Wabtec Reviews | Glassdoor

Wabtec Reviews

Updated Aug 12, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 164 reviews

3.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
43%
Recommend to a Friend
67%
Approve of CEO
Wabtec CEO Raymond T Betler
Raymond T Betler
46 Ratings
Pros
  • "There are a lot of good people working at the Duncan facility(in 8 reviews)

  • "Challenging work environment, well diversified, international projects(in 6 reviews)

Cons
  • "There is no bonus plan for most employees(in 6 reviews)

  • "Upper management is severely lacking in leadership and transparency(in 6 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (3)

    "Great place to learn and grow as an Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Engineer in Rosemont, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Wabtec full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Excellent exposure to all aspects of the product design process. You are not just a drafter, quality engineer, data analyst, or technical writer as these projects are integrated, fulfilling and require and go-getter mindset. Friendly people with years and years of experience in the industry that are more than willing to help you learn and are patient to help you with different tasks. Wabtec recently aquired GE Transportation...

    Show More

    Cons

    Sometimes work can get slow at times and it may feel like you have to constantly ask management for more tasks. However, this is not common.

    Advice to Management

    Build a comprehensive new hire agenda so that there is clear direction and exposure to aspects of the projects and products. I look forward to my future work with Wabtec and SCT!

    Wabtec2019-02-11
  2. "stuff"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Inventory Specialist in Fort Worth, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Wabtec full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    pay and benefits are good.

    Cons

    Slow promotion process ,could be faster.

    Wabtec2019-07-28
  3. Helpful (2)

    "Growing Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Wabtec full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Company has grown leaps and bounds over the past decade. Provide tuition reimbursement for those who wish to better themselves. Provides room for advancement and promotes from within frequently.

    Cons

    Employee communication has historically been sub-par, likely due to the continuous growth over the past 10 years.

    Wabtec2019-05-09
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Not what I expected"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Warehouse Associate in Hanover Park, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Wabtec full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Job security and good benefits

    Cons

    Treat you like a child, no room to advance, does not allow one to learn about opportunity. Starting to not allow a work life balance. Management more worried about lining of their pockets than the well being of their employees.

    Advice to Management

    No chance in Hell

    Wabtec2019-06-13
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Growing Fast"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - EHS Manager in Greenville, SC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Wabtec full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Fast Paced and Growing Business

    Cons

    Moving too fast to keep up

    Wabtec2019-05-02
  6. Helpful (1)

    "They cross train you for every aspect of the job, but pay is the same. Sup does not care about contracted employees."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Teardown Engineer in North Las Vegas, NV
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Wabtec full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I think the benefits is ok.

    Cons

    10 minute breaks should be 15 minutes. Supervisor rather talk story with there favorite employees. My supervisor was contracted from same company I was employed by. One would think he would be for contracted employees.

    Advice to Management

    Get rid of the bias supervisor

    Wabtec2019-06-08
  7. Helpful (2)

    "Run away fast!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service/Inside Sales in Cleveland, OH
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Wabtec full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Decent benefits and pay.

    Cons

    Horrible culture. They will work you into the ground and do not care how sick it makes you or how it affects your home life.

    Wabtec2019-05-30
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Wabtec, a good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Mechanical Designer in Pittsburgh, PA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Wabtec full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Very stable company with a bright future.

    Cons

    Difficult to advance beyond your current position.

    Advice to Management

    Send employees to training.

    Wabtec2019-04-02
  9. Helpful (4)

    "Horrible place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Molder in Greensburg, PA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Wabtec full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Free Parking, Free Showers and box of chocolates for Christmas.

    Cons

    Management is terrible here, they promote ppl to management who have no business being there. The morale here is very low. People are miserable. The wages are low for being a union shop. Nobody wants to fight for anything more. Just an overall bad place to work, by far my worst experience. Actively looking for a new job.

    Advice to Management

    Either change your ways or quit. You make people miserable.

    Wabtec2019-04-04
  10. "Okay place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Wabtec full-time

    Pros

    Simple enough job. Nothing complex.

    Cons

    Boring. Repetitive. Nothing interesting to do.

    Wabtec2019-03-16
Found 164 reviews