Symetra Reviews

Updated Jun 18, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 311 of over 341 reviews

4.0
82%
Recommend to a Friend
93%
Approve of CEO
Symetra CEO Margaret Meister (no image)
Margaret Meister
51 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great work-life balance: offers flexible schedule with an option to work from home(in 38 reviews)

  • "Nice work environment with a amenities(in 16 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Upper management can be scattered and varies from team to team(in 15 reviews)

  • "Also, work/life balance does take a toll during busy season, but that is to be expected in accounting/finance(in 13 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Awesome company to work with

      Jun 18, 2021 - Marketing Analyst in Seattle, WA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great working environment and everyone is excited to work everyday

      Cons

      No cons for me i enjoy working here

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Amazing culture and CEO

      Jun 16, 2021 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Amazing culture fostered by an exceptional CEO! Great pay, competitive benefits, positive culture, reacts quickly to changing times, respects diversity, respectful to employees creating a culture of excellent customer service

      Cons

      Nothing I can think of honestly

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      COVID-19

      Mar 17, 2021 - Product Analyst II in Enfield, CT
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I thought that I was valued and made to feel appreciated but this wasn't true.

      Cons

      I was let go in September of 2020 in the middle of COVID-19. It wasn't that I was under performing but rather my title changed from project manager to product analyst. Due to no fault of my own the work became more challenging and I offered to look for a new role. Management agreed this was a good move but only gave me two months to look with no assistance. I bring this up because on LinkedIn there is an article from Symetra starting with, "A serious health event can be difficult for employees and employers..." Personal, I don't think they care about this. I have Multiple Sclerosis and was let go in the middle of a pandemic in the worst job market. I was encouraged to try to come back, look on the job boards. I have applied for just a customer service representative and they would not hire me back. I'm either over qualified or under qualified. I still can't find a new role and unemployment is ending for me. I can't begin to explain how I feel at this moment.

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful
    4. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Employees Come First

      Jun 14, 2021 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      A company that has shined above the rest when it comes to pandemic response and putting their employees first.

      Cons

      Trying to organize themselves around the changes in various departments and removing silos.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 8 years

      Great Employer

      Jun 9, 2021 - Manager in Bellevue, WA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great benefits, flexibility and inclusive culture.

      Cons

      I do not have any cons to share.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Good Company to work for

      Jun 4, 2021 - Sales Support Specialist in Bellevue, WA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good working environment Good opportunity for growth

      Cons

      I don't see any cons

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    7. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      not enough training

      Jun 16, 2021 - Internal Wholesaler in Bellevue, WA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      great people, flexible schedule, nice office location.

      Cons

      low pay, not enough training

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Poor Salary Negotiation

      Dec 17, 2020 - Customer Operations Representative in Bellevue, WA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good work life balance for most people. Good tuition reimbursement available. Easy process.

      Cons

      Low salary offer for former employee.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful

      Symetra Response

      Lindsay Dixon, AVP of Customer Service & Operations

      Thank you for the positive feedback on our work/life balance and tuition reimbursement program, I agree with you! When setting salary for new team members, Symetra does consider multiple factors, including prior experience with our company or other companies. We always appreciate feedback and would love to hear more; please reach out to ASKHR@symetra.com if you want someone to connect with you.

    9. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Great support network

      May 11, 2021 - Associate Customer Service Representative in Bellevue, WA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The job has a lot of great support networks to help ease into the job and do well.

      Cons

      It's a call center job

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Symetra Response

      Lindsay Dixon, AVP of Customer Service and Operations

      Appreciate you taking the time to share your positive experience with training support and success in the role. Our contact center teams are so important to us, being there each day to deliver exceptional service to our customers and partners. Thank you for all you do, we are glad to have you on the team!

    10. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Symetra is what you make of it

      Apr 25, 2021 - Internal Wholesaler (Retirement Division) in Bellevue, WA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      PTO Grants, Flexible WFH, no intense sales goals, ability for upward growth

      Cons

      Lack of training, lack of merit based pay system, lots of unpaid overtime happening

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 311 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Symetra Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Symetra? Share Your Experiences

    Symetra logo
    or