Wolverine Trading Reviews

Updated Nov 7, 2019

To filter reviews, or .
4.1
76%
Recommend to a Friend
94%
Approve of CEO
Wolverine Trading Managing Director Robert Ross Bellick (no image)
Robert Ross Bellick
28 Ratings
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Great Firm!"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Electronic Options Trader in Phoenix, AZ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Wolverine Trading full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Meritocracy for the most part. I was able to interact with Partners on a daily basis and as a result gained great insight on not only the trading but also on how to operate a trading firm and business sector as a whole

    Cons

    Personal Biases shown by top management

    Continue reading
    Wolverine Trading2019-10-31
  2. Helpful (3)

    "In Decline"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Engineer 
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Wolverine Trading full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Some interesting projects, free breakfast & lunch.

    Cons

    Company has been doing poorly the last few years as competitors have surpassed them technologically. Limited upside.

    Continue reading
    Wolverine Trading2019-11-08
  3. "Great Company to work for!"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Wolverine Trading full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Tech company vibe, happy hours, events, lots of friends

    Cons

    No real cons here, I do feel like my work is not quite as meaningful as other jobs.

    Wolverine Trading2019-09-20
  4. "Rewarding Career Development"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Analyst in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Wolverine Trading full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    * Significant opportunities for career development and personal growth in a high retention firm * Strong firm culture -- people of integrity

    Cons

    * Runs lean, so solutions are never perfect

    Wolverine Trading2019-08-22
  5. "Great place to work"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Trader in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Wolverine Trading full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    open culture, full kitchen, access to sr management, user-friendly technology, good work-life balance

    Cons

    some technology needs to be updated.

    Wolverine Trading2019-08-19
  6. "Opportunity rich, great people, and work-life balance"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Wolverine Trading full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I most appreciate continual treatment as an equal among my team of senior engineers (with 20+ years experience on me), all while providing quality hands-on mentoring every day. People are given a wealth of opportunity to make there mark within the company, and emphasis on work-life balance is unparalleled for the industry.

    Cons

    While I love the team structure in technology, it means that your specific mentor experience and manager will vary based on where you find yourself working within the company.

    Wolverine Trading2019-02-13
  7. Helpful (6)

    "Waste of Time"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous in Chicago, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Wolverine Trading full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Company Benefits are "fine", employees are nice

    Cons

    Pay is minimal , Management is terrible: couldn't care less about you, I couldn't speak for the rest of Wolverine Trading, but the Hedge Fund needs some serious work with management: Communication is poor, on-boarding process was terrible (boss never wanted to help: this certain person was arrogant), favoritism is key here (if you want more work make sure the boss likes you or you aren't going anywhere). Was told by numerous employees that my boss talked bad behind my back. Horrible team culture.

    Continue reading
    Wolverine Trading2019-02-05
  8. "Trader"

    5.0
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Wolverine Trading full-time

    Pros

    Great ownership and management staff

    Cons

    I have no cons of working there

    Wolverine Trading2018-12-13
  9. Helpful (4)

    "Okay"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Wolverine Trading full-time

    Pros

    Benefits are good. Most of the partners are good.

    Cons

    Little room for advancement. Pay is mediocre.

    Continue reading
    Wolverine Trading2018-04-17
  10. Helpful (4)

    "They really care about making sure their employees are happy"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Wolverine Trading full-time

    Pros

    Such a great place to work- my team is supportive and wants to support my learning. Everyone is friendly and teams work together well. The perks are amazing- generous vacation time, a fully staffed kitchen with breakfast and lunch (including fruit bar for breakfast and salad/sandwich bar for lunch), and no premiums for insurance for employees. But truly the supportive atmosphere and feeling like you are a part of an awesome team is amazing.

    Cons

    Partners are blunt, but they’re busy so this is understandable.

    Wolverine Trading2018-03-22
Found 48 reviews