KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

Systems Alliance

Is this your company?

Systems Alliance

Add a Review

Systems Alliance Reviews

Updated Jul 8, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 35 of over 37 reviews

4.7
96%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Systems Alliance President and CEO Ric Hughes
Ric Hughes
28 Ratings
  1. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Great Atmosphere

    Jul 8, 2021 - Tech Support Engineer 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Everyone there wants to see you succeed. Not once have I felt like no one there cared for me. Every day I'm in the office the CEO and CTO go out of their way to talk to me.

    Cons

    Literally no cons about this company.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Great company, leadership, products & services!

    Jun 15, 2020 - Director Talent Acquisition in Hunt Valley, MD
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Leadership is great! I feel they actually try to live the culture tagline: Hungry, Humble, smart. I've recruited for lots of companies over the years and all the good and bad at a company trickles down from the top. The leaders of this company care for their teams and their customers. They regularly discuss and live out the mission of solving problems for their customers and employees. They also happen to be top-notch talent! The people in general are nice, helpful, caring, and genuine. Their work is superb! They don't lose customers, because the customers know that everyone at SAI is on mission together to solve their problems. Everyone wants to feel like their solving problems in the world, and here you can do it. The company is at a great spot in it's maturity. They have both stability and lots of opportunities to make an impact.

    Cons

    Nothing major. Normal growing pains mostly.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  3. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Heart of a start-up and the stability of a 25 year-old company

    Dec 18, 2018 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Leadership is more concerned about people than money but also recognize that in order to support people they have to make money. So where it's possible, people who need extra room to learn and grow into their roles are given that opportunity. There is also a robust culture of philanthropy and the company supports multiple local non-profits.

    Cons

    Honestly nothing major. I'm quite happy to work here.

    1 person found this review helpful
  4. 5.0
    Former Employee

    Great company atmosphere

    Apr 8, 2019 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Everyone here has your back and wants to see you succeed.

    Cons

    There are none that come to mind.

    2 people found this review helpful
  5. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Good Company

    Apr 4, 2019 - Web Developer 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    - Good, relaxed culture - Friendly coworkers and environment - Relatively flat structure

    Cons

    - Annoying Billing system - Company decisions made without informing or consulting employees sometimes

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  6. 3.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years

    Good experience, not a long term culture fit

    Nov 21, 2018 - Content Strategist in Cockeysville, MD
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Small, family-like feel where people are friendly and cordial. Being a smaller company means there is a sense of community and direct access to leadership. The office space is brand new and the technology is excellent- fast, updated versions of everything... direct access to IT is a plus. Nice end of year holiday party to which spouses/guests are invited, annual summer picnic, monthly meetups in the office (think beer and pool/ping pong). Casual dress code. Volunteer activities in the community. Close proximity to Wegmans. One of my favorite experiences was I was able to attend a conference in Philly for 3 days which the company paid for along with my travel and expenses.

    Cons

    HR Coming from a corporate background it was an adjustment that there was no HR "department”. There is one person who oversees Finance as well Human Resources. As a woman I found it difficult at times to bring up real HR-type challenges to a) a man and b) a man who is also in charge of financial matters. It's a small company so it is what it is- but worth noting. Also worth noting- no paid maternity/paternity leave. (Short term disability is available and is company paid.) Evaluation Process In SAI Digital you are primarily evaluated on how many hours you spend working on billable work— aka client work. If you have a goal to meet X number of billable hours, but you don't hit that number, it impacts your performance review (and bonus- so negotiate salary outside the assumption your bonus is attainable by hard work). The problem with this approach is that you do *not* have control over how many billable hours you are allocated. So, if sales are low, and there's no billable work to do, you will spend your time on "overhead" hours, which you get negatively evaluated on. It's not a fair system and you don't have control of your success. Professional Development Opportunities As I mentioned I was really grateful to attend a 3 day conference in my first year with the company. However I asked to attend additional conferences pertaining to my work area as well as take paid remote/webinar training and those were not approved. Not having the opportunity to attend training was limiting to my own growth. Random It's hard to get used to only getting paid 1x/month. You have to budget your money well. Bottom line: this company was good to me, but it's not somewhere I could see myself staying for an extended period of my career. I gained valuable skills and had some great opportunities but ultimately it was not a good long-term culture fit.

    Continue reading
    4 people found this review helpful
  7. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    A great place to work

    Aug 1, 2017 - Anonymous Employee in Hunt Valley, MD
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Joining the SAI Digital team has been a great career decision for me. There is a lot of room for growth for motivated, passionate, hard-working individuals. The workplace vibe is professional, but everyone knows how to have fun, too. Everyone is just generally really nice. This is a great environment to work in if you enjoy collaboration and working as part of a team. We work hard to meet our project timelines and deliver flawless work to our clients. Despite the fast pace and deadline-driven environment, there is tremendous amount of support and flexibility for outside responsibilities—e.g. having a family, needing to pick up a sick child from school, etc. Leadership is supportive, but also the team itself. I've never been made to feel guilty for needing to balance outside obligations with work, which is rare in the corporate world. Perks: casual dress code, breakfast on Fridays, personal laptop, and company-paid health insurance. Traveling to various cities across the US to visit client sites is a great opportunity, too. Also the Digital team is pretty freakin' fun to work with. :)

    Cons

    Company culture vs. team culture varies due to lack of a cohesive overarching SAI brand. At times it is difficult to see where SAI Digital fits into the SAI organization. Limited paid holidays; the day after Thanksgiving and Christmas Eve should be included, in my opinion. Benefits for dependents an d families is not competitive.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  8. 5.0
    Current Employee

    A growing company that you are proud to be a part of

    Aug 11, 2016 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Systems Alliance is a great place to work. The work culture is young and vibrant and everyone is pleasant to work with. Upper management is down to earth and see their workers as people more than just their workers. The whole team really makes an effort to develop relationships outside of the workplace, through various group activities. I could really see myself staying for a long time, while still being able to grow and develop my professional and personal skills.

    Cons

    The only con might be that it is a mostly male environment, but they are working to even it out as the company grows. The female to male ratio really isn't an issue though. It's a tech based company...

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  9. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Great Company to Grow With

    Feb 23, 2018 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Being a smaller company, SAI offers opportunities to work, learn, and grow your skills in many areas of business. I began working at SAI immediately after graduation and believe I have been exposed to much more than what I would have at other firms. SAI really makes an effort to put its employees first. The newly-renovated open office makes for a great space to work. Management is very receptive to feedback. Company is in growth mode and it looks like great things are on the horizon.

    Cons

    Working long hours is occasionally required, but it doesn't ever go unappreciated/unrewarded.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  10. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Great place to work, learn and be challenged

    Apr 29, 2015 - Anonymous Employee in Hunt Valley, MD
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Lots of transparency at all levels of the organization. Open door policies for business and life discussion. Work life balance is important to everyone, yet we all step up and do whatever it takes to meet client needs as necessary. Above average pay. People around me are all incredibly smart and challenge me. Lots of humility during important discussions. Happy hours every month sponsored by the business.

    Cons

    Lots of demanding deadlines for high profile clients can bring stress into our busy work days, and yet it's great to know what we do is important and matters both internally and for our clients.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 35 Reviews

Popular Careers with Systems Alliance Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at Systems Alliance? Share Your Experiences

Systems Alliance logo
or