Advantage Security Reviews | Glassdoor

Advantage Security Reviews

Updated Jul 1, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 36 reviews

3.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
57%
Recommend to a Friend
78%
Approve of CEO
Advantage Security CEO Vic C. Evans (no image)
Vic C. Evans
23 Ratings
  1. "Growing so fast for a reason"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Security Professional 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Advantage Security full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Having experience with other security companies in the Denver area, it makes sense that Advantage is doing so well. As one major competitor is buying out other companies all over, the whole industry is getting more corporate-minded. Advantage does a good job of taking care of the people. They are growing fast, but the still make you feel like you're part of a small company that cares about its employees. They even... go so far as to help you pay for your new guard license! Overall, they do so much for their people and really make you feel like you matter.

    Show More

    Cons

    Nothing bad to say about this company

    Advice to Management

    Be aware of how you handle the growth! Don't let it get away from you.

    Advantage Security2019-06-12

    Advantage Security Response

    July 9, 2019HR Manager

    Thank you for the wonderful review and the 5 stars! We appreciate all of your feedback.

  2. "security guard"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Security Guard in Denver, CO

    I worked at Advantage Security full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    good hours, easy to get on

    Cons

    low salary,bad insurance, the company doesnt care about employers

    Advice to Management

    most of the higher up managers dont know what they are doing

    Advantage Security2019-07-01

    Advantage Security Response

    August 19, 2019HR Manager

    Thank you for the review, we appreciate all of the feedback. We are very selective and hire the best qualifed candidates and due to our strict standards only hire approximately 20% of applicants ensuring we find the best possible fit for our customers. We pride ourselves in having ...

    Show More
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Plenty of work available at Advantage/"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Security Officer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Advantage Security full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Plenty of overtime is available.

    Cons

    Some of the co-workers are overzealous.

    Advantage Security2019-05-01

    Advantage Security Response

    July 9, 2019HR Manager

    We appreciate your feedback and hope to continue to provide extra hours when needed. Thanks for the great review!

  4. "Uncertain but it's your call."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Mobile Patrol in Denver, CO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Advantage Security full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The pay is decent, you do get overtime from calling off or quitting, especially if your relief is late. They have okay health insurance and the morning office people do the best they can in accomdating you.

    Cons

    The night scheduling portfolio manager treats you like a tool with no brain and constantly complains to higher up if you give her an attitude. They lack communication in regards to pass on info and scheduling, they'll change your schedule without you knowing and you have to pay for their mistakes. If a stationary site doesn't like you, expect to be kicked off and banned because a lot of the clients are super strict... on how guards should perform. Dont expect a raise, you won't get one no matter how hard you work.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Work on effective communication and advise Melissa on how to properly treat your fellow employees.

    Advantage Security2019-04-08

    Advantage Security Response

    August 19, 2019HR Manager

    We appreciate your feedback. Both our clients and ASI have high standards and expect our employees to provide the best service possible. While we do coach our employees if improvement is needed, it's sometimes necessary to relocate due to performance concerns. In regards to raises, ...

    Show More
  5. "Streamline processes"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Office 

    I worked at Advantage Security full-time

    Pros

    Wonderful family friendly company that tries their best to keep that small company feel.

    Cons

    Management styles need to change in order for the company to grow.

    Advice to Management

    Stop being so controlling! You are getting to big for small company procedures.

    Advantage Security2019-03-10

    Advantage Security Response

    August 19, 2019HR Manager

    Thank you for your positive review. We pride ourselves in maintaining a small family culture while we continue to grow. We have streamlined some processes throught technology and have also continued to address other challenges that may arise due to growth, so that we can continue ...

    Show More
  6. Helpful (1)

    "great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Security Guard 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Advantage Security full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great pay Excellent management system fantastic locations

    Cons

    Sometimes too much overtime is not a good thing. theyll put you in random locations and not tell you how much you're making

    Advice to Management

    give your employees real benefits. please.

    Advantage Security2019-01-14

    Advantage Security Response

    August 19, 2019HR Manager

    It's great to hear the positive thoughts on our company. We do our best to provide good working environments, good pay and benefits. While we are not perfect we continue on improving various areas. Thanks again for taking the time out to write us a review.

  7. "Former Supervisor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Security Officer - Site Supervisor in Denver, CO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Advantage Security full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    As a former Military member of the armed forces I recognized that Advantage Security's family owned business was a beginning for my journey back into the private sector. I was welcomed and trained from the beginning as a an asset to this company. Many different sites across all the Denver Metro Area.

    Cons

    Pay is competitive, however each site or place of work within the company has its own pay scales written down in the contract. As such it can be difficult to see significant pay increases even after advancement.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work, strive to increase the pay for your young leadership so that so that you do not loose resources and can capitalize on rising stars.

    Advantage Security2018-08-06
  8. "Security Officer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Security Officer 
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Advantage Security full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Friendly Team, decent pay, many chances for working overtime.

    Cons

    Lack of care from management, no chance of raise.

    Advice to Management

    Please pay more attention to your employees, and increase the pay rate of individuals who are committed to your company.

    Advantage Security2018-08-14
  9. "Meh"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Advantage Security full-time

    Pros

    It pays well and you might some nice people.

    Cons

    The scheduling team is a bunch of idiots.

    Advantage Security2018-07-03
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Security guard."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Advantage Security full-time

    Pros

    There is nothing positive with this company.

    Cons

    Worst company I've ever worked for! They play favorites and treat most of their employees like crap! All they care about is getting more contracts and ripping people off.

    Advantage Security2018-05-16
Found 36 reviews