Timberland Reviews | Glassdoor

Timberland Reviews

Updated Jun 20, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 165 reviews

3.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
71%
Recommend to a Friend
95%
Approve of CEO
Timberland CEO Steve Rendle
Steve Rendle
48 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Too few hours along with low pay(in 7 reviews)

  • "Interns are often caught in between being a contractor and a full time employee(in 4 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Excellent Company - Great Atmosphere"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Merchant in Stratham, NH
    Recommends

    I worked at Timberland full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great Benefits (pet insurance!, 40 hours community service) A lot of long time employees that genuinely care about the business and the people working there. A very casual atmosphere.

    Cons

    Losing a lot of good potential to Boston jobs

    Advice to Management

    Time to step it up with salaries.

    Timberland2019-02-14
  2. "Super Fun Most of the Time"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Designer 
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Timberland full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Community Service aspect is fantastic, 40 hours a year. Great people, great work, exciting opportunities.

    Cons

    Bad decisions are made, like anywhere. But a lot of the time it was frustrating to work here.

    Timberland2019-05-06
  3. "Lack of hours"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Timberland part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Friendly accommodating staff and managers. Good training

    Cons

    Lack of hours and advancement

    Timberland2019-03-20
  4. "Great place!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Visual Manager in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Timberland full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Opportunity for growth, ability to self manage, perks and benefits

    Cons

    Schedule flexibility, work-life balance, management changes

    Advice to Management

    Train your teams well.

    Timberland2019-03-02
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Associate in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Timberland part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great store benefits, and great benefits with all sister companies

    Cons

    The biggest con was management. Most of the managers working at the store were great except for one. They were extremely condescending and rude. They did not make you feel great working with them. Along with that, I went on a school trip and when I came back to work I was not on the schedule and called many times to see what happened and each time I never got an answer. As of today I still do not know what happened. They...

    Show More
    Timberland2019-02-11
  6. "Overall unprofessional as F"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Temporary Assistant Manager in Santa Monica, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Timberland full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Nice people from district manager and down. In other words, people who deal directly with the store. Very generous discount. Pretty good work environment. Overall, if you like helping people in retail this is a great place for you.

    Cons

    For starters, I had a temporary position, so maybe that's why my experience wasn't very good. Corporate was very unprofessional and careless. In my opinion they didn’t care about my team. We received our first pay check almost a month late and there was no sense of urgency to ensure we were paid on time. We were told there was nothing that could be done and to be patient. Also, we received our last check a week after...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Always make sure the customer leaves happy. I personally never got a complaint, but it’s a really big deal for the company.

    Timberland2019-02-10
  7. "Temporary position"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Timberland for less than a year

    Pros

    Great company to work for, very community service driven and all about giving back. Coworkers are very friendly and helpful. Overall, love working here.

    Cons

    I don't have any cons.

    Timberland2018-12-05
  8. "Low hourly no commission"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Seasonal Sales Associate in Las Vegas, NV
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Timberland part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Free pair of shoes when you start.

    Cons

    Minimum wage pay with no commission or incentives.

    Timberland2018-11-27
  9. "Great Place To Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Stratham, NH

    I worked at Timberland full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great culture, perks, and support employees career growth.

    Cons

    The company was not able to always add more full time support for the work that needed to be done.

    Timberland2018-10-02
  10. "Great staff, tough mall"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Timberland full-time

    Pros

    Great staff Good discount Operations run smoothly High traffic store

    Cons

    Outlet mall Stressful during holidays Customers can be tough Low pay

    Timberland2018-08-24
Found 165 reviews