Tutor.com Reviews

Updated May 9, 2021

To filter reviews, or .
3.3
49%
Recommend to a Friend
50%
Approve of CEO
Tutor.com CEO Hyoung Jun (Joshua) Park (no image)
Hyoung Jun (Joshua) Park
22 Ratings
Pros
  • "you manage your schedules and you work from home(in 92 reviews)

  • "Flexible hours is the most attractive feature(in 71 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "low pay (especially for Seattle)(in 52 reviews)

  • "Wages are low for some subjects(in 23 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Ratings by Gender

    This rating reflects the overall rating of Tutor.com and is not affected by filters.

    Want more demographic options?
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Great remote job

      Apr 5, 2021 - Senior Quality Specialist in Charlottesville, VA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      This is a great remote position

      Cons

      I wish it was full-time

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 4.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Decent Pay for Remote/Flexible Hours Job

      Mar 1, 2021 - Essay Tutor 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Work your own hours (around the clock), decent pay, have to option to not do voice sessions if you stay on long enough (dings raise eligibility I think), really not a bad gig once you find your groove

      Cons

      no work during summer/winter breaks, hours are cut, not sure if you are able to receive unemployment as a result, a lot of tech issues with the classroom program we have to use

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Good part time work

      May 4, 2021 - English Writing Tutor in Fort Wayne, IN
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good supervisor who coaches you through

      Cons

      Hours get picked quickly so often end up working in the middle of the night on the weekdays. Would be ok except if you don't complete 5 shifts a week you lose your position.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Really Great, Flexible Work

      Mar 29, 2021 - Content Writer in Chicago, IL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - Make your own schedule - Mentor assigned to you for any problems/questions - Simple and straightforward software - Lots of students and variety of assignments

      Cons

      - Software can be a bit buggy at times - You have a time limit most sessions and it can feel like you don't have enough time to address student questions thoroughly

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 4.0
      Current Employee

      Good steady tutor job

      Apr 12, 2021 - Tutor in Huntsville, AL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Guaranteed hours, haven't had any bad experiences with students

      Cons

      Pay could be higher, sometimes not given enough time to review a paper

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 2.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Not what I was expecting for an online tutor role.

      Apr 28, 2021 - Online Tutor in Detroit, MI
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great flexibility, with personal scheduling to fit with other roles/responsibilities.

      Cons

      Fast-paced with emphasis on speed of work and use of prescripts.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    7. 3.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Technical Issues

      Apr 13, 2021 - College Tutor 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I loved the freedom of being able to choose your time slots. I also quite enjoyed the training process. I learned a lot from preparing to tutor.

      Cons

      When I actually began tutoring, I had a lot of technical issues. I had the system shut down so I could not attach documents. I had attachments not actually load into the reports. I also had issues with students remaining connected via chat with me.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Tutoring On-Demand

      Feb 23, 2021 - Advanced Tutor 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - Very flexible schedule - No need to find your own client base - Base pay when scheduled to work in off-times (summer and winter breaks) - Bonuses for busy times

      Cons

      - Low pay even for advanced topics and senior tutors - Has a call-center vibe, where time management is prioritized over student success - Ratings are too important; one irritable student can tank your rating - Video sessions are in the pipeline

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    9. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Great only if you're starting out or in dire need of a (very) little cash

      Jan 25, 2021 - Math Tutor in Providence, RI
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      "Make your own hours", flexibility, direct and timely feedback from a session reviewer

      Cons

      very little money, interface is bad, too many tutors for available work (saturated), no room for growth. I tutored for them when I need to supplement income and am currently inactive (need to re-certify to tutor again - a brief process), but the amount of paid work is very limited. You sit around to wait for students to ask for help and only get paid for time spent tutoring. There are maximum and minimum durations for tutoring which need to be abided by (if your sessions trend too long or too short, it is noted in your profile). This company makes the CEO and full-time platform employees tons of money. The tutors themselves make almost nothing. There are many other online tutoring platforms with better pay, better interface, etc. I suggest you tutor for those instead.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    10. 4.0
      Current Employee

      Tutor.com

      Mar 29, 2021 - Tutor in San Diego, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      there are flexible hours to choose from.

      Cons

      the pay is too low

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 319 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Tutor.com Job Seekers

    Tutor
    Learn About the Job
    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Tutor.com? Share Your Experiences

    or