Seventh Generation Reviews | Glassdoor

Seventh Generation Reviews

Updated Aug 5, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 34 reviews

4.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
99%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Seventh Generation CEO Joey Bergstein
Joey Bergstein
13 Ratings
  1. "Amazing place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Business Partner in Burlington, VT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Seventh Generation full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The mission and culture at Seventh Generation is so special and unique, everyone has the best intention and believes in our collective power to change the world. It doesn't hurt we work right near Lake Champlain! I love being apart of a community that works hard to make a impact and I learn so much from my co-workers every day.

    Cons

    We are a small organization, and because of this have limited opportunities for progression but Unilever makes growth possible but often employee's want to stay with Seventh Gen specifically - because its a great community!

    Seventh Generation2019-08-05
  2. "Great Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Consumer Scientist in Burlington, VT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Seventh Generation full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Flexible hours, company benefits and no "clock-watching". I love working with hardworking folks working towards a shared mission/vision of making the world a better place. Everyone at SVG is so passionate about what we do and the impact SVG can have around the world.

    Cons

    There are way too many meetings, many of them could have been covered via email.

    Seventh Generation2019-07-31
  3. "Fulfilling and fun place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Marketing 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Seventh Generation full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Seventh Gen's mission is at the core of almost every conversation. I've never worked at a company like it. I actually like coming to work every day because I feel that it is truly a value-based company and learn new things every day. Compensation and benefits are very competitive. There are always community-building events and activities so connecting with co-workers is easy. All employees are very nice, smart and... welcoming. It seems like there is potential to grow from within and lots of opportunities to work on personal development. Work-life balance is important and valued. Would recommend to anyone!

    Show More

    Cons

    The Unilever acquisition has made certain processes (billing, HR, IT) a bit more complicated.

    Advice to Management

    Keep the mission core to all decisions and meetings with Unilever so we can stay true to ourselves and lead in the industry.

    Seventh Generation2019-08-01
  4. "Great mission, brand lead and celebrated"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Culture & Values
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Burlington, VT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Seventh Generation full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    The culture and the benefits alone are a huge reason to APPLY here. The mission is the reason to STAY here. Some of the benefits include a free gym membership, flexible hours, half-day Fridays, etc. Mission related activities include 20 hours each year to volunteer your time to non-profits that mean something to you. It is fulfilling to do hands on work to help others and feel supported by Seventh Gen to do so.... Management actively tries to improve company policy and culture with annual reviews via the Best Places to Work survey. For instance, the amount of meetings can be INSANE at times, but having received that feedback, they're trying to make a change. That inward focus can be reassuring when things feel overwhelming. You feel heard.

    Show More

    Cons

    The screening process for hiring is a mystery to me and I've been surprised at some applications not making it to a phone call let alone an in person interview. I'd suggest working on how people are evaluated before narrowing down applications.

    Seventh Generation2019-07-31
  5. "Wonderful Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Category Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Seventh Generation full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The people care tremendously about the earth, climate change and dedication to our mission of positively impacting the world for the next seven generations - like seriously care. The products are fabulous. Co-workers think creatively and search for out of the box solutions. Health & Wellness are prioritized - work/life balance is very much respected.

    Cons

    Smaller company learning how to function within a bigger company (Unilever).

    Seventh Generation2019-07-29
  6. "Working at Seventh Generation has been the most fulfilling position of my career"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Seventh Generation full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Amazing sense of community. Working with people who care for “we” over “me” Working in a purpose driven environment and at the same time feeling like we’re being heard and driving change due to scale of Unilever

    Cons

    Integration with Unilever has been bumpy, as these transitions often are, but we’re coming out with more influence and support from Unilever. We also have more conviction around our mission and role in driving change in the industry as we recognize more than ever that this is our point of difference and opportunity to effect change. .

    Advice to Management

    Continue to lead the way in keeping mission and culture first!

    Seventh Generation2018-11-20
  7. Helpful (2)

    "Seventh Generation Walks the Walk"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Designer in Burlington, VT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Seventh Generation full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Seventh Generation is unlike anywhere I've ever worked. The community is welcoming and warm, the work/life balance is exceptional, and the benefits are great. I enjoy using my free gym access, agile workplace benefits, half day Fridays during summer, wellness reimbursements, etc etc. I've gained very valuable work experience here and very close friendships as well. I take pride in calling Seventh Generation... my employer. This company walks the walk. We do good for the world and we take action where we can. I love the spirit of Seventh Gen. We rally, we support, and we pioneer.

    Show More

    Cons

    There is not much diversity within the company. Inclusivity needs to be at top of mind in the hiring process.

    Advice to Management

    Keep the community connected and aware. Transparency is what makes this company different—keep that true.

    Seventh Generation2018-10-03
  8. "Really easy to feel good about my work each day"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    Current Employee - Consumer Insights Manager in Burlington, VT
    Recommends

    I have been working at Seventh Generation full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Smart and interesting people who care so much about their contribution to society and trying to make the world a better place. Greatest sense of community I've seen in terms of a work place. High level of transparency to what leadership is thinking and working on at a moment. Dog friendly office with beautiful views of Lake Champlain and Adirondack Mountains!!

    Cons

    Growing pains that come with now being a part of a multinational company are identified in earnest and addressed by Seventh Generation leaders as they arise. But being part of Unilever does lead to some slower processes compared to a small 120 or so person organization. Also have to give up some control and instead need to be able to influence to nurture this special little company as its now part of something much... bigger.

    Show More
    Seventh Generation2018-09-26
  9. "A Joy to Come to Work Everyday"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Seventh Generation full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    A mission focused organization with like minded individuals who are empowered to make decisions and to be entrepreneurial.

    Cons

    Slowing systems due to integration with Unilever.

    Seventh Generation2018-09-10
  10. "Working at SVG"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Seventh Generation full-time

    Pros

    Workplace culture, flexible hours, the community

    Cons

    Lines between personal life and professional life are blurred

    Seventh Generation2018-09-18
Found 34 reviews