Smart & Final Reviews | Glassdoor

Smart & Final Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 289 reviews

3.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
52%
Recommend to a Friend
70%
Approve of CEO
Smart & Final CEO David G. Hirz
David G. Hirz
115 Ratings
Pros
  • "great first job, many opportunities to advance with in, flexible hours, many positions(in 13 reviews)

  • "Friendly work environment with good people(in 9 reviews)

Cons
  • "You are not considered FULL time unless you basically have a manager type position(in 12 reviews)

  • "They have also only started hiring part time associates with no benefits(in 12 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Accountant in Commerce, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Smart & Final full-time for more than 20 years

    Pros

    Salary, flexible hours and newer systems

    Cons

    Lazy people in many departments

    Advice to Management

    Check personal activity on all computers

    Smart & Final2019-02-13
  2. "Working"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Sales Associate 

      I worked at Smart & Final part-time for more than a year

      Pros

      It’s very fun to work at & the co workers are great

      Cons

      It was hard to go to work and school

      Smart & Final2019-05-14
    • "Good company"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Front End Supervisor in Phoenix, AZ
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Smart & Final part-time for more than 4 years

      Pros

      Hours most of the time. Discount is pretty good, 401k is nice.

      Cons

      part time status= part time pay. Don’t make enough to pay for insurance

      Advice to Management

      Store runs good, no complaints. Love my management team.

      Smart & Final2019-04-18
    • "Horrible management. Human Resources doesn’t do its job."

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Front-end/Customer Service Manager in Highland, CA
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at Smart & Final full-time for more than 20 years

      Pros

      Benefits are good. Pay was decent

      Cons

      Human Resources does not do its job. Dealt with retaliation and harassment and I only got a call back when I quit and got my final check. They didn’t investigate like they said they would. They don’t care about their employees. HR should be restaffed or retrained to do their job the way it should be handled. They are losing a lot of good employees.

      Advice to Management

      No work/ life /balance, Like you preach your service Managers 10:30-7 shift 5days a week is a joke.

      Smart & Final2019-05-17
    • "Not paid well for a living"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Las Vegas, NV

      I have been working at Smart & Final part-time for more than 4 years

      Pros

      Work experience and cool coworkers

      Cons

      Low pay not worth it

      Smart & Final2019-05-16
    • "Marketing Team full time"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Current Employee - Marketing 

        I have been working at Smart & Final full-time

        Pros

        -Friendly colleagues -Great Benefits -Great leadership -excellent staff -remote positions available

        Cons

        -Low stability -growth -department is cliquey -poor communication

        Smart & Final2019-04-22
      • "Decent"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Clerk in Irvine, CA
        Doesn't Recommend
        Negative Outlook
        No opinion of CEO

        I worked at Smart & Final part-time for more than a year

        Pros

        typical grocery store gig. other employees were cool

        Cons

        management was terrible. when your inventory loss is bad, stop the bleeding as opposed to continuing to order backstock.

        Advice to Management

        try and order stock that the store actually needs as opposed to just bulk ordering products that arent selling

        Smart & Final2019-04-17
      • "Great place to work!"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Creative Director in Los Angeles, CA
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I have been working at Smart & Final full-time for more than 4 years

        Pros

        Strong culture of teamwork, integrity and accountability. Awesome in-house gym! 10% discount on all your grocery shopping!

        Cons

        Very few cons - some associates have been here for many, many years which is great but some of them don't want to change and adapt to the current market.

        Advice to Management

        It's a tough time but you are doing a great job - stick to your principles and keep making things happen =-)

        Smart & Final2019-03-29
      • "good company"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Supervisor in San Francisco, CA
        Recommends
        Negative Outlook
        No opinion of CEO

        I worked at Smart & Final full-time for more than 20 years

        Pros

        flexibility, pay, teamwork, location, growth opportunities

        Cons

        tight labor, no bench, senior management

        Smart & Final2019-04-11
      • "Horrible Management"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Cashier in Los Angeles, CA
        Doesn't Recommend
        Negative Outlook
        Disapproves of CEO

        I have been working at Smart & Final part-time for more than 2 years

        Pros

        There was plenty of hours available.

        Cons

        There is no upward mobility, absolutely no raises given, and they do not work with your schedule.

        Smart & Final2019-04-10
      Found 289 reviews