KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

ShoreTel

Is this your company?

ShoreTel

Add a Review

ShoreTel Reviews

Updated May 28, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 255 of over 265 reviews

3.6
62%
Recommend to a Friend
69%
Approve of CEO
ShoreTel President & CEO Don Joos  (no image)
Don Joos
125 Ratings
Pros
  • "Stable job and great work life balance(in 20 reviews)

  • "Great people and direct manager(in 17 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "No transparency by upper management(in 14 reviews)

  • "After it got acquired by Mitel, everything went downhill including culture and moral(in 11 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
    1. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 5 years

      It was great while it lasted

      Nov 4, 2020 - Technical Writer/Editor in Austin, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Company culture, opportunity to work with brilliant people

      Cons

      Changes at the top to stay competitive may have been too ambitious and ultimately slowed progress and growth for the company

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Avoid this company at all costs

      Dec 22, 2020 - Senior Product Manager in Austin, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      schedule flexibility, free snacks & breakfast (sometimes)

      Cons

      micromanagement, back-stabbers, lack of long term growth plan

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Great coworkers, trustworthy leadership

      Sep 25, 2020 - New Product Introduction Associate in Rochester, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      collaborative workforce, extracurriculars, fun place to work

      Cons

      limited upward mobility opportunities, a lot of external hiring

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 5 years

      Fun while it lasted

      Jan 18, 2020 - Channel Marketing Manager in Santa Clara, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great people and great energy

      Cons

      Pressure to make th next move resulted in some poor product decisions.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 4.0
      Current Employee

      shoretel

      Jan 3, 2019 -  
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      good co workers, good management

      Cons

      cant think of any at this time

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Great Work LIfe Balance

      Oct 20, 2014 - Partner Business Manager in Los Angeles, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The product really does work. Yes, there are some things that have gone wrong in the latest software releases but we've been accustomed to years of things working so smoothly that we get antsy when some software issues crop up. We need to take a step back and consider what it's like at other competitors in our field to see how good we are. Management stays out of my business as long as I'm making my numbers. And customers really do like our stuff, making you feel good about what you're doing everyday.

      Cons

      The above mentioned software issues are far too frequent given how much QA focus we're told we've had lately. Compensation here for Sales is not as good as it was several years ago. Commissions in particular. More work for less pay. The work life balance is the only thing that makes up for that.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      ShoreTel Response

      Corporate Recruiter

      Thank you for taking time to review ShoreTel – the perspective you provided is appreciated! As an employee you already know that we are always striving to improve in all areas of our business. To address your CON’s regarding compensation; this is also an area where we are continually determined to make improvements and remain competitive, so again thank you for your feedback. It’s a very exciting time to be with ShoreTel!

    7. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Great Place to Work and Advance

      Jan 5, 2016 - Senior Technical Leader in Sunnyvale, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great salary, 401K matching, respect from management and peers. Catered lunches every other Wednesday, Bagels on Friday. Bonus plan for employees, occasional parties. Tracking of progress is done with weekly reports that take no time to fill in. Money in the bank so you don't have to worry about layoffs. There are many levels of engineers and this is reflected in your title. Advancing means more than a handshake. You are rewarded.

      Cons

      The rate of turnover and a complex product means you will need some time to learn the product. Employee training needs to be more formal and complete. OPS is not understanding of new employees so you dance around trying to find the right process. Vacation and sick time are in the same bucket so people will try to work from home when they are sick and should be resting.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Not the same company anymore

      Oct 11, 2016 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Free food in all the offices, lots of money spent on parties. people can pretty much do whatever they want and no one cares - upper management never would notice unless they showed up in the office once in a while. OH and we celebrated every "milestone" they could find to have a party for....even if the next day everything was already broken.

      Cons

      Good people leaving all the time. My manager left, then all the good people around me left. some departments have no body left working in them. We even lost the best HR rep we ever had and I am sure nothing was done to keep her. Now we have no one and the people they have us "calling on" don't return calls or even know how to help us. The poor girl they left to pick up the pieces is brand new and can't help anybody. I couldn't take it anymore. Had to leave. There are so many smart and loyal people in my office, but we would get crapped on all day long and no one in upper management seemed to care. AS if it was our job to take the heat for the engineers who can't build a product that works. It sucks. Shoretel was such a great company years ago and it just felt like walking into a black cloud every day. no one is happy. everyone is overworked. it's sad.

      Continue reading
      8 people found this review helpful
    9. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      ShoreTel is going to have a hard time being a UCaaS leader

      Mar 30, 2014 - Anonymous Employee in New York, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      There is a lot of potential for ShoreTel in the UCaaS industry if they invest not only from a technical perspective but also in senior management that understands the cloud. ShoreTel acquired M5 Networks 2 years ago and it was a strategic move as they had no experience in this industry but they knew in order to not only survive but be a leader in the marketplace they needed this acquisition. I will speak about what happened since in the "Cons" section. The benefits offering is good. The culture is pretty good for a company of this size.

      Cons

      Since the acquisition of M5, the Company has stated they wanted to invest in the "cloud" because that was the future. Other than opening a more reliable data center, they have done nothing to enhance the true offering. There is not one person on the executive team that has any cloud experience. They have squandered the opportunity to become UCaaS leader. It will show itself in the stock price for sure. Because of the disconnect between the offices, they have managed to rid themselves of the brain trust that is their future--they moved out all the people that made M5 a successful growing company and that will manifest it self shortly in the form of a lowered stock price.

      Continue reading
      3 people found this review helpful
    10. 3.0
      Current Employee

      Too much bureaucracy, not enough recognition...

      May 13, 2012 - Technical Support Engineer in Austin, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Immediate management tends to do a good job of letting you alone to do your job. The product is fantastic, and there's no better place to learn it than the manufacturer. You can see vestiges of the start-up mentality, but they're fading.

      Cons

      Management promises seem empty. I was promised a promotion within two years of hire, and so far nothing. Despite holding top 10% productivity scores, politics seems to get in the way. I got a whole lot of flack from coming in +/- 10 minutes from my "official" start time, even though I consistently worked 55+ hours a week, lead the team in customer satisfaction scores, mentor new employees, and write half of the knowledge base. That seems to me to be a confusion of priorities and a lack of recognition of actual work. Salary is significantly below expectations, thought benefits are decent and stability seems positive. Lots of buzzwords

      Continue reading
      3 people found this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 255 Reviews

    Popular Careers with ShoreTel Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at ShoreTel? Share Your Experiences

    ShoreTel logo
    or