SelectHealth Reviews | Glassdoor

SelectHealth Reviews

Updated Oct 2, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
73%
Recommend to a Friend
81%
Approve of CEO
SelectHealth CEO Patricia R. Richards (no image)
Patricia R. Richards
66 Ratings
Pros
  • "Excellent benefits and work/life balance(in 12 reviews)

  • "Great company, Great CEO, You really feel like the company takes care of you(in 7 reviews)

Cons
  • "More regulations to work with due to the nature of health insurance(in 6 reviews)

  • "The company acts as not for profit so the pay is low compared to others(in 4 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Member Advocate in West Valley City, UT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at SelectHealth full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Decent pay, great work environment, they want you to succeed and are always happy for you when you want to apply for new positions within the company. They really care about their employees and your happiness. Awesome benefits, incentives and bonuses

    Cons

    Honestly, compared to other jobs I have had I don’t have any real complaints.

    Advice to Management

    N/A

    SelectHealth2019-05-01
  2. "In a constant state of crisis. It's terrifying."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Operations in Salt Lake City, UT
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at SelectHealth full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Health insurance premiums are reasonable. Christmas bonus, but keeps going down every year. They offer wellness programs. The pay is decent.

    Cons

    They are now in a constant state of crisis, it's terrifying. The CEO of Intermountain HealthCare is not even shy about being a narcissist and runs the business like it's an opportunity to be on camera and in the media. The decision to go with R1 has been a disaster. Management is just trying to survive, but have no idea how to handle the growth that was ill-prepared for. They used to be one of the very best and... there was a lot of pride as an employee because we felt it, saw it and contributed to it. It's an utter mess now. So sad.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Wake-Up, things need to change.

    SelectHealth2019-10-03
  3. "Great company to work for!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Murray, UT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at SelectHealth full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Generous benefits Great people to work with Well organized and structure Didn't notice many office politics

    Cons

    Casual Fridays are only on payday weeks

    SelectHealth2019-03-29
  4. "Burnout"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Business Analyst 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at SelectHealth full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Nothing. It’s getting worse.m everyday.

    Cons

    I doubt anyone in management will read this, but burnout is becoming a huge issue and with our leaders pushing for growth it’s becoming harder to stay especially when no one gets fired for actual HR offenses. All I hear from system people is how tired and burnt out they are. Work/life balance is shunting and people who’ve worked for 20+ years are getting higher wages for the same amount of hours they put in.

    Advice to Management

    Pay employees more if you’re going to cut into the work/life balance. Don’t demand growth if your employees are burnt out. Spend some effort in keeping the highly productive staff you currently employ.

    SelectHealth2019-03-26
  5. "Good benefits, ok pay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Medical Claims Processor in West Valley City, UT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at SelectHealth full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great company culture. Pretty good benefits. Nonprofit organization

    Cons

    Because it's a not-for-profit organization there pay isn't the best compared to what others in the industry are getting for the same job.

    SelectHealth2019-02-26
  6. "Caring but unorganized"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - RN Care Manager I in Murray, UT
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at SelectHealth part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    They truly care about their members

    Cons

    Information changes so fast and it is not updated in resources, so it is hard to do your reviews correctly with the most current recommendations

    Advice to Management

    Keep SHD AKA NXT up to date

    SelectHealth2019-01-19
  7. "Accountant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at SelectHealth full-time

    Pros

    Everyone is very approachable. Benefits are good and they even have a pension program, but it does not vest until you have been there for 5 years. 401k match is also solid. Work life balance is great.

    Cons

    Need brighter lights in the office. It is somewhat dreary. Other than that. no complaints.

    SelectHealth2018-12-06
  8. "One year review of SelectHealth"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at SelectHealth

    Pros

    Not much to say here.

    Cons

    Management caters to snowflakes and never holds employees accountable. HR is a joke.

    Advice to Management

    Marc Harrison should outsource 1/2 of the departments so SH will make a real profit instead of just on paper. Also get rid of the dinosaurs who have been there for 30+ years. SSDD.

    SelectHealth2019-01-09
  9. "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at SelectHealth full-time

    Pros

    Good company with Good people

    Cons

    Opportunity is low, pay isn't that great.

    SelectHealth2018-10-30
  10. "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at SelectHealth full-time

    Pros

    Benefits, work life balance and culture

    Cons

    Projects move very slow, its hard to get things done sometimes.

    SelectHealth2018-09-20
Found 95 reviews