what needs to be done. This should be a positive environment-cattiness, gossip, and exclusiveness need to be eliminated

    Secure-242019-07-07
  6. Helpful (2)

    "Good Place to Start"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Engineer 

    I have been working at Secure-24 full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good place to start your career

    Cons

    Good place to get out of, unless you're part of 'the club'.

    Secure-242019-06-13
  7. Helpful (3)

    "Many fake promises"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Secure-24 full-time

    Pros

    Fun playing around with Nerf guns

    Cons

    Everything, everyone in management lies, giving you pep talk on how much you will make and how you have a great future, while filling your paperwork to get fired. Stay away a bunch of amateurs who feel like they are all that, while barely haveing any education or experience.

    Secure-242019-07-09
  8. Helpful (1)

    "One of the best places to work in IT!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Linux Engineer in Southfield, MI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Secure-24 full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    IT is the core business, and the culture reflects that. They also have an Academy Model for training entry level (helpdesk) up to the engineering teams, giving them professional growth opportunities that are hard to find anywhere else. Benefits are also robust, including great health insurance with premiums paid by the company, not taken directly out of your salary. Unlimited PTO, flexible hours, easy ability to... work from home, and the list goes on.

    Show More

    Cons

    Average pay is significantly under market average. Having to start at the helpdesk can be a hard pill to swallow.

    Advice to Management

    PAY YOUR EMPLOYEES WHAT THEY'RE WORTH

    Secure-242019-05-16
  9. "Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - IOC Analyst in Southfield, MI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Secure-24 full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Excellent Management, Hours are flexible

    Cons

    I don't currently have any cons

    Advice to Management

    n/a

    Secure-242019-05-09
  10. Helpful (3)

    "Great Place to Start a Career in IT"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Phones Administrator in Southfield, MI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Secure-24 full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    By far the best thing about working at Secure-24 is the people. They work hard but are not afraid to be silly. There are so many Nerf guns at that place its practically a 1:1 ratio. I made some amazing friends in my time there and have a lot of great memories. The Benefits package is also extremely competitive, particularly when it comes to health insurance and time off. The company pays for your premiums,... nothing comes out of your check and the Co-Pays are very reasonable. There is no sick/vacation time. If you're sick, you take the day off - its that simple. You don't have "x" number of sick days or vacation time. You don't have to work there for a decade to get a comfortable amount of vacation time. As long as you work it out with your manager, and you're getting your work done / carrying your own weight, you can pretty much take all the time you need. If you start at the help desk level, you have amazing training opportunities. They actively encourage you to get certifications and have automatic raises for obtaining them. Even the easier certs like ITIL or A+ will net you a raise.

    Show More

    Cons

    I'd first like to start by saying that, despite anything I'm about to say, you can do FAR WORSE than working at Secure-24. However, there are some things that are good to know going in ... 1. Salary is not competitive once you get past the entry level. Management will draw out all kinds of graphs to try and convince you that it is but it just is not. If you are starting your IT career, then the pay is perfectly... sufficient. Once you hit mid level though, that starts to stagnate. Secure-24 has a very hard time recruiting senior level engineers. They simply do not offer the money required to obtain top talent. 2. As you progress up the ranks, people tend to start to seek out other employment. There are many reasons for this and it depends on who you talk to and what department they worked in. The better you get at your job, the worse your work/life balance gets. Practically every department is overworked and understaffed. Management produces charts to show how departments are in fact not understaffed and condescendingly offers other solutions that solve the problem in the short term, but within a few months its back to business as usual. 3. Inter-department communication is becoming extremely poor and, as a result, the company is becoming very tribal. Passive aggressive emails regarding other teams is becoming the norm. Often these emails are sent from manager to manager thinking they will stay private but, as with all things these days, nothing stays private for long. 4. Feedback on your job performance is spotty at best. I didn't have a job review for the last 2 or 3 years of the nearly 7 years I spent there. When we did have job reviews, it really felt like everyone was just phoning it in to meet an HR requirement. 5. Alarmingly, I have heard of multiple cases of HR having "notes" on meetings that never took place. The content of these meetings can range from simple coaching to disciplinary action. I know of three people who were let go and, in their exit interview, these meetings were referenced and the person being fired had no knowledge of them. Take that with a grain of salt. It didn't happen to me personally but two of the people that happened to I've known for a very long time and I've never known them to be a liar. I'm not saying HR is making up notes, it could be management delivering false information to HR, but it does appear there is a problem there somewhere. It is extremely common for people to feel blindsided when they are let go. 6. Communication between management and employees is terrible - on both sides. Managers seem to be eternally out of touch with the troubles their employees are having and write it off as people whining. At the same time, employees do a terrible job communicating to management their problems. Generally what happens is that when the employee does complain, they do it at a time when they are so fed up that the root of the problem never comes forth and they end up failing to properly explain to their manager the problem. The failing is on both sides here. Senior Management will tell you that everyone gets regular one on one meetings with their manager, but that simply does not happen - at least not for everyone. Some managers take that seriously and those teams tend to have a far better morale for it and problems are identified and resolved before they get out of hand. - All of the above is starting to create a bad morale problem. I've spoken to several very senior engineers that are very close to leaving because of it. Additionally, pretty much everyone you talk to below the management level will tell you that Secure-24 is a 3 to 5 year gig. A great place to start in IT but not the kind of place you want to really plant roots for the long haul.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Communication MUST improve. There is a morale problem and you don't seem to want to believe it. That could be because employees are doing a poor job communicating to you (and they are) but it is YOUR responsibility as management to provide a rock solid system of communication and encourage frequent communication. Expand your HR department and launch an all out war on poor communication. Demand of your managers that... they do regular one-on-ones and come up with a system to document that as proof. I firmly believe that my time at S24 ended because of a breakdown in communication on both my part and on yours. You have a great company there with great people. Fix the communication problem great things will follow.

    Show More
    Secure-242019-05-14
Found 102 reviews