TransUnion Reviews

Updated May 28, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.9
82%
Recommend to a Friend
96%
Approve of CEO
TransUnion President and CEO Christopher Cartwright
Christopher Cartwright
56 Ratings
Pros
  • "The compensation is much better than I've seen at other places and the work-life balance is perfect for me(in 120 reviews)

  • "Great benefits, but not much else(in 47 reviews)

Cons
  • "I shouldn't have had to sacrifice my work-life balance to get promoted(in 43 reviews)

  • "A couple of strong connections in the building can go along why when you're trying to navigate the red tape(in 24 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great Company"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Developer in Greenwood Village, Arapahoe, CO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at TransUnion full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Work life balance. They really encourage growth inside and outside of the company. They are also consistantly keeping up with technology so you won't be working on 15 year old tech because, "that's how we do things here". The two managers I have worked under are great. Their manager is also great, he really likes to connect with people around the office. Never met the CEO personally because I work in Denver, but he seems pretty great, and so does the new CTO. Also the way the are handling the Coronavirus is pretty great. I actually like WFH, so this has been great for me. Fingers crossed I will be able to do it more after Corona has cleared up in Colorado.

    Cons

    This is a silly con, but bigger monitors would be nice.

    TransUnion2020-03-25

    TransUnion Response

    April 23, 2020Chief Information and Technology Officer

    I'm glad to hear you're having such a positive experience and took a few moments to share a review. It's reassuring to see your confidence in TU and the direction we've headed to make sure our people are supported during this time - wellness and community are so important to us. Taking care of yourself and your family, and staying healthy physically and mentally should always be first priority. Again, thank you for writing about your experience. - Abhi Dhar, Chief Information and Technology Officer

  2. "Great time to be at TransUnion"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer/Tech Lead 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at TransUnion full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I am so far very impressed with my time at TransUnion. They seem to have a strong focus on hiring the best and brightest and I'm extremely impressed with my co-workers and the technologies they're building. Many tech jobs are remote now (even without COVID-19) which is great. The compensation is much better than I've seen at other places and the work-life balance is perfect for me. I'm also very impressed by Chris and his executive team. I feel like they genuinely care about each individual employee as well as the shareholders. The culture at TransUnion is very pro-employee and inclusive.

    Cons

    TransUnion is an emerging enterprise in a regulated market segment, so you *probably* won't be working with cutting edge technologies all the time, but they are moving forward into cloud native and modern tech stacks. Sometimes bureaucracy rules the day, but not too often and nothing that's hard to deal with.

    Continue reading
    TransUnion2020-05-29
  3. "Can't complain"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Analyst in Chicago, IL
    Recommends

    I have been working at TransUnion full-time

    Pros

    W L B + Pay

    Cons

    Upward mobility (but what did you expect anyway)

    Continue reading
    TransUnion2020-05-22
  4. "TransUnion had a very structured internship program with lots of opportunity to meet your cohort."

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Intern 
    Recommends

    I worked at TransUnion full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Structured, provide each intern with a mentor, fun intern only outings, meetings with executive leadership team.

    Cons

    The online payroll system was spotty at times. Managers must approve everything, including basic access to necessary hardware and software.

    TransUnion2020-05-06
  5. "Great company"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at TransUnion full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Salary, benefits, location, good people

    Cons

    Top heavy, incompetent "long time" associates, lack of accountability to poor performers, lacks the ability to keep high performers engaged and challenged.

    Continue reading
    TransUnion2020-05-04
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Really depends who you work for..."

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Boca Raton, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at TransUnion full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great benefits, but not much else.

    Cons

    Bosses are 'locked' in. I saw very little change in management. Management was extremely demoralizing and lacked education and experience to accomplish goals.

    Continue reading
    TransUnion2020-05-05
  7. "Customer service in a production environment"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Consultant in Chicago, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at TransUnion full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great pay and benefits. Coworkers are very friendly and open to assist others

    Cons

    Management lacking in experience. Could use some management training. you can train a chimpanzee to do what is required but you can't teach management skills like people skills or being human in a time when it is needed.

    Continue reading
    TransUnion2020-05-07
  8. "Good company overall when you leave this department"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Special Handling Department 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at TransUnion full-time

    Pros

    Pay, PTO,Sick leave, Company culture, holiday parties and company events. I Learned a lot about the credit industry.

    Cons

    you are promoted based on favoritism, employees that were hired after you even make it to higher position levels including management with lack of experience and knowledge on company processes. Very disappointed with management.

    Continue reading
    TransUnion2020-04-27

    TransUnion Response

    May 12, 2020EVP, Human Resources

    I appreciate you sharing a review of your experience. While I'm glad to read about your overall positive outlook, I really want to focus on your cons. Favoritism is simply not ok. I care deeply about each and every associate at TU, and their experience, and expect the same from our managers. Hard work, dedication and innovation should never be overlooked. Please know your feedback is important and will be taken seriously. Reach out to me if you would like to connect further. - Anne Leyden, EVP HR

  9. Helpful (2)

    "Healthcare vertical mis-managment"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Manager in Chicago, IL
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at TransUnion full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Potential for "doing good" and good solutions for customers (not comprehensive)

    Cons

    Mis-management. Untrained managers and leaders. Haven't had formal management and strategy training, which is clear in their direction within the Healthcare Vertical specifically

    Continue reading
    TransUnion2020-05-13
  10. Helpful (1)

    "TransUnion Healthcare"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Channel Account Executive in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at TransUnion full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great Healthcare Benefits, Employee Stock Option, Flex Time Off, Work from home option

    Cons

    Long sales cycle, new inexperienced management, difficult to navigate internally for support, Lots of red tape

    TransUnion2020-04-15

    TransUnion Response

    May 13, 2020President, TransUnion Healthcare

    Thank you for sharing a review - your feedback is important to me. We're continuously working to build capabilities in our managers and leaders here at TransUnion through various programming, workshops and clinics. We also always look to process improve so will take your feedback into consideration. If you'd like to discuss in greater detail, don't hesitate to reach out. - Dave Wojczynski - President, Healthcare

Viewing 1 - 10 of 809 Reviews