Sony Electronics Reviews

Updated May 31, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.9
80%
Recommend to a Friend
95%
Approve of CEO
Sony Electronics President and COO Michael Fasulo
Michael Fasulo
101 Ratings
Pros
  • "Global work environment, your ideas are respected, definitely the best place for fresh grads(in 61 reviews)

  • "Great brand, great people, great office gym(in 55 reviews)

Cons
  • "Poor work life balance and constant struggle to keep up(in 35 reviews)

  • "The middle and senior management dont have a vision and all senior are the oldest in the system who have no clue about the changing dynamics(in 25 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (2)

    "very solid company"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Diego, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sony Electronics full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Management has really turned the company around from a financial perspective. Over the last four years, the company has been focuses heavily on ethical and crafty business practices. Competitive Salary and strong bonuses last few years. 401k match is probably the best in the industry, ends up being 7.5% of salary + bonus.

    Cons

    Hours can be long, but results have been showing. Small organization, running lean and mean. Career upside is present, but limited. Not for everyone.

    Sony Electronics2019-04-13
  2. "Staff Software Engineer"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Staff Software Engineer in San Jose, CA

    I worked at Sony Electronics full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great exposure to lots of development technologies

    Cons

    Dispersed team in different global timezones

    Sony Electronics2020-05-31
  3. "Great job"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Representative in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Sony Electronics full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    nice people, able to advance

    Cons

    workload increases without pay increase

    Sony Electronics2019-11-10
  4. "Good company, great benefits"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Human Resources in San Diego, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sony Electronics full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Benefits are top notch. Flexible vacation, low out of pocket cost for employees. Good culture, nice group of people to work with. Work life balance! Some work from home opportunities.

    Cons

    You likely won't be promoted, ever. People stay with the company forever. If you are promoted, you won't be paid to market. Salaries are low. All stock must be purchased regardless of level or tenure.

    Sony Electronics2019-10-16

    Sony Electronics Response

    October 28, 2019Branding & Talent Specialist

    Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We appreciate and value your input as an employee. One of our many benefits are our competitive market range salaries that we offer. Our intention is to continue to make Sony the best place you have ever worked at. Thank you again for your insight. It helps us to continue to stay competitive and create the best work environment for everyone.

  5. "Very good company"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Expert Inventory Analyst in Miami, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Sony Electronics full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Good compensations and benefits. Great opportunity career

    Cons

    Some scheduled relocations to another city.

    Continue reading
    Sony Electronics2019-10-05
  6. "Good Place to work"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Marketing Manager in San Diego, CA
    Recommends
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Sony Electronics full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    The people are what made the company.

    Cons

    Too many "cooks in the kitchen" so to speak. Hard to navigate and get work done with so many people adding their input.

    Sony Electronics2019-10-02
  7. Helpful (1)

    "On the surface it looks like a great company, but far from it."

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Diego, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Sony Electronics full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Pay, benefits and the Starbucks in the building.

    Cons

    Don't expect any flexibility here. For a tech company they are stuck in the old days of "you must be in the office so upper management sees you"... When scheduling any type of appointments they tell you to do it after 5pm - which is impossible.

    Continue reading
    Sony Electronics2019-10-21

    Sony Electronics Response

    October 28, 2019Branding & Talent Specialist

    Hello and thank you for taking the time to share this feedback with us. We’re sorry to hear that your experience does not match with what we strive to do every day – create the best work environment for our teams. We were just named one of the top 3 companies in the category ‘Company Culture’ by Working Mother Magazine for our many benefits and flexible work arrangements and remote work opportunities. If you have any concerns about your flexible work arrangements please contact our HR department. Again, thank you for sharing your feedback and we hope to hear soon from you so we can connect and share some of the many benefits available to our employees to ensure a healthy work life balance.

  8. "Respectable Company - but not perfect"

    4.0
    Former Employee - Senior Software QA Engineer in San Diego, CA

    I worked at Sony Electronics full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great work/life balance. Plenty of incentives and events to keep morale high. The people that work here make it all worthwhile.

    Cons

    Being an international company, sometimes differences in cultures can hinder success of ideas.

    Sony Electronics2019-09-04
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Best amenities & culture"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Product Manager in San Diego, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sony Electronics full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    I have been in the San Diego HQ for 10 years. Sony has gone above and beyond to make this facility a great place to work - amazing cafeteria, onsite gym, coffee shop, beautiful building/grounds. The vacation time is also exceedingly generous. I also feel the company does an amazing job with diversity - it is a great culture. Overall, I am very happy and proud to work at Sony.

    Cons

    Round after round of layoffs, never feel secure.

    Sony Electronics2019-08-05
  10. "Great Place to learn"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Management in San Diego, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sony Electronics full-time

    Pros

    Great, passionate, professional people. You can learn a lot working here.

    Cons

    Flat organization so promotion opportunities are limited.

    Sony Electronics2019-06-07
Found 517 reviews