WePay Reviews | Glassdoor

WePay Reviews

Updated Jul 21, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 59 reviews

3.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
65%
Recommend to a Friend
86%
Approve of CEO
WePay CEO Bill Clerico (no image)
Bill Clerico
47 Ratings
Pros
  • "deeply care about employee happiness and work/life balance(in 6 reviews)

  • "Free lunch, good salary, friendly staff, good goals(in 5 reviews)

Cons
  • "Typical growing pains associated with a rapidly expanding startup: HR is virtually non-existent but that is being addressed promptly(in 6 reviews)

  • "Payments business world is already crowded and wepay is unfortunately one more payments startup(in 2 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review
    Helpful (2)

    "great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - SDR 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at WePay full-time

    Pros

    management that is open and honest, a team that helps and cares, fun and professional culture, great growth and product

    Cons

    my commute is longer than most people

    Advice to Management

    keep being humble and determined

    WePay2019-01-13
  2. "A good company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Redwood City, CA
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at WePay full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    A good place to work for. Good work life balance.

    Cons

    Growing too fast, might want to hold the pace a little bit.

    WePay2018-02-20
  3. "Supportive engineering culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer in Redwood City, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at WePay full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great learning opportunities. Supportive engineering culture.

    Cons

    Overall product vision should be stronger and shared more.

    WePay2019-07-22
  4. "Cool Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Help Desk Analyst in Redwood City, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at WePay full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Friendly work environment. Growing company

    Cons

    Not great structure. Too many negative changes since being acquired by Chase. Low pay compared to market.

    WePay2019-01-29
  5. "Software engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Redwood City, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at WePay full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good culture, everyone is hardworking

    Cons

    lunch is not so good

    WePay2018-11-30
  6. Helpful (8)

    "Former"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at WePay full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The co- presidents are great!

    Cons

    The people that have hired in 2018 - are poor to say the least. In engineering - they will hire kids right of college and do not speak english too well. HR - is poor - and the most loud month group - not confidential at all. Finance has a turn over - due to hiring poor management - the latest person - lasted a year at last company - did HR check why that person left?? Background checks - are a joke.

    Advice to Management

    Co- presidents buy back the company from Chase - before it is run into the ground.

    WePay2018-12-06
  7. "Data Scientist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Data Scientist in Redwood City, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at WePay full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Very friendly and supportive environment. Great experience!

    Cons

    Can not just focus on model development, but also need to take care of model Devops, which is both a pro and a con.

    WePay2018-07-28
  8. "Good company lacking in some managerial areas"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Site Reliability Engineer in Redwood City, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at WePay full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    * Work in cutting edge technologies like Kubernetes, Big Tables * Fast paced

    Cons

    * Extremely Fast for development but not organized for long running operations * Too many manual knobs to turn

    Advice to Management

    Give all employees equal opportunity to advance

    WePay2018-02-05
  9. Helpful (10)

    "I hated working here. Staff & Architect engineers really just steal credit"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Engineer in Redwood City, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at WePay full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Frequent lunches, easily accessible location. Director level and above leadership is good.

    Cons

    Everyday I churned out work. I contributed to meetings. I was on time and I gave peer reviews. I designed systems. I stayed late. This kind of work ethic is not rewarded. What is rewarded is engineers with a big mouth and posture talk. They're the ones hovering over everyone and they're the loudest ones to celebrate when we make a release. Most new comers are good. I'm surprised that we were able to bring in... the level of talent that we do, given how corrupt some of the higher level engineers are. I've overheard some conversations between them that just make me sick. If you want to coast by and you're good at talking, you'll be right at home here. If you want to do real work, look elsewhere.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Seriously fix your year end review system. Long tenure does not equal high performer.

    WePay2018-02-02
  10. Helpful (2)

    "Good culture, leadership needs help"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Engineer in Redwood City, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at WePay full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Nice people. Good personal culture. Ceo is nice. Eatclub for lunch. Good events and company giveaways. Nice office. Like company values but not a lot of people follow them especially leaders. They think they do, sadly.

    Cons

    Leadership is not experienced so leads to lots of breaks in the organization. Conf rooms are packed and hard to book. Some teams sit back as others grind it out. Work life balance limited.

    Advice to Management

    Re-examine your leadership team.

    WePay2017-12-30
Found 59 reviews