Veeva Systems Reviews | Glassdoor

Veeva Systems Reviews

Updated Jun 17, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 215 reviews

3.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
68%
Recommend to a Friend
79%
Approve of CEO
Veeva Systems CEO Peter Gassner
Peter Gassner
141 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "I've heard that some teams are more process-driven or have less work-life balance(in 19 reviews)

  • "Employee success appears to be an odd thing these days (it used to be a basic value)(in 9 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (8)

    "Great dev teams, huge product, always selling"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Pleasanton, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Veeva Systems full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - Free lunch - Unlimited PTO - Extremely good stock options (changed this year) - Competitive pay - 2% of your income in education - Fitness reimbursement - Work/life balance - Can switch teams, products, or job titles at any time - Huge mix of junior, mid level, and senior engineers. - Engineers from atypical backgrounds (passionate / motivated). - Week break at the end of the year. - CEO / Upper management...

    Show More

    Cons

    - Learning all the tech, software, terminology, products is overwhelming initially. - The core software which creates nearly all products is an insanely huge code base. - Huge code base is annoying to develop in due to size, slowness, and VM that's required. - Software growing pains (see last two points). The company has grown very fast and still looks to add thousands of employees in the next few years. - Some teams...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Keep promoting strengths of individuals, hire non-traditional CS backgrounds, it creates a good culture.

    Veeva Systems2019-02-26
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Bad CEO"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Engineer 

      I worked at Veeva Systems full-time

      Pros

      Collaborative team environment, generally ethical

      Cons

      CEO succeeds in spite of himself -- shaky foundation

      Advice to Management

      CEO succeeds in spite of himself

      Veeva Systems2019-06-10
    • Helpful (8)

      "Do not believe the hype!"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at Veeva Systems full-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      If you work on a good team Veeva would be an outstanding company.

      Cons

      On the wrong team Veeva will shatter your soul. Cronyism is the only way to advance. Doing excellent work and providing great value is not under appreciated, it is unappreciated and disregarded.

      Advice to Management

      Pay attention to employees who are doing great work and supporting your values. Listen to your customers. You have a middle management team made up of people who have been promoted based on their success in previous jobs until they finally reach a level at which they are no longer competent and there they sit. Skills in one job do not necessarily translate to another. See Peter Principle, Veeva has sadly mastered this.

      Veeva Systems2019-06-11
    • "Great opportunities to grow and learn"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

        I have been working at Veeva Systems full-time

        Pros

        Culture is amazing. Everybody supports you and eager to help you learn more.

        Cons

        The amount of work you do varies and you can work at odd hours

        Veeva Systems2019-05-05
      • Helpful (1)

        "Very good company"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Consultant 
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I have been working at Veeva Systems full-time for more than 5 years

        Pros

        Flexible PTO Stock-based Compensation Supportive and dedicated co-workers Young (ish), forward thinking employee base Challenging and dynamic work Opportunities to travel Internal transfers encouraged

        Cons

        Workload can be heavy Frequent shuffling among managers/leadership Growth paths aren't very clear Limited 401k matching

        Veeva Systems2019-03-14
      • "Good company to grow in"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Consultante in Pleasanton, CA
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I have been working at Veeva Systems full-time for more than 3 years

        Pros

        Own leadership Responsibilities regardless hierarchy Autonomy Global communication

        Cons

        Team working in different countries Different approach on delivery

        Veeva Systems2019-03-11
      • "Great Place to Work"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Data Steward 
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I worked at Veeva Systems full-time

        Pros

        Coworkers are awesome, fun and upbeat atmosphere if you put the work in, good management, free food on Tuesdays :D

        Cons

        I can't think of any cons.

        Veeva Systems2019-03-02
      • Helpful (3)

        "Best job I've ever had"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Professional Services in Harrisburg, PA
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I have been working at Veeva Systems full-time for less than a year

        Pros

        I've been at Veeva for about 4 months. The people are smart, engaged, and helpful. The team overall is doing great things and there is a lot of excitement about the direction that the company is heading in. Veeva seems to truly care about the engagement and happiness of their employees, and they are also focused on doing the right thing for their customers.

        Cons

        The only negative I can think of is the hiring process. The CEO still reviews every single hire before signing off.... at 2600+ employees and growing, it is difficult to imagine how this is sustainable for the future. I interviewed for months before getting an offer, but I'm so glad I stuck with it!

        Advice to Management

        Keep up the great work.

        Veeva Systems2019-02-07
      • "Great company to work for"

        StarStarStarStarStar
          Former Employee - N/A 

          I worked at Veeva Systems full-time

          Pros

          Pto and benefits. Crest culture as well

          Cons

          None that I can think of

          Veeva Systems2019-02-18
        • Helpful (14)

          "Bad Management"

          StarStarStarStarStar
            Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

            I worked at Veeva Systems full-time for more than a year

            Pros

            Free lunch, healthy snack, game room

            Cons

            Unlimited PTO means 15 days. Micromanagement is all over the Vault department. Managers have too much power and can be very rude to developers. Totally agree with another review, quote "It’s a very political environment, there’s no work-life-balance at Veeva, expect to work nights and weekends."

            Veeva Systems2019-02-09
          Found 215 reviews