TransUnion Reviews | Glassdoor

TransUnion Reviews

Updated July 24, 2017
468 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-timePart-time

3.5
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
TransUnion President Jim Peck
Jim Peck
239 Ratings

468 Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
Cons
  • At times work-life balance can be challenging but at the end it pays off (in 22 reviews)

  • It's challenging to think of any besides some of the "red tape" associated with working through processes at a large company (in 16 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. Featured Review

    Helpful (11)

    "Positive culture and amazing benefits"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at TransUnion full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    After spending my early career at small and mid-size companies, I'm so appreciative of the kind of benefits a company the size of TransUnion can offer. Our health insurance covers virtually everything I need, I got 12 weeks of maternity leave fully paid, the 401k plan is great. They even offer pet insurance!

    Beyond the benefits plan, I'm legitimately happy here. My colleagues are fun and respectful, my manager is supportive, I rarely work more than 40 hours, and I truly feel that my contributions are recognized and appreciated.

    Cons

    It's challenging to think of any besides some of the "red tape" associated with working through processes at a large company. Certain processes like getting contracts signed or budget approvals are very formal and time consuming

    TransUnion Response

    Apr 19, 2017 – Global Talent Attraction and Engagement Manager

    We love seeing your positive experience as a TU associate - thank you for sharing a review! TransUnion values your opinion and takes feedback seriously.


  2. "Good company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director
    Current Employee - Director
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at TransUnion full-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    Growing revenue thru new products is the right way to do it. This has led to New jobs. The company also offers very good benefits and pay

    Cons

    Work life balance can be a challenge this had led to working long hours at times but we are defiantly rewarded

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the fast growth it's created a lot of challenges but opportunities for everyone to benefit

    TransUnion Response

    Jul 25, 2017 – Global Talent Attraction and Engagement Manager

    Thanks for sharing such great feedback! TU cares about your experience as an associate.

  3. "Sales"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at TransUnion full-time

    Pros

    great place to work at

    Cons

    couldn't be a better place to work

    TransUnion Response

    Jul 25, 2017 – Global Talent Attraction and Engagement Manager

    We love seeing your positive experience as a TransUnion associate! Thank you for finding time to write a review.


  4. "analyst"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Chicago, IL
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at TransUnion full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Good top managers, good benefits

    Cons

    very difficult to move up

    TransUnion Response

    Jul 25, 2017 – Global Talent Attraction and Engagement Manager

    Thank you for sharing your review – TransUnion values your feedback.


  5. "Great Technology Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Manager in Boca Raton, FL
    Current Employee - Account Manager in Boca Raton, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at TransUnion full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    great dynamic company to work for with amazing benefits

    Cons

    better carrer opportunities, sometimes it seems that an outsider would do a better job.

    TransUnion Response

    Jul 10, 2017 – Global Talent Attraction and Engagement Manager

    Thank you for sharing your review – TransUnion values your feedback.


  6. Helpful (1)

    "Mostly good with some repetitive annoyances."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Engineer
    Former Employee - Software Engineer
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at TransUnion full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Great benefits, good people (for the most part), and a solid work-life balance.

    Cons

    The company's world revolves around Chicago (and Austin to a lesser extent). If you're not in Chicago (or Austin) your office probably won't get mentioned unless you're being shamed for doing something wrong.

    Given the company's core focus, information security is of the utmost concern. For most day-to-day employees this is no big deal, but if you're a software engineer InfoSec will quickly become the bane of your existence.

    By default, developers do not have local admin rights to their PCs/laptops. Instead you are given elevated privs on an app-by-app basis through clunky, obtrusive middleware.

    InfoSec also routinely brings your PC to its knees by pushing 15-20 windows updates to it all at once - usually when you're trying to get crap done.

    Need software installed? Get ahead of the curve. The process is cumbersome and time-consuming, and if the software isn't on the "approved list" you may be outta luck. Wanna install it yourself? Good luck. You don't have admin privs.

    Advice to Management

    Acknowledge other offices for their efforts.

    Streamline InfoSec processes. That group is a major pain point for IT-centric employees.


  7. "Transformed company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at TransUnion full-time

    Pros

    - Cutting edge technology
    - Good work life balance

    Cons

    - Poor compensation and hikes

    Advice to Management

    Improve compensation

    TransUnion Response

    Jul 10, 2017 – Global Talent Attraction and Engagement Manager

    Thank you for sharing your review – TransUnion values your feedback.

  8. Helpful (2)

    "Benefits were outstanding, siloed career path not so great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I worked at TransUnion full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Great people, great benefits. Good work/life balance.

    Cons

    Siloed technical tiers. Difficult, nigh impossible, to advance if you don't live/work in Chicago.

    TransUnion Response

    Jul 10, 2017 – Global Talent Attraction and Engagement Manager

    Thank you for 3+ years at TransUnion and for writing a review. TU takes pros and cons seriously. If you’d like, send an email to LifeAtTU@transunion.com to discuss more.


  9. Helpful (6)

    "Stressel, over-worked and under appreciated"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Chicago, IL
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Chicago, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at TransUnion full-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    Ability to WFH part time
    Paid PTO & Holidays
    Great co-workers

    Cons

    - Top heavy
    - Never given the chance to rate and review our managers, therefore Directors have no clue how horrible their managers are.
    - Micro-management in many departments
    - Deceptive Human Resources
    - Discriminates
    - Over-worked
    - Stressed out
    - Management hides how over worked we are.

    Advice to Management

    - Stop micro-managing
    - Stop descriminating
    - Appreciate all we do
    - Hire more qualified associates
    - View E-Raves as proof your associates are going over and beyond the call of duty
    - Stop treating us like we are in Kindergarten
    - Get rid of dead wood
    - Ask the worker bees how they like their manager
    - Stop interveining when your associates attempt to apply with another department
    - Get rid of the corruption in Human Resources
    - Make TransUnion a great place to work again
    - Be honest with Jim Peck (he is not aware how miserable and overworked we are)
    - Allow us to work on 2 applications without constantly having us re-sign in
    - Hire associates at the Service Desk level who know what they are doing,
    - Get rid of associates who don't value their job (Service Desk is the biggest joke)


  10. Helpful (2)

    "Politics and Demotivating Chaos"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Representative
    Current Employee - Sales Representative
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at TransUnion full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Well known company
    Intelligent coworkers
    Growing/changing environment

    Cons

    Too many layers of management. Many managers are "legacy" from when this company was privately owned and have poor or non-existant management skills and little accountability to their reports. Sales managers seem to not understand "sales" in a truly competitive environment - or the needs and struggles of sales people at work. "Reaching" goals are typical in any sales organization, yet the goals set here are unrealistic to the point of de-motivating. Pay plan for sales is extremely convoluted and dependent on disproportionate number of factors independent of reps' influence. Politics are ferocious and crippling. Sales org needs a positive change.

    Advice to Management

    The social politics and "check the box" syndrome here has reached inimical levels, decreasing productivity and driving away talent. Management needs training and accountability to their reports. Sales reps need regular opportunities to report up challenges with suggestions. Quotas are out of sync with closing timelines and product availability.

    TransUnion Response

    Jul 10, 2017 – Global Talent Attraction and Engagement Manager

    Thank you for sharing your review; TransUnion values your opinion. If you’d like to speak with someone about your review, please send us an email at LifeAtTU@transunion.com.


Showing 468 of 504 reviews
Reset Filters