Xilinx Reviews

Updated May 23, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.7
72%
Recommend to a Friend
79%
Approve of CEO
Xilinx CEO Victor Peng
Victor Peng
83 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Work life balance can take a toll during deadlines(in 31 reviews)

  • "No career growth, no idea when senior management will close the site for another low cost center(in 27 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great place to work"

    5.0
    Current Employee - Staff Design Verification Engineer in San Jose, CA

    I have been working at Xilinx full-time

    Pros

    Lots of opportunities to learn

    Cons

    Less perks besides the benefits

    Xilinx2020-05-20
  2. "Great company to work for!"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales in San Jose, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Xilinx full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    My personal experience with this company, my group, and manager has been fairly positive. Management really looks out for you and continues to challenge you to grow. With the recent pandemic leadership has been very accommodating and flexible. I have become very proud to work for xilinx!

    Cons

    I feel like there’s not much opportunity to get promoted within the company. Also the company seems to be a bit outdated with systems and processes. For example, Salesforce is just getting launched — in 2020.

    Continue reading
    Xilinx2020-05-20
  3. "Great Stepping Stone"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Project Manager in San Jose, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Xilinx full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great location is easy to commute to and from

    Cons

    lack of leadership. Drastically understaffed IT department. If you are not an engineer you are not worth anything to the company.

    Xilinx2020-05-22
  4. Helpful (1)

    "No work life balance, toxic work culture"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Design Engineer in San Jose, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at Xilinx full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Smaller groups provides learning experience. No strong pros.

    Cons

    Total disregard to the concept of work life balance. Expectation is to be responsive during our of office hours as well. Few people can dominate the group. Tool infrastructure is obsolete. No acknowledgement for extra effort. Management is very fluid. Would not recommend to anyone.

    Continue reading
    Xilinx2020-05-02
  5. Helpful (1)

    "No growth"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Business Systems Analyst in San Jose, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at Xilinx full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Somewhat decent co. to spend a few years at

    Cons

    Way too much politics, the co. is filled with ex-Intel management folks who can't seem to carve out a culture different from Intel, which sucks. Expectations are too high with no work-life balance for the most part. Employees are forced to work long hours with little reward or appreciation. Growth opportunities are zero for most employees.

    Continue reading
    Xilinx2020-04-29
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Great short term company for most people"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Xilinx full-time

    Pros

    Reasonable 401K and other benefits. Lots of competent engineers and hardware design is strong

    Cons

    Unfortunately there are still a fair amount of incompetent people at every turn. Also total compensation is nothing to brag about for the amount of effort required, this is especially true for people that have not reached the staff level. Expect the yearly RSU equity to vary greatly depending on business unit.

    Xilinx2020-04-23
  7. Helpful (2)

    "Learn skills then work elsewhere for better salary"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Verification Engineer in San Jose, CA
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Xilinx full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Projects good for build experience to find next job.

    Cons

    Below market salaries. Company do poorly after lose business with Huawei. Stock value tank.

    Xilinx2020-04-13
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Xilinx good company"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in San Jose, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Xilinx full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Work and exposure to next generation tech

    Cons

    salary and career growth

    Xilinx2020-03-18
  9. Helpful (2)

    "Good Company, was there for 19 years"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Product Applications Manager 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Xilinx full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great people, products are amazing and complicated. Takes excellent engineers to work there.

    Cons

    Lack of Community inside the building. Not a "Family" and limited career path.

    Continue reading
    Xilinx2020-03-12
  10. "Good company"

    4.0
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Xilinx full-time

    Pros

    work life balance in this company

    Cons

    need good products in this company

    Xilinx2020-03-09
Found 723 reviews