Terminix Reviews

Updated May 10, 2021

To filter reviews, or .
3.3
53%
Recommend to a Friend
55%
Approve of CEO
Terminix CEO Nikhil (Nik) Varty
Nikhil (Nik) Varty
209 Ratings
Pros
  • "Company car, gas card, phone and iPad(in 61 reviews)

  • "Good pay great people and benefits(in 39 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Long hours and a lot of driving(in 74 reviews)

  • "Work-life balance (non-existent)(in 53 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      This is the Best job i ver had

      Apr 1, 2021 - Pest Control Technician in Newburgh, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Easy job, good Pay and work by yourself

      Cons

      You hace to have good comunicación skills

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 4.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Be Prepared to Work

      May 10, 2021 - Pest Route Manager in Maiden, NC
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - Good Pay - Unlimited Earning Potential - Good Manager (depending) - Mostly independent work environment - Company truck and uniforms

      Cons

      * This a real job, so come prepared to work hard and don't expect that all you'll be doing is just spraying for bugs. * Gossipy office environment * Often a shortage of needed materials * Tight crawlspaces and hazardous working conditions * Duties are not clearly outlined * Having to install french drains * Overload of work in your schedule

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      You don’t have to be a bug person to love it here.

      May 9, 2021 - Branch Manager in Rochester, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Fast pace. Every day speeds by. A lot of training. Even with Covid the company doesn’t lack engagement. Good pay. Bosses that listen and help.

      Cons

      Engaging customers during Covid is tricky but do-able. Not being able to travel to get together as a company for our yearly meeting stinks. Call center not local makes engaging more difficult with customers.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 2.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Mediocre

      May 10, 2021 - Route Technician in Fairfield, OH
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The work is mostly really easy. You're by yourself and you can always go at your own pace. Paid training, company vehicle, decent benefits. Fun co-workers and management. Most customers are pretty nice and just say Hi once and leave you to do the job.

      Cons

      Work outside mostly. Rain, intense heat, extreme cold, doesn't matter. You're spraying houses no matter what. I cannot tell you how incredibly ineffective it feels to spray houses in a thunderstorm. So as a route tech, you're expected to complete 14 stops a day in one area. Usually 8 in the morning and 6 in the afternoon. But we have a call center that can randomly add jobs to your schedule at any time. So you recheck your schedule at lunchtime and find out you now have 4 more jobs to do that are all in different parts of town, because the call center is in another state and they have no idea what my city looks like or where things are. And they don't care how late the techs have to work or how far they have to drive. I had a day where I drove 300 miles because my schedule took me to so many different parts of Cincinnati. This results in nobody being able to actually take a lunch break, because the call center's scheduling leaves us no time. My branch has 30 trucks. 10 of them don't work and have been parked out back since I started. My power sprayer hasn't worked since I got my truck and nobody knows how to fix it or of any place in town that can work on it, and nobody cares. The managers are all really nice people who are easy to get along with, but they are useless as managers. Nobody knows where anything is or how any of the services are supposed to be done. They make promises and never deliver on them. They all say they're there to help with whatever we need, but then get mad when we need something. When we stock up our trucks on chems/bait/etc, we have to take as much as we can, because the managers are never at the office to let us in if we need to get something.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 3.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Extremely Disorganized

      Apr 4, 2021 - Customer Service Representative - Remote 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      CSR supervisors all seem really nice and willing to help you. They do really seem to care about the employees though, so that's good.

      Cons

      The entire company is EXTREMELY disorganized. From the techs all the way to the upper management. Outdate systems that have been due for an upgrade but keep getting pushed back for over a year, not just because of pandemic from what I'm told. When issues are brought up they are never actually addressed. The box of issues must be overflowing by now. the Accounts Receivable department apparently can't call customers about their billing issues when it's above CSR. Why? That makes NO sense to me. You know more about the issue then we do, contact the customer and discuss it with them! Apparently short staffed in every department which I don't get because everyone except techs are work from home now. Why are we short staffed? Also, constant scheduling issues.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    6. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 10 years

      great career opportunity

      May 7, 2021 - Anonymous Employee in Zanesville, OH
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      opportunity for advancement anywhere in our company for anyone willing and wanting a great career. i have moved up through the company throughout my 33 year career here

      Cons

      fast paced in warm season . its the time of year that all look forward to to earn extra income

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    7. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Great Place

      May 6, 2021 - Manager 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great pay and benefits. Team seems to really care about work/life balance. A lot of room for advancement.

      Cons

      Such a large company, things seem to get bogged down and not move as quickly as I would like to see.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Great company

      May 5, 2021 - Branch Manager 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great schedule, training provided, autonomy to do what we need to do to succeed with a corporate backing.

      Cons

      Bonus structure is a sham

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    9. 5.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Wonderful place to work and grow

      May 7, 2021 - Pest Control Technician in New Bern, NC
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Pretty good pay. Fair and professional management

      Cons

      Long hours and work some weekends

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    10. 1.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Poor Customer Service Experience

      Mar 4, 2021 - Customer Service Representative in Memphis, TN
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      It's nice being able to work in the comfort of your own home.

      Cons

      It always feels as though the left hand of Terminix never knows what the right hand is doing. Customers constantly call and complain about the shotty customer experience that they have with Terminix and how no one ever seems to know the answers to their questions and, genuinely, it's true. The number of calls I receive saying "My tech told me this last time but now you're telling me you have no idea what I'm talking about?" is a joke. Look through the Better Business Bureau reviews of Terminix and you'll see exactly how people feel about their customer service experience everytime they call Terminix. You're hired on with no communication of what your pay will be "In some places it's this but in others it's this and this, it all depends on where you are" (a common answer I have to give customers about their complaints, by the way) and, despite having the option to sign up for a schedule WEEKS before you finally begin work, you're on a M-F 9-5:30 schedule and then BOOM you're given a day's notice about when you'll be on the schedule you originally signed up for. Training is ridiculously tedious and an absurd amount of work for the measly $14 an hour compensation, and you log out of work every day thinking "Welp, let's hope I get one of those promotion opportunities they keep talking about soon..."

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 1,120 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Terminix Job Seekers

    Pest Control Technician
    Learn About the Job
    JobsSalariesInterviews
    Outside Sales Representative
    Learn About the Job
    Commercial Sales Professional
    Learn About the Job

    Work at Terminix? Share Your Experiences

    Terminix logo
    or