KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo
See All Photos

VCA

Engaged Employer

VCA

Add a Review

VCA Reviews

Updated May 11, 2021

To filter reviews, or .
3.3
48%
Recommend to a Friend
70%
Approve of CEO
VCA President Todd Lavender, DVM
Todd Lavender, DVM
55 Ratings
Pros
  • "Pet benefits are great - up to 4 pets included(in 85 reviews)

  • "Schedule flexibility, Co-workers, doctors genuinely care for their clients(in 75 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Low pay for support staff therefore high turnover(in 49 reviews)

  • "Upper management only cares about money(in 39 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Ratings by Demographics

    This rating reflects the overall rating of VCA and is not affected by filters.

    Want more demographic options?
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee
      Featured Review

      Great company to work for

      Feb 17, 2021 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Has great people to work with.

      Cons

      Has become big that you do not know everyone anymore.

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      VCA Response

      DIRECTOR OF DIGITAL

      We are thrilled to know that you enjoy working with us! We're committed to maintaining an environment in which our team members can thrive, and we appreciate your kind comments.

    2. 5.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Fair starting job

      Apr 16, 2021 - Kennel Technician 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good decent work, Fun time with animals

      Cons

      Low pay, overload of work per worker

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      VCA Response

      We're pleased to hear that you enjoyed your time with VCA. Thank you for your efforts and hard work. We wish you nothing but the best!

    3. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Great Company, Great Support

      May 7, 2021 - Licensed Veterinary Technician in Seattle, WA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I love having the support to do my job. The individuality of each hospital allows me to pick where is the best place to work. But, I know that all the support between my hospital leaders and the field leaders and the corporate office allows me to have the best benefits and resources.

      Cons

      I wish I had started my career with VCA sooner.

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      VCA Response

      We're so grateful to have you on our team. Your commitment and efforts are incredibly valued, and we can't thank you enough for all you do for your hospital. We look forward to watching you grow in your career!

    4. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 5 years

      Stagnant, Toxic

      May 6, 2021 - Veterinary Technician in Newark, DE
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Quality of medicine is high

      Cons

      Pay, benefits, work life balance

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      VCA Response

      VCA Animal Hospitals

      Knowing that you feel this way is disheartening, as we are committed to showing our appreciation for our team members. We would value the opportunity to learn more about your experience and address your feedback further, so when you can, please email us at EmployeeConcerns@vca.com. Thank you.

    5. 1.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Great benefits, mediocre medicine, poor culture

      May 8, 2021 - Veterinary Technician in Metairie, LA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great health benefits, PTO accrues at a reasonable rate and awesome pet care discounts

      Cons

      VCA shows very little appreciation for or desire to support their already licensed veterinary technicians (at least in general practice). They tried to hire me with 13 years of experience and licensed at an insulting rate and refuse to pay me the hourly wage I would get paid elsewhere. They’re more interested in hiring someone with zero experience for cheap and “training them” from the ground up. Corporate makes it impossible for management to separate employees not performing their job to standard which takes a huge toll on the rest of the team and is detrimental to the care of patients.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      VCA Response

      We're grateful to have you on our team, and are sorry that you do not feel appreciated in your role at VCA. We can assure you that your efforts are seen and valued. Thank you for taking a moment to share your feedback with us. If you would like to discuss your concerns further, you are welcome to contact us at EmployeeConcerns@vca.com. Thank you.

    6. 3.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Low Pay not great benefits, great working with animals

      Apr 28, 2021 - Customer Service Representative (CSR) in San Francisco, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Somewhat Flexible hours for part time, 50% off employee discount, get to work with animals

      Cons

      Low pay, very very small raises employee discount while looks good on paper they don’t let you make appts for your pets. They require you to leave them all day in a cage until a Dr can look at them between patients. So I take my pets to a non VCA Hosp.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      VCA Response

      VCA Animal Hospitals

      We truly value the contributions of our team members, and we want you to know that we hear your concerns. Please give us an opportunity to connect with you and discuss them further, by contacting us at EmployeeConcerns@vca.com. Thank you for everything you do for VCA.

    7. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      We may be stuck with corporations, but management can still make or break a hospital

      May 10, 2021 - Veterinary Assistant in Spokane, WA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Health insurance (decent options and coverage available)

      Cons

      Management not willing to change and bureaucracy has provided them a perfect scape goat to blame for their inaction.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      VCA Response

      VCA Animal Hospitals

      We appreciate you reaching out with your concerns, and we want you to know that we are here to listen. Please contact us at EmployeeConcerns@vca.com if you would be open to discussing this further, as your feedback is valuable. Thank you.

    8. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Ok if you have pets with medical needs

      May 11, 2021 - Customer Service Representative in Los Angeles, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      75% discount on medical expenses for 2 of your pets, 50% boarding, and free vaccines

      Cons

      management does not listen to your requests for time off or schedule changes. it is also a very stressful environment in regards to euthanasias and upset customers

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      VCA Response

      VCA Animal Hospitals

      We're committed to maintaining an environment in which each team member has the support they need, so we'd like to connect with you and learn more about your concerns. When you're able, please contact us at EmployeeConcerns@vca.com. Thank you for your feedback and your contributions to our team.

    9. 3.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Decent company, but it could be so much more.

      May 6, 2021 - Certified Veterinary Technician in Denver, CO
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      corporate structure, adequate pay, consistent schedule, accountability, decent software

      Cons

      broken equipment, schedules overbooked, poor budget decisions, not progressive, inconsistent quality of care

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      VCA Response

      Thank you for taking a moment to share all your feedback with us. You are a vital part of the functionality of your hospital and we appreciate everything you do. Please know that if you have any concerns you would like to discuss, we are available at EmployeeConcerns@vca.com. You are important and we are here to listen.

    10. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 5 years

      Not recommended

      Apr 28, 2021 - Veterinary Technician, Cvt in Cleveland, OH
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good pet policy, decent health insurance

      Cons

      We were a Pet Partners hospital that got transitioned to a VCA clinic. This was what I would of called a unicorn clinic. While we were small, we were a amazing staff. Worked together well and had very little conflict. We had no practice manager. Those duties fell on the doctor and also was spread among the support staff. As a pet partners hospital this was doable. As a VCA hospital it was not. We continuously kept getting more added to each position. We tried to keep up, but policies and protocols that worked well for large hospitals did not work well with a small clinic such as ours and we quickly became over whelmed, along with our other everyday task and dealing with a pandemic. Our doctor was arriving well before open and staying well past closing trying to keep up. Along with other issues it all became too much and she decided to resign. Upon her informing us of her resignation it was a week before we were reached out to by anyone at the corporate office. And we were not reached out to directly. It was a email sent to our doctor to ask us if we had any questions. After that reach out we were never contacted again unless we contacted them first. We were given no instructions, nothing informing us of what our future held, nothing telling us what we needed to tell the clients. One by one each of us turned in our resignations because none of us could stay not knowing if we had guaranteed hours or not. Our resignations were responded to all with the same two generic words. Best wishes. We were made to feel insignificant. VCA makes a big deal about making sure their employees feel valued but we sure didn’t seeing that no one directly reached out to any of the 5 of us. No one cared enough to let us know if we would even have jobs after a certain date. No one at VCA seemed to care the our lives were being affected too. This was not the fault of our doctor, this is failure on VCA’s part to see that their doctors and their support staff cannot be treated as disposable. When a clinic goes from 0% turnover in 5 years to 100% in a matter of weeks you would think they would have some concern.

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful

      VCA Response

      VCA Animal Hospitals

      We're troubled by what you describe here, as we're committed to ensuring each member of our team has the resources to succeed. Having an opportunity to discuss your employment experience would be deeply appreciated, and we ask that you please reach out to EmployeeConcerns@vca.com. Thank you.

    Viewing 1 - 10 of 1,034 Reviews
    </>Embed

    Popular Careers with VCA Job Seekers

    Veterinarian
    Learn About the Job
    JobsSalariesInterviews
    Client Service Representative
    Learn About the Job
    Customer Service Representative
    Learn About the Job

    Work at VCA? Share Your Experiences

    or