Supercell Reviews

Updated Feb 6, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
4.8
95%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Supercell CEO Ilkka Paananen (no image)
Ilkka Paananen
14 Ratings
  1. Helpful (8)

    "Nothing comparable"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Illustrator, Art Director in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Supercell full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    You can nitpick any professional situation, but in balance there’s no place like supercell for letting you succeed on your merits under your own initiative. In that sense it’s a dream opportunity. And in most other senses the company is just the best there is.

    Cons

    The difficulty with stunning success is trying to repeat and preserve it. It’s not a “con” really, but it is a lot to live up to.

    Continue reading
    Supercell2018-11-05
  2. Helpful (11)

    "It sounds too good to be true. (but it is)"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Supercell full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Independence can be very empowering. What would you do if you could affect anything? Colleagues feel authentically motivated by the company culture, because it affects their day to day operations and they're continually empowered by it. I feel like my colleagues genuinely care for my well being, like we're in it together. With 5 offices, and the ability to travel to and meet colleagues of very different cultural backgrounds, you're exposed to a diverse POV which is refreshing. Many colleagues change their role to fit what they're the most passionate about, what they think creates the most impact, and to adjust to ever changing needs when the company pivots or the market changes. The opportunity for lateral movement and actually seeing it happen reinforces the independence culture. We share our failures (even rebranding them as 'learnings') and we actually celebrate our learnings with champagne. The perks are just unheard of. You'll hear about them in the interview. They're totally true. Our CEO is very humble, personable, listens, and will make time for you.

    Cons

    Independence can feel very scary. When nobody is telling you what to do, what would you do? The culture is so unlike most corporate structures that it can feel like you're in a foreign country for the first time. It requires a lot of reprogramming and buying into the mindset, which takes a lot of adjusting to the cultures that had influenced and incentivized previous behavior (at previous companies). Diversity is sought, but it sometimes doesn't feel like it in some internal teams. Albeit sometimes it can be unavoidable, but it's being addressed by teams asking for input and management actively engaged in the issue. The most negative way to say you need to buy into company culture is to 'drink the cool aid'. You do need to buy into the culture, and that takes effort. In this case I think it's safe to drink this cool aid. So in a roundabout cons section comment it can be somewhat cult-like. I can easily see from the outside that it can be perceived as that. [that's why the title is "It sounds too good to be true (but it is)"] Communicating with 5 different company branches and across multiple cultures can be challenging, as it amplifies miscommunication. With so many options to choose from, but finite time to execute, it really is tough to learn to focus on what'll be impactful, especially since sometimes it is hard to measure impact. If you're the type who wants to know what your next 5 years will be like, I don't recommend this company. The company itself feels both stable and dynamic (depends on the role(s) you choose). Adventure awaits. If you're the type who thrives only under direction but are paralyzed when all of a sudden being given many choices, this isn't a good place for you to succeed. If you are afraid to fail, you may find it challenging to adapt here. This is not an 'easy' place to work.

    Continue reading
    Supercell2018-10-09

    Supercell Response

    January 23, 2019Recruitment Content

    Thank you for the elaborate text!

  3. Helpful (2)

    "Best place to work. Period."

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Supercell full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Amazing: people, games, culture, offices, benefits, food, travel, offsites, challenges, lack of management and opportunities to make an impact.

    Cons

    The biggest downside is that the center of gravity of Supercell is in Helsinki (the headquarters and where most people are) and Helsinki is really far from San Francisco. The difference in time zones further complicates communication. The upside is that you can go to Helsinki as often as you want and could even stay for several months, but for people with families/kids/other obligations that's not always easy to do. Also, the lack of structure and clear, defined tasks could be challenging or frustrating for some people (while amazing and inspiring for others).

    Supercell2018-10-14
  4. Helpful (4)

    "Best company and people"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     in South San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Supercell for less than a year

    Pros

    Amazing company culture and management.. Supercell does a great job hiring humble, talented folks. This is a company where your ideas are valued and your hard work is recognized. Anything is possible!

    Cons

    If you ever leave the company, anywhere else would be a downgrade.

    Supercell2018-09-25
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Independence"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Supercell full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Truly free to do the best work possible Tons of independence available CEO is very hands off...very rare and outstanding Small company feel

    Cons

    Independence comes with responsibility. Not a place for people who want a ton . of direction

    Continue reading
    Supercell2018-09-25
  6. Helpful (9)

    "Amazing company"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Supercell

    Pros

    Amazing company with great people and great CEO. Company processes, transparency, management of growth, focus on the development and lack of bureaucracy are a benchmark for rest of the industry. Great place to work at.

    Cons

    Development philosophy felt fairly data driven and risk averse, at least when compared to traditional PC/console development. Probably not any worse than most f2p mobile game companies, though. People sometimes seemed to spend more time discussing different metrics and monetization than actual fun of the gameplay experience.

    Continue reading
    Supercell2016-10-08
  7. Helpful (9)

    "Focus is on Quality"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Supercell full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Supercell provides the freedom to get the job done without any red tape or egos. If you want a place where you can actually execute a plan - this is the place. Along with freedom comes responsibility which most overachievers seek out in a career. It is a great opportunity to sink your teeth into a role, get things done the right way and to truly focus on Quality. One of the most collaborative environments I have ever seen...with out the territorial politics.

    Cons

    Not a con for those who seek independence - but there is very little hierarchy so no one tells you what to do or exactly how to do it. It is up to you. If you are confident, passionate and like to be in control of your job you will love it at Supercell. If you want direction and to be told what to do and how to do it, you probably won't thrive in this environment.

    Continue reading
    Supercell2016-01-11
  8. Helpful (5)

    "Amazing Place to Work!"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Supercell full-time

    Pros

    The people, the products, and the vision are all amazing. Everyone is all on the same page working towards the same great vision: to create great games that people will play for decades! Couldn't have asked for a better team.

    Cons

    There are no cons here.

    Continue reading
    Supercell2016-01-05
  9. Helpful (11)

    "Best Job ever"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Supercell

    Pros

    Unbelievable Talent. Generous and Thoughtful Leadership. Freedom and Independence to do what you're best at. Incredible culture of trust and transparency.

    Cons

    Small company means constant start up mode & limited hands but that keeps things interesting.

    Continue reading
    Supercell2015-05-04
  10. Helpful (4)

    "Best company in gaming industry"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Marketing in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Supercell full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Best culture. Product is unbelievable.

    Cons

    Still a start-up. Lots of ambiguity.

    Continue reading
    Supercell2015-02-17
Found 26 reviews