VCA Reviews | Glassdoor

VCA Reviews

Updated November 6, 2018
596 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-timePart-time

2.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
VCA Chairman, President, and CEO Bob Antin
Bob Antin
138 Ratings

596 Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
Cons
  • "It was clearly all about money from the upper management end" (in 30 reviews)

  • "Low pay for non-professionals (support staff)" (in 28 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    Work with professionals who focus on employee moral and always looking for ways to improve, both for the clients/patients they serve and their employees. Great company.

    Cons

    Required online trainings can be tiresome and mundane.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work!

    VCA Response

    Sep 21, 2018 – Content Strategist

    Thank you for your review! We’re glad you enjoyed your coworkers and work
    environment at VCA Animal Hospitals during your time with us. Have a great day.


  2. "Good co-workers, Fun work, Poor management, No employee appreciation"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Doesn't Recommend

    I have been working at VCA full-time

    Pros

    Lots of case variety, lots of experience, more often than not good people to work with.

    Cons

    Management expects too much work for too little pay and no other employee appreciation, impossible to get a raise, even when merit based.

    VCA Response

    Nov 14, 2018 – Content Strategist

    Hello and thank you for your review. We appreciate your feedback regarding management at VCA Animal Hospitals and will ensure it reaches the appropriate leadership.

  3. "Reception / Tech"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at VCA full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    I was working in a small hospital and everyone there got along and it felt a very much like family. Good was to start in the industry.

    Cons

    Anyone that is a manager or higher is all about the money. We had our medical director have to tell our higher ups that the things they were asking of us were unrealistic. We were a hospital of around 8 people and management would compare us to hospitals of about 30+ people. If we didnt sign enough people up on the plans weekly we got a slap on the hand (even though about 80-90% of our clients were on the plan already).

    Advice to Management

    Be more human.


  4. Helpful (2)

    "Registered Veterinary Technician for VCA"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at VCA full-time

    Pros

    It paid a little above average for veterinary tech/assistants. Top of the line equipment.

    Cons

    A lot of nonsense coming from the endless ladder/chain of command of corporate personnel that had little connection to veterinary medicine and were unresponsive to the needs of employees. It was clearly all about money from the upper management end. Team culture was very clique oriented, immature, unkind, and at times mean spirited. A lot of nasty talk behind each others' backs was common. Over emphasis on money due to the corporatizing of veterinary medicine. Hospital was frequently understaffed with the exception of the medical director's shifts. Frequent turnaround and call offs.

    Advice to Management

    Treat your employees equally and actually do something to address their concerns/needs.

    VCA Response

    Oct 23, 2018 – Content Strategist

    Hello and thank you for your review. We appreciate your feedback regarding
    culture, management, and compensation as an employee at VCA Animal Hospitals and will ensure it reaches the appropriate... More


  5. Helpful (1)

    "Vet tech specialty department"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at VCA full-time

    Pros

    Learned a lot. A lot of skilled employees

    Cons

    Poor company culture and high turnover rate

    VCA Response

    Oct 5, 2018 – Content Strategist

    Thank you for your review. We’re glad you found value in your teammates and new skills during your time at VCA Animal Hospitals. Have a great day.


  6. Helpful (2)

    "Veterinary Assistant Outlook"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Veterinary Technician Assistant
    Current Employee - Veterinary Technician Assistant
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at VCA full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    State of the art equipment, wonderful coworkers

    Cons

    Terrible, run-down hospital, management that doesn't care, having to bend over backwards for clients

    VCA Response

    Oct 17, 2018 – Content Strategist

    Hello and thank you for your review. We appreciate the feedback in regards to
    work environment and management as an employee at VCA Animal Hospitals and will ensure it reaches the appropriate... More


  7. Helpful (1)

    "CVT"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I worked at VCA full-time

    Pros

    Plenty of hours offered if you want them

    Cons

    Corporate decisions override best practice. Assistants working CVT positions to save money

    VCA Response

    Sep 26, 2018 – Content Strategist

    Hello and thank you for your review. We appreciate the feedback in regards to
    current work environment structures during your tenure at VCA Animal Hospitals. Have a great day.

  8. "Terrible place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at VCA full-time

    Pros

    Met really friends. The doctors were really nice and very knowledgeable

    Cons

    Management was terrible, District manager has major favoritism and her favorite techs were the laziest ones and never got reprimanded for it. Seen one tech man handle a dog for ear meds and bag one of the DOA's in front of a window where all the clients could see.

    VCA Response

    Oct 31, 2018 – Content Strategist

    Hello and thank you for your review. We appreciate your feedback regarding management as a former employee at VCA Animal Hospitals and will ensure it reaches the appropriate leadership.


  9. "Wonderful theories at the top - everything is lost on the way down."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Hospital Manager in Salem, OR
    Former Employee - Hospital Manager in Salem, OR
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at VCA full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Room for advancement
    Now owned by Mars (who is a great employer)

    Cons

    Bad pay
    Terrible morale for hospital teams
    Turn every hospital they buy into a profit-hungry monster that no longer cares about thier clients

    Advice to Management

    Take Bob Antin's perspective on life and let everyone enjoy it. Quit destroying the culture of EVERYTHING YOU TOUCH!

    VCA Response

    Oct 31, 2018 – Content Strategist

    Hello and thank you for your review. We appreciate your feedback regarding
    culture and management as a former employee at VCA Animal Hospitals and will ensure it reaches the appropriate leadership.


  10. Helpful (1)

    "ok place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Houston, TX
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Houston, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at VCA full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Very laid back. Fast pace.

    Cons

    No team work. Lots of backstabbing.

    VCA Response

    Sep 24, 2018 – Content Strategist

    Thanks for the review. We’re sorry to hear that you didn’t experience the positive and encouraging culture that we pride ourselves on during your tenure at VCA Animal Hospitals. We appreciate the... More


Showing 596 of 610 reviews
Reset Filters