Swinton Insurance Reviews

Updated Jun 1, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
2.7
28%
Recommend to a Friend
38%
Approve of CEO
Swinton Insurance Managing Director Scott Kennedy (no image)
Scott Kennedy
10 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great people in each department(in 20 reviews)

  • "Not a bad company to work for, good people to work with(in 13 reviews)

Cons
  • "the call centre / head office in Manchester will be gone within 2 years when it starts functioning out of King Stoke(in 20 reviews)

  • "Head office location not the easiest to get to(in 18 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Good support"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Representative in Timbuctoo, NJ
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Swinton Insurance full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    *More transparency than in the past. *Working conditions much improved, no longer asking for longer hours or huge pressure targets and the bullying/threats that used to accompany them. *Support whilst preparing for redundancy which has been a big help.

    Cons

    *Systems still not great two years in. *Moderation is an ever moving target and alters to fit whatever the current narrative is. *Objectives set but calls forwarded to branches are 75% service calls (ie usually the complex stuff) and only 14% sales calls in which to hit objectives ? *Not convinced the big change in direction from branch to digital has worked (and those responsible have since moved on) judging by latest company figures, but it’s too late to go back. *Lack of general insurance technical knowledge, most of the knowledge is in the branches and lacking in other areas (which I suspect is why branches are still open and getting the bulk of service calls, rather than straightforward renewals or quotes).

    Continue reading
    Swinton Insurance2018-12-06
  2. "Csa"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - CSA in Manchester, NH
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Swinton Insurance part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good pay, good support, flexible hours. The work itself is very easy. They are very understanding to circumstances and there is opportunity to grow.

    Cons

    High pressure to achieve targets and customers can sometimes be a real hassle due to previous employees not resolving an issue.

    Continue reading
    Swinton Insurance2016-05-18
  3. Helpful (9)

    "Great ideas for future, poor implementation."

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - CSA in Branch, AR
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Swinton Insurance full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Contrary to many people's opinion insurance can be a very interesting industry. Uniform is provided. Recent pay rises mean the pending redundancy packages will be better for those losing their jobs.

    Cons

    Flex is not flexible it is dictated to us when we can take it. Holidays cannot be taken when required. Being forced to work late nights every week alone is not ideal. Knowledge and experience counts for nothing, encouraged by CM to be less helpful and involved with anything that doesn't involve a sale, contrary to the new culture of putting customer at heart of everything we do, sometimes feel totally inept due to poor processes, having customers in front of you and having to read many different scripts from scrappy pieces of paper lying around on your desk or taped to your monitor is unprofessional and makes you look incompetent as well as your desk looking scruffy. If you live far from Manchester very little career progression.

    Continue reading
    Swinton Insurance2016-02-26

    Swinton Insurance Response

    February 29, 2016Resourcing Operations Manager

    Thank you for you feedback. As part of improving the way we work at Swinton we’re encouraging feedback and we’re really keen to hear your insight about what’s working & what isn’t. Please could you speak to your line manager, or contact the HR team confidentially so we can help?

  4. "Helpful and Professional"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Digital Analytics Manager in Manchester City Centre, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Swinton Insurance full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Autonomy, Good Atmosphere, Professional People

    Cons

    Bureaucratic, Difficult to get new tools approved

    Swinton Insurance2020-06-01
  5. "Sales"

    3.0
    Current Employee - Customer Sales Associate in Manchester, England

    I have been working at Swinton Insurance full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The location is good. There is great commission. And there is a nice dress down culture.

    Cons

    Small mistakes can have them remove your bonus.

    Swinton Insurance2020-03-12
  6. "Analyst at Swinton"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Analyst in Manchester, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Swinton Insurance full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good place to grow and develop

    Cons

    I had no issues while there

    Swinton Insurance2020-03-11
  7. "Decent Wage Poor work life balance"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - CSA - Customer Service Associate in Manchester, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Swinton Insurance full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Wage is good for the job. People i work with are nice

    Cons

    Move target goal posts very often. Process changes every week. Work life balance isn't good at all

    Continue reading
    Swinton Insurance2020-01-27
  8. "Management make the place bearable."

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - CSA - Customer Service Associate in Manchester, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Swinton Insurance part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    People, Atmosphere, Commission, Management, Salary

    Cons

    No progression, Boring, Bonus removed

    Swinton Insurance2020-01-17
  9. "Ok"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - CSA 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Swinton Insurance full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Not a bad company to work for, good people to work with

    Cons

    No one knows the correct answer to anything

    Swinton Insurance2019-11-26
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Profits over customer care"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Swinton Insurance full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Good benefits, full sick pay, good wellbeing programs.

    Cons

    Went from being a ‘Sales Machine’ to a ‘customer service machine’ now back to being a ‘sales machine’ - currently no care for employees, no training, no observations just focused on sales. The new company and it’s very commercially driven CEO the King of Stoke.....the call centre / head office in Manchester will be gone within 2 years when it starts functioning out of King Stoke! No way will he pay Manchester City rates.

    Continue reading
    Swinton Insurance2019-12-04
Found 367 reviews