TransUnion Reviews | Glassdoor

TransUnion Reviews

Updated August 14, 2017
478 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-timePart-time

3.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
TransUnion President Jim Peck
Jim Peck
244 Ratings

478 Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
Cons
  • Work life balance can be a challenge this had led to working long hours at times but we are defiantly rewarded (in 25 reviews)

  • It's challenging to think of any besides some of the "red tape" associated with working through processes at a large company (in 16 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. Featured Review

    Helpful (12)

    "Positive culture and amazing benefits"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at TransUnion full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    After spending my early career at small and mid-size companies, I'm so appreciative of the kind of benefits a company the size of TransUnion can offer. Our health insurance covers virtually everything I need, I got 12 weeks of maternity leave fully paid, the 401k plan is great. They even offer pet insurance!

    Beyond the benefits plan, I'm legitimately happy here. My colleagues are fun and respectful, my manager is supportive, I rarely work more than 40 hours, and I truly feel that my contributions are recognized and appreciated.

    Cons

    It's challenging to think of any besides some of the "red tape" associated with working through processes at a large company. Certain processes like getting contracts signed or budget approvals are very formal and time consuming

    TransUnion Response

    Apr 19, 2017 – Global Talent Attraction and Engagement Manager

    We love seeing your positive experience as a TU associate - thank you for sharing a review! TransUnion values your opinion and takes feedback seriously.


  2. "Transforming every day"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Director in Chicago, IL
    Current Employee - Senior Director in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at TransUnion full-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    Amazing tech, great leadership, solid culture.

    Cons

    So. Much. Change.

  3. "Sr. Director"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at TransUnion full-time

    Pros

    Good medical and dental benefits
    Competitive salary

    Cons

    Continual stress of resource constraints

    TransUnion Response

    Aug 11, 2017 – Global Talent Attraction and Engagement Manager

    Thank you for sharing your review – TransUnion values your feedback.


  4. Helpful (2)

    "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Process Consultant in Chicago, IL
    Current Employee - Process Consultant in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at TransUnion full-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    I've been at TU for almost 14 years now, and my overall experience has been very positive. Yes, I've had to take on a few roles in the past that I wasn't fond of, but that's part of being an employee of a large company. Mostly though, I've been given great opportunities to expand my skillset, advance my career, all while working with some really fun and amazing people. I also love all of the Networking Resource Groups that have started up over the past few years, allowing us to network with more associates, take part in fun activities, learn new skills, attend special guest speaker events, while also getting the opportunity to be part of their Leadership Teams; talk about a great way to gain valuable management / leadership experience.

    Cons

    Like any large company, communication and collaboration could be improved. TU has taken on a lot of initiatives lately to address this, which has really positively impacted our overall communication between teams, creating a more 'teamwork'-type mindset.

    At times, being asked to step in and fill other roles outside your responsibilities, to fill a gap; and usually that role is not a 'fun' one.

    I'd also say, right now, a lot of us are overwhelmed with our workloads, due to all of the (great) initiatives we're undertaking. This has made our jobs more stressful, and more difficult to create a stable work / life balance.

    Advice to Management

    Better resource planning as we embark on new initiatives; need to hire additional resources sooner to allow adequate time for new-hire ramp-up

    Leverage NRG training (e.g. Excel, Strategic Thinking) programs for roll-out to the entire organization to enhance our skillsets

    TransUnion Response

    Aug 11, 2017 – Global Talent Attraction and Engagement Manager

    Thank you for 13 years at TransUnion. It’s exciting to hear how passionate you are about working at TU! Your feedback is important to TU, so thank you for taking time to write a review.


  5. "Amazingly empowering place to be!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Vice President in Chicago, IL
    Current Employee - Vice President in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at TransUnion full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Great and smart people who can make work fun
    Very interesting work
    Opportunities to influence both big and small
    Impact to the world in how we support information for good!
    Company shares the financial results with employees in extra days off and company performance based bonuses, profit sharing and regular benefit upgrades!

    Cons

    So much to do and still try to integrate work and life - but it is possible with wfh, optimizing resources, innovating and connecting to purpose!

    Advice to Management

    Thank you for your leadership! Keep it going!

    TransUnion Response

    Aug 11, 2017 – Global Talent Attraction and Engagement Manager

    Wow! What a positive review. TransUnion works hard to give its associates meaningful work, so I’m glad to hear it listed as a pro. Thank you for sharing your experience!


  6. "Good company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director
    Current Employee - Director
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at TransUnion full-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    Growing revenue thru new products is the right way to do it. This has led to New jobs. The company also offers very good benefits and pay

    Cons

    Work life balance can be a challenge this had led to working long hours at times but we are defiantly rewarded

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the fast growth it's created a lot of challenges but opportunities for everyone to benefit

    TransUnion Response

    Jul 25, 2017 – Global Talent Attraction and Engagement Manager

    Thanks for sharing such great feedback! TU cares about your experience as an associate.


  7. "Great Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at TransUnion full-time

    Pros

    Fantastic People, Cool and Challenging Work, Growth, Great Benefits, Flexible Work Arrangements, Solid Leadership, Competitive Pay.

    Cons

    Food in Chicago cafe needs improvement.

    TransUnion Response

    Aug 11, 2017 – Global Talent Attraction and Engagement Manager

    Thank you for sharing your positive review!

  8. "Sales"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at TransUnion full-time

    Pros

    great place to work at

    Cons

    couldn't be a better place to work

    TransUnion Response

    Jul 25, 2017 – Global Talent Attraction and Engagement Manager

    We love seeing your positive experience as a TransUnion associate! Thank you for finding time to write a review.


  9. "analyst"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Chicago, IL
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at TransUnion full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Good top managers, good benefits

    Cons

    very difficult to move up

    TransUnion Response

    Jul 25, 2017 – Global Talent Attraction and Engagement Manager

    Thank you for sharing your review – TransUnion values your feedback.


  10. Helpful (4)

    "Mostly good with some repetitive annoyances."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Engineer
    Former Employee - Software Engineer
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at TransUnion full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Great benefits, good people (for the most part), and a solid work-life balance.

    Cons

    The company's world revolves around Chicago (and Austin to a lesser extent). If you're not in Chicago (or Austin) your office probably won't get mentioned unless you're being shamed for doing something wrong.

    Given the company's core focus, information security is of the utmost concern. For most day-to-day employees this is no big deal, but if you're a software engineer InfoSec will quickly become the bane of your existence.

    By default, developers do not have local admin rights to their PCs/laptops. Instead you are given elevated privs on an app-by-app basis through clunky, obtrusive middleware.

    InfoSec also routinely brings your PC to its knees by pushing 15-20 windows updates to it all at once - usually when you're trying to get crap done.

    Need software installed? Get ahead of the curve. The process is cumbersome and time-consuming, and if the software isn't on the "approved list" you may be outta luck. Wanna install it yourself? Good luck. You don't have admin privs.

    Advice to Management

    Acknowledge other offices for their efforts.

    Streamline InfoSec processes. That group is a major pain point for IT-centric employees.


Showing 478 of 515 reviews
Reset Filters