Source Reviews | Glassdoor

Create your profile to get personalized information

Source Reviews

Updated Oct 16, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.1
77%
Recommend to a Friend
74%
Approve of CEO
Source Directors Annika de Friend and Sarah James (no image)
Annika de Friend and Sarah James
29 Ratings
  1. "Great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Digital Marketing Specialist 

    I worked at Source full-time

    Pros

    Great place to work for sure

    Cons

    None that I know of

    Source2019-10-16
  2. "project head"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Specialist in Mumbai
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Source part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The best you get and deserve the quality you posses

    Cons

    all figures are not same so i point little

    Continue reading
    Source2019-09-27
  3. "Toxic"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Consultant 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Source full-time

    Pros

    Nice offices in a good location

    Cons

    Bad management, toxic culture, bullying.

    Source2019-10-11
  4. "Wowsers! A refreshing approach to recruitment."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Consultant in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Source full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I joined Source back in late August after having only 2 months exposure to recruitment, I won't lie I hadn't heard the greatest things about recruitment and was hesitant before joining. Source very quickly changed my perspective on this. Right from the interview stage to my first day, I was extremely looked after and welcomed. I’ve formed my own style of recruitment and what matches my own personal brand rather than conforming to an old school style of sales. – that just isn’t me! The targets are achievable and my manager is regularly helping and supporting me achieve my personal and work goals. I've recently been promoted to Consultant and have been given very clear and achievable targets on how to get another promotion and a pay rise! Not only have I gained financially, but the people are genuinely A LOT of fun, I've also had the opportunity to join the culture club where we get to organise charity events, team nights out and end of quarter celebrations! The company also has 2 trip incentives every year which also helps drive achieving your goals. Another huge pro is how understanding and open the Directors are. Source welcome suggestions, opinions and thoughts very openly and are happy to listen to anything you think would benefit the company – (they will also reward you £300 if signed off by the board which is a huge bonus!!) I love working at Source and have fallen in love with being a consultant to companies and people to help them further their career and businesses. It's extremely rewarding to support someone with their journey.

    Cons

    This is really difficult as any con with Source is easily and quickly resolved, my only con was how far I live but the flexi-time has been a great option for me.

    Continue reading
    Source2019-04-08
  5. Helpful (1)

    "STAY AWAY!!! TERRIBLE COMPANY"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Recruitment Consultant in Aldgate
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Source full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    None - As it’s all dishonest and sycophantic

    Cons

    As they are dishonest, regardless of how well your doing if they don’t like you they will make up something to dismiss you. They suggest 40% of their staff have been there for 5 years or more but that statistic is used to cover the cracks and manipulate you into thinking they treat employees well but they are absolutely dreadful, callous and selfish. What happened to the other 60% people. It is disappointing because you have high hopes for them when you start but they quickly eradicate that with their natural lack of professionalism or respect for their employees. They cleverly ask you to write reviews when times are good (usually in the beginning) and as it’s the beginning most people won’t right anything bad because they want to remain positive but it’s just false. Recruitment already has a tarnished name and Source appear like a breath of fresh air but they are a big disappointment. The 40% that have stayed monopolise the culture so if you don’t fit in then your gonna be asked to leave. If you take your career seriously then I would suggest other companies. However if your willing to take a risk you may fit into that culture. As testament to the above look on LinkedIn and you’ll see how many employees they’ve had that don’t work for them anymore but did so briefly.

    Continue reading
    Source2019-05-08

    Source Response

    May 20, 2019Creative, Social and Talent Executive

    As a company, we have strong values and expect everyone in our team to behave on brand in every aspect of the business. Fundamentally, we need every person within the business to conduct themselves according to our values and deliver upon their role; if either are not delivered upon, we will address for sure. Source is an inclusive family with a strong culture, of which we are very proud and protective of. Individuals that collaborate, always strive for excellence, follow our brand values will flourish in their career at Source with the support and encouragement from us all. We understand that not every workplace environment or structure is going to suit everyone, that’s why we ensure that we are clear and honest at all times about what we expect from the talent we hire. We hope you find your tribe and your career flourishes, we are saddened that you feel you didn’t have a positive experience at Source and wish you the best of luck.

    Continue reading
  6. "Associate Consultant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Source full-time

    Pros

    While working for source the best thing about them is the support structure.

    Cons

    They have honestly the worst database possible, making small tasks such as adding CV's and notes annoying time-consuming.

    Source2019-04-03
  7. "I had a few options, I chose Source and couldn't be happier"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Source full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I joined Source because I felt it was a company that was on the verge of something fantastic. Now I'm here, I'm pleased to say I was right. From everything I've seen so far, the company has gone through quite a bit of change this year but all of it has been done to improve the business and make more money for everyone - which is what we're all here for right?! The directors have a clear view of where they want the business to go and it's a vision that, I think the majority here would agree, is exciting and will give me all the opportunities to build a really successful career here. The office is very welcoming and supportive. I've asked a lot of questions and no matter who I've asked, they have been nothing but friendly and helpful. It's a really enjoyable environment - much different from what I'm used to in other recruitment firms. The directors are great in my opinion. Both Annika and Sarah are full of knowledge and more than happy to help and support me. It's clear that they genuinely care about the company and the people in it. Their attitudes to KPI's is perfect. Like me, they feel that KPI's should be used as a tool to help me understand how I can improve my results, analyse what I do well and how I can improve - not something to beat me over the head with. It's refreshing to be honest and should tell you everything you need to know about Annika and Sarah. They have a really clear idea of who the company should be and they consider the 'Source Way' when making decisions, they don't just take what other companies do and apply it without thinking 'will this actually benefit us and does it feel like the Source Way', I love that. All in all, I'm so pleased I chose Source. I am the happiest I have been in a while and I can only see great things ahead.

    Cons

    I honestly can't think of a single thing. I would have said the database we use is shocking, but the management team recognised that and we are in the process of moving to a new one!

    Continue reading
    Source2018-12-06

    Source Response

    December 20, 2018Creative, Social and Talent Executive

    I am beaming with pride reading this, I really am. Thank you so much for taking the time to write this review. Makes me very proud to read this in so many, many ways. Firstly because I am so proud of the team I have at Source and how incredibly supportive, collaborative and welcoming they are to each other. And secondly to have people within the business who take time to understand why change is necessary for business and the people within it to thrive…. There was a famous quote I once heard, “Change is a law of life. For those who look only to the past or present, will certainly miss the future.” With your mindset and our proven framework, you will certainly pave your way to a successful career with us. Thank you so much again for such a positive review.

    Continue reading
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Not aware of the decline in good culture."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Source full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - When I joined the people were amazing, very encouraging, good energy and wanted to achieve great things. If you're looking for your first role in recruitment this is the perfect place to learn.

    Cons

    In the past year, it seemed the business model changed to hiring mostly juniors resulting in an uninspiring place to work, way too much admin for admin sake, meetings for meetings sake. I feel the company isn't aware of the decline in culture after losing several long standing employees. Also, the way they've treated some people (who gave a lot to them!) after leaving is quite simply unacceptable.

    Source2018-11-08

    Source Response

    December 5, 2018Creative, Social and Talent Executive

    I am sad to see that you would find that hiring juniors results in an uninspiring place to work. You may have left before their great successes have been realised, proactively adding to the culture with great ideas and even becoming skills champions within the business. We have always had great success in hiring juniors and part of what I find as my success is being able to provide a framework for this success; our very own Director Sarah started on reception and is one of the best success stories of Source. Unfortunately jobs aren’t for life and out of key people who have left this year, only two were to competitors and the rest have gone on to great things like having babies, travelling and on the path to a change in career. I think it is difficult to judge and comment on situations when you only hear one side of the story.

    Continue reading
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Used to be great. Now just like any other kpi-focussed firm"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Source full-time

    Pros

    Nice office Good commission if over target

    Cons

    Very kpi-focussed these days. Have lost their usp - not sure what actually makes these guys different anymore. Training aint free! If you leave within a certain time you have to pay it back. One of the directors asked to know who wrote the reviews on here whilst I was there - so take a lot of them with a pinch of salt! No ones going to say bad stuff if they know their boss is reviewing who wrote them.

    Continue reading
    Source2018-10-31

    Source Response

    December 5, 2018Creative, Social and Talent Executive

    We do use Key Performance indicators within the business. We have invested in the infrastructure to deliver this information as we know how incredibly insightful it is. There is a reason why the world is so hungry for data as ultimately when you understand your data, this is when you can utilise it to improve the performance of your business. In particular we use them to: 1. help people achieve their own personal goals - this is a big focus for us in the business 2. help identify what people need to do to be successful 3. It enables us to celebrate success 4. It is THE most powerful tool when used in conjunction with ratios to quickly spot training and development requirements and enables us to action this quickly I appreciate KPIs has a bad reputation when used poorly within businesses, but when they are used appropriately it can have a hugely positive impact on our consultants’ success, career development and ultimately the service our clients and candidates receive which is and always has been our key focus and what we measure as our success.

    Continue reading
  10. "A truly unique place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Source part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The culture is a HUGE pro - every single person that works here is so driven, passionate about doing recruitment right. The office is buzzy and always full of laughter. It is such a positive and inspiring place to work - as am employee you genuinely feel valued and cared about. I love that Source is led by two inspiring women - Sarah and Annika are so switched on and involved in the business. They are open to ideas and are always approachable. The training is brilliant, the progression is completely clear and transparent. The incentives are great and really fair, everyone has the same chance of enjoying incentives, it's not just people at a certain level that qualify. Everyone is genuinely collaborative - everyone is very supportive and helpful, although we're all divided into specialist areas it really doesn't feel like it - it just feels like one big team. The flexible working is great - never having to worry about being late and choosing hours that work for you.

    Cons

    There are no cons that I can think of

    Source2018-10-11

    Source Response

    December 5, 2018Creative, Social and Talent Executive

    Thank you for such a lovely review. Really pleased you are enjoying working at Source so much. We have such a diverse group of people, the glue that holds us together is our values, work ethic and our drive to deliver the best recruitment experience for our candidates and clients. Getting this on point means that there is such collaboration and a fantastic culture that we are so very proud of.

    Continue reading
Found 34 reviews